ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - VDDCR_SOC
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

VDDCR_SOC

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
JUANNY View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUANNY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: VDDCR_SOC
    Posted: 29 Nov 2017 at 11:52pm
Heya guys I have a noobie question. My x399 Fat bios has 2 voltage settings that Im unsured about while in the process of OC my flare x memory to 3200 cl14 from 2933. One setting is VDDCR_SOC and the other is VDDCR_SOC_s5. Which is the setting that controls the SOC voltage to the IMC. Ryzen calc recommended slight boost for stability. Should I keep one in auto and adjust the other?
Asrock X399 Fatality Pro Gaming Bios 2.0 Threadripper 1950X Cpu cooler Enermax 360 mm TR4 GSkill 64 GB F4-2933C14Q-64GFX Windows 10 X64 PRO Version 1709 Build 16299.19 2X EVGA 1080 TI in SLI mode
Back to Top
LurkerLito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LurkerLito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Nov 2017 at 10:45am
Hope someone can chime in on this because I have the same question. Though I can kind of guess from the name. I am not certain if I am right but I would guess that VDDR_SOC is the one you want to adjust and the VDDR_SOC_S5 has something to do with power management state S5 which probably means the power supplied to the SOC while in S5 off mode.
AMD 1950x; ASRock X399 Fatal1ty V2.00; 64GB(4x16GB) G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 CL14 (running 3066); EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid; Enermax TR4 360 AIO
Back to Top
LurkerLito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LurkerLito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Dec 2017 at 6:15am
I flashed to BIOS 2.0 today so I decided to go and try the recommended ram settings that were given via that Ryzen DRAM Calculator thing mentioned in another thread. And I modified the VDDR_SOC voltage to fixed and the value recommened by the DRAM Calculator. I left the default (I think Auto) for the VDDR_SOC_s5.


Edited by LurkerLito - 04 Dec 2017 at 6:16am
AMD 1950x; ASRock X399 Fatal1ty V2.00; 64GB(4x16GB) G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 CL14 (running 3066); EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid; Enermax TR4 360 AIO
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2053
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Dec 2017 at 7:03am
keep us updated

alas with the tr platform its very much early adopters that find out what worksd and what is needed to tweak
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
LurkerLito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LurkerLito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Dec 2017 at 8:26am
It didn't work out for me. I couldn't get it working and it was annoying as it rebooted the machine 3x (fails) by powering the machine down then up again before it set itself back to default 2133. Since I have 11 HDD in my system I wasn't going to do any more testing so I put it back to my normal stable settings. Maybe one day I'll disconnect all the HDD and try it again but I just don't want to spend the time anymore to try and get 3200 running.
AMD 1950x; ASRock X399 Fatal1ty V2.00; 64GB(4x16GB) G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 CL14 (running 3066); EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid; Enermax TR4 360 AIO
Back to Top
JUANNY View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUANNY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Dec 2017 at 8:47am
Originally posted by LurkerLito LurkerLito wrote:

It didn't work out for me. I couldn't get it working and it was annoying as it rebooted the machine 3x (fails) by powering the machine down then up again before it set itself back to default 2133. Since I have 11 HDD in my system I wasn't going to do any more testing so I put it back to my normal stable settings. Maybe one day I'll disconnect all the HDD and try it again but I just don't want to spend the time anymore to try and get 3200 running.


Heya I was able to get my 2933@cl14 flare X up to 3200@cl16 but I had to tweak some of the settings recommended by the Ryzen calc. The setting that has the rzq/7 stuff I had to change from the calc recommended back to auto to get it to post otherwise it would do that boot training restart three times then post at 2133 safe default. Also had to change the procodt from the recommended 43.6 to 50 ohms then everything worked. Tested the OC memory with HCI memtest pro to 500 percent coverage no errors also stability tested with prime 95 blend and aida64 extreme stability test overnight. Once I receive my RAM cooling fans Ill try mo OC cause RAM starts producing errors once 50c+
Asrock X399 Fatality Pro Gaming Bios 2.0 Threadripper 1950X Cpu cooler Enermax 360 mm TR4 GSkill 64 GB F4-2933C14Q-64GFX Windows 10 X64 PRO Version 1709 Build 16299.19 2X EVGA 1080 TI in SLI mode
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.