ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock x370 Gaming X Memory Compatibility is fake?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock x370 Gaming X Memory Compatibility is fake?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock x370 Gaming X Memory Compatibility is fake?
    Posted: 01 Oct 2017 at 4:44am
Hello,

First of all, my system is:
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (OC to 3700mhz vcore 1.25)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios v3.20)
2x8Gb hyperx predator hx432c16pb3k2/16 (slot A2 and B2)
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte Aorus 1080Ti Xtreme Edition
Seasonic Focus+ 850w Platinum
Corsair 200R

I have bought this specific motherboard because it had my memory on the compatibility list to 3200mhz.

I am writing this because I am having problens setting xmp profile 1 (3200mhz) at bios.

If I enter bios and set xmp profile 1, save and exit, sometimes it boots, other fails and enters bios in safe mode setting ram to 2400mhz. When it boots @ 3200mhz the system is not stable and I get some blue screens playing games.

So far I have to use xmp profile 2 (2933mhz).

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.




Edited by Valter84 - 01 Oct 2017 at 4:38pm
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1081
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2017 at 5:55am
Valter84, I do not think it is fake but you may need to tweak a few things.  There are memory experts here that hopefully will help you soon - I'm no OCer.  Please post the version of your BIOS, boot into BIOS and hit F9 (Load UEFI Defaults), F10 (Save and Exit) and try your XMP then.  The experts will confirm this but I think many have run their memories faster than 3200 MHz but I do not know about this memory.  I suggest you place your specifications in your signature so they will automatically appear on all your pages.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2017 at 10:42am
Originally posted by Valter84 Valter84 wrote:

Hello,

First of all, my system is:
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (OC to 3700mhz vcore 1.25)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X
2x8Gb hyperx predator hx432c16pb3k2/16 (slot A2 and B2)
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte Aorus 1080Ti Xtreme Edition
Seasonic Focus+ 850w Platinum

I have bought this specific motherboard because it had my memory on the compatibility list to 3200mhz.

I am writing this because I am having problens setting xmp profile 1 (3200mhz) at bios.

If I enter bios and set xmp profile 1, save and exit, sometimes it boots, other fails and enters bios in safe mode setting ram to 2400mhz. When it boots @ 3200mhz the system is not stable and I get some blue screens playing games.

So far I have to use xmp profile 2 (2933mhz).

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.




You've missed some information in the Memory QVL.

First, any memory speed for Ryzen processors above 2667 is a memory over clock, and not guaranteed. Memory over clocking potential in general depends upon the capability of the memory controller in your CPU, and the model of memory you are using. From your board's Memory QVL document:

Note3: The O.C. mode is not guaranteed. It depends on whole system configuration and other parameters.
Note4: When running XMP at DDR4 2667MHz or higher, the system?s stability depends on the CPU?s capabilities.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20X370%20Gaming%20X/index.asp#Memory

You have been able to over clock your memory above the maximum specified speed for a Ryzen 7 processor, from 2667 to 2933. Memory rated at an over clocked speed of 3200 may be limited to 2933 in a Ryzen system to be stable, that is common.

You might be able to achieve 3200, but will need some manual adjustments of the memory settings in the UEFI/BIOS. The XMP profile of your memory was designed for Intel X99 and  100 series chipset boards, as is the majority of DDR4 memory available.

Also, as said above, the UEFI/BIOS version in your board can help you reach a higher memory over clock. AMD has provided mother board manufactures with several new CPU microcode updates that have improved the memory over clocking potential of some models of memory. Those microcode updates are included in various UEFI/BIOS updates. The latest version for your board is 3.20. What version are you using?

One main adjustment in the UEFI/BIOS that is not done automatically by the XMP profile to help with memory over clocking is increasing the VDDCR_SOC voltage. That option is in the OC Tweaker screen. The default SOC voltage is 0.900V. Increase it to 1.100V to start, and if that does not work you may increase it safely up to 1.200V. Check that the DRAM voltage is set to 1.35V.

Also, there are many other memory settings in the DRAM Timing Configuration screen besides the basic memory timings and speed. Try setting all of the memory options besides the four or five basic memory timings to a value of Auto.

So, set the VDDCR_SOC voltage to 1.1V, set all the other memory options to Auto, and try the memory at 3200. This still may not be stable, all you can do is try. We also do not know what UEFI version you are using.

I see that you are using the second XMP profile your memory has, for a speed of 3000, which was not supported in earlier UEFI versions with older AGESA microcode. Are you able to select a memory speed of 3000 with the UEFI version you are currently using? Be sure not to use this XMP profile and just change the speed to 3200, load the 3200 speed profile before doing the other changes.

When the PC fails to POST with your current UEFI settings at 3200, the memory is set to its default speed of 2400, that is normal.

For others reading this thread, this HyperX memory model has Hynix M-die memory chips.

Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2017 at 4:42pm
Thank you for your replies.
I am using the latest bios version for this motherboard.
I already did clear cmos and load default parameters several times.

Dram volatege is set to 1.35, despite on windows, if I check with software it says it is 1.25. Other people on the forum already talked about this. I hope it will be fixed on the next bios version.

I will try adjusting VDDR_SOC and also the other parameters to AUTO to see if anything change and I can cold boot.

Will update the thread later.

Thank you for your help.


Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2017 at 5:30pm
I am not able to cold boot with memory set to 3200mhz, despite increasing VDDCR_SOC to 1.2v and dram voltage to 1.40.
But setting manual speeds instead of XMP profile I was able to get 3066MHZ running with auto VDDCR_SOC, DRAM voltage @ 1.35 and timings 16-18-18-18-36. That Should be a boost.
I hope I will found a way to get the 3200mhz...

I bought this motherboard specific thinking I was able to get the 3200mhz... before I had Asus Prime X370 Pro... It looks I didn`need to change motherboard.


Edited by Valter84 - 02 Oct 2017 at 2:14am
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1484
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2017 at 7:43pm
what is your other subtimings ?
specifically the 'trc'

eg 16/18/18/18/36/?   (trc at 75 might help if its being set lower)

and also what is the command rate set to ? 1T or 2T
also note a small bump to the dram volts may be required to get the hynix chips on the ram sticks stable eg 1.375 or 1.395

also it seems to be coming less of a strange occurance now that a lower set cpu vcore is NOT helping with the cold boot issues
whether this is directly or indirectly affecting the ram stability im not sure
but its worth testing
in other words try the cpu vcore at 1.3-1.325 and test the system


Edited by datonyb - 01 Oct 2017 at 7:44pm
Back to Top
brucer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Sep 2017
Location: ky
Status: Offline
Points: 51
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brucer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 12:01am
To my findings its nothing more than a marketing gimmick, as memory manufacturers and motherboard manufacturers cant tell you for certain that the memory on their own qvl lists will work or not.. and the 3200mhz flare-x memory doesn't necessarily work on two different motherboards..

 As I have a Msi b350 and had an msi x370 board, and currently runnign an asrock fatality professional gaming that 3000mhz (cl15) z170 specific memory worked fine on and ran faster than the 3200 flare-x memory and the 3000mhz z170 specific memory isnt even on their qvl list.. Now the 3200mhz flare-x memory also ran fine on both msi boards, but I had to increase soc voltage to 1.15 and dram voltage to 1.36 to get it to run on the x370 fatality professional gaming motherboard.... I'm still testing to see if its reliable or not, I had a boot issue with it a couple days ago, but I was trying to decrease the soc voltage when I got the boot issue..

 I'm likely going to build a coffelake rig and abandon ryzen altogether, not all that impressed with it actually.. If motherboard manufacturers and memory manufacturers wouldnt lie to you, it would be a better market, but as it stands, me along with many others paid a premium price for memory that wont run at its default specified values and specific motherboard manufacturers are being extremely lazy with bios updates for their ryzen  flagship boards..

 What I find funny is Asrock wants to list the Flare-x on their qvl list, and Gskill swears it is qualified.. But you go on either forum and its a completely different story.. Which to me is completely false advertising..
 Qualified but it is not reliably qualified in the least bit, I think they just throw a kit in a board and mess with timings until they can get it to run somewhat and call it qualified..


Edited by brucer - 02 Oct 2017 at 12:13am
Asrock Fatality x370 Professional Gaming with lousy memory support, Ryzen1700, 16gb Gskill ripjawsV 3200mhz 16-16-16-36, Samsung 950evo m.2,
Back to Top
chubalz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chubalz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 12:27am
@valter86 is your VDDCR SOC voltage in bios look like this? On the left side i have no numbers only in the right side which we choose auto, +60mv, +120mv and so on?
Ryzen 5 1600 3.80ghz @1.3375v
Asrock X370 Gaming X 4.60 Bios
Master MA610P
Aorus Xtreme Gtx1080ti
Gskill Trident Z RGB F4-300016D-16GTZR @2800mhz
SamsungEvo 250
2Tb Firecuda
1Tb WDBlack
Corsair RM650X
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 2:16am
Originally posted by chubalz chubalz wrote:

@valter86 is your VDDCR SOC voltage in bios look like this? On the left side i have no numbers only in the right side which we choose auto, +60mv, +120mv and so on?
Yes. On my tests to 3200mhz I have used +300mv and ram voltage 1.4v but didn`t boot.
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 2:29am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

what is your other subtimings ?
specifically the 'trc'

eg 16/18/18/18/36/?   (trc at 75 might help if its being set lower)

and also what is the command rate set to ? 1T or 2T
also note a small bump to the dram volts may be required to get the hynix chips on the ram sticks stable eg 1.375 or 1.395

also it seems to be coming less of a strange occurance now that a lower set cpu vcore is NOT helping with the cold boot issues
whether this is directly or indirectly affecting the ram stability im not sure
but its worth testing
in other words try the cpu vcore at 1.3-1.325 and test the system

Regarding your question, I have set all the same parameters available @ xmp profile for the 3200mhz, but instead running @ 3066mhz.

According to cpuz:
- DRAM Frequency 1530mhz
- FSB:DRAM 3:46
- 16/18/18/36/74/1T

The system was not stable using those settings with 1.35 ram voltage.
I had to increase it to 1.37 and now it`s stable and working nice with all benchmarks software (cinebench R15 CPU 1624 points) and with prime95 and occt.

On OCCT stress test my cpu temperature goes until 65ºC then they go down to 62ºC and they stay like that running after 30 minutes. I believe it`s a good temperature for this CPU.

Do you think new Agesa BIOS will bring support to 3200mhz?

Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.