ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Taichi stuck at E4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Taichi stuck at E4

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
bigjj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Location: Norway
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigjj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Taichi stuck at E4
    Posted: 15 Oct 2017 at 7:39pm
Hi,

Just got my new setup together and I am having trouble with the system freezing up.

If I am doing a cold boot I can get into BIOS for around a minute before the system freezes. On reboot the debug code stops at E4. Can't find any good documentation for what E4 is supposed to indicate......

First idea was that there was something wrong with cooling of the CPU, but checking the heat in BIOS before a freeze only gave me a reading of 33C at the moment of lockup. (Have also removed the cooler and re-applied thermal paste just to be on the safe side.)

Have also tried booting with only one RAM stick in position A2, but that gave no difference in how the system behaved. (Have tried both sticks alone.)

System parts:
X370 Taichi
AMD 1800x
G.Skil Flare X 16Gb
EVGA 850 GQ
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2017 at 11:53pm
bigjj, here is a good link to debug codes but little help for you (E4 - Reserved for future AMI progress codes):


http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=16017

You will need to open a ticket with ASRock and ask them what it means.  Please put more detail in you system specifications and placed they in your signature as I have.  Include your BIOS version and memory model.  Some things to try:
Open BIOS and hit F9 (Load UEFI Defaults), if BIOS is not staying open then use Clear CMOS.  Do not update your BIOS until your system is stable.
One stick of memory in A1, then B1, then B2.
Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2010
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Oct 2017 at 12:35am
have you been thru the usual suspects ?

double check both 24pin pwr plug
AND
the sneaky hidden (on taichi) 8 pin eps/cpu pwr plug

remove an reseat the gpu

remove ALL HARD DRIVES AND SATA DRIVE

double check the front panel pins/plugs are all in the correct holes
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
bigjj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Location: Norway
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigjj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Oct 2017 at 2:24am
Memory of type: F4-3200C14D-16GFX
BIOS is running version 2.20 Would want to upgrade, but not when the system is as unstable as it is now.

Have tried:
UEFI defaults loaded
Cleared CMOS
Both 24pin and 8 pin PWR checked
GPU reseated
no sata or M2 connected
Only one stick of RAM in A1

Got a new GPU ordered. (Destined for another system, but nice for testing if the GPU I use now got trouble.)
Ticket sent to ASRock for the error code. Found the same document in my hunt for a answer.
Back to Top
bigjj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Location: Norway
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigjj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2017 at 1:27am
Got my backup machine GPU in the mail today and tried it in my troubled system first. Still getting a E4 error, so I guess my original GPU is not the cause for the lockup.

Still waiting for a response from ASRock support for the error code.
Taichi X370, Ryzen 1800X, G.SKILL Flare X F4-3200CL14D-16GFX, EVGA GQ 850, NVIDIA 1080 Ti
Back to Top
WideOpenSpaces View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WideOpenSpaces Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2017 at 12:58pm
Here's another data point. I have a new Asrock X370 Gaming X. Assembled the system a couple of days ago, then did a smoke test. It booted into the bios just fine, so looked around and set the system clock. Next, I booted up an Ubutu live CD and played around for a few minutes--everything seemed working without a hitch. Shut it down and went to fill out the motherboard rebate form.

Today I go to install Win10 on the system, and get nothing but a black screen. Try a few reboots, and notice that the error code is stopping at E4 every time.

Tried resetting everything, and fully clearing the CMOS as per

 http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

but no joy, still locking up at E4. Very depressing.

Please let us know if you hear anything useful back from Asrock support, but I suspect there's and RMA in my future.

WOS
Back to Top
bigjj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Location: Norway
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigjj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2017 at 9:24pm
All I have gotten from support is the following:

Dear Customer,

The code is not in the debug code list.
Perhaps please check the previous code or please remove some devices(USB, HDD..) for verify.

Best Regards,

ASRock TSD

Sent the motherboard back to the supplier and they approved the RMA. Got a new board on its way back to me. Hoping for better luck on try two.
Taichi X370, Ryzen 1800X, G.SKILL Flare X F4-3200CL14D-16GFX, EVGA GQ 850, NVIDIA 1080 Ti
Back to Top
WideOpenSpaces View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WideOpenSpaces Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2017 at 5:04pm
I heard back from support within a day or so, but the response was basically the same "unknown error code". They thought maybe memory or memory controller. Their suggestion was an RMA.

Since I was out of my 30 day return period with the retailer, I RMAd dirctly to ASRock. Received the replacement board this week. Installed all the same components as before on it, crossed my fingers, and fired it up. Booted up without a hitch. Noticed that it came with the latest BIOS installed--don't remember if that was the case with the original one. Let it run (at the bios) for a good hour or so, then rebooted into the Ubuntu live CD again. No issues.

A few days on, and Win 10 is installed, and no problems have appeared. Looks like it was a hardware or firmware issue with the original board. Here's hoping this one holds up.

Hope your reinstall went as well.

WideOpenSpaces
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2010
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2017 at 10:31pm
thank you coming back to update the thread
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.