ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - x399 Fatality, 1950x, RAID problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

x399 Fatality, 1950x, RAID problems

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
msco View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote msco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: x399 Fatality, 1950x, RAID problems
    Posted: 08 Dec 2017 at 5:29am
Having a hard time with RAIDxpert2 and this build. Below is my post that I have over on the AMD forums looking for some advice. 

I have a new 1950x build with an Asrock x399 Fata1ity MB and Windows 10 Pro. I tried following the RAID setup instructions here https://community.amd.com/external-link.jspa?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.asrock.com%2FMB%2FAMD%2FFatal1ty%2520X399%2520Professional%2520Gaming%2Findex.asp%23Manual


I have 3 M2 NVMe drives - one for a stand-alone boot disk and 2 for a RAID 0 Cache disk. Also 4 other 1TB SSD's for a work RAID 0 and a couple other various standard HDDs for backups, etc.


If I follow their guide I can not install Windows - at install it gives me an error that it cannot install to the drive because my hardware may not support booting to it, ensure the controller is enabled in BIOS - this is after manually installing the RAID drivers to see the disks per the guide.

 

The only way I've gotten the m2 boot disk to install windows is do it under AHCI, then switch to RAID in the BIOS - which converts that disk to a "Legacy", which works fine.  I should also note I have to leave NVMe RAID mode disabled to boot - with it enabled it won't boot from the NVMe drive windows is installed on. I can still build a RAID with the other 2 NVMe drives in Windows though - but not BIOS. Everything functions fine, except I get this a 1016 CRITICAL error that I have Arrays that are offline. These are phantom LEGACY 1tb drives that do not exist, I believe they are some phantom duplicate of my boot disk (m.2 1tb SSD). Sometimes it's one, sometimes it's 3. I delete them with RAIDxpert2 every time but they always re-populate on start up. I've deleted them in BIOS also and they always show back up.

 

I've done a clean BIOS flash, clean Windows 10 install multiple times, the above sequence/settings is the only thing I've gotten to work and phantom drives just keeps coming back every time. Any advice would be appreciated but I'm guessing it might just be a bug I have to live with for now...


Thanks for any advice!



Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2017 at 6:25am
msco, I too am still wrestling with RAID problems.  I have a similar system without all the drives.  I did many back and forth with both ASRock and AMD Technical Support.  Please open a ticket with AMD and point to this thread.  I suspect Matt will recognize me.  I also could not get rid of my Phantom drives.  I call them ghost and I even had a RAID0 ghost.  I RMAed my board and just got it back a few days ago.  I have not tried to create an array but looked (wish I had NOT) at RAIDXpert2 (RX2) in BIOS and see that I still have my ghost drives and RAID0.  When I get brave, I have one more thing to try.  I will unplug my two HDs and either secure erase or -Diskpart, Clean All- my SSDs and see if I can create a RAID0 from all three of my SSDs.  At this point I do not have a lot of advice for you, but some requests.  Please post your specifications in your signature including versions of W10 and BIOS.  Be sure to always initialize your drives and arrays in GPT.  That may be why you are getting "may not support booting".  When you talk about RX2, please say Windows or BIOS version.  I think this is an example of a simple bad decision naming these two the same.  How are you installing W10 - USB?   Please do open an AMD ticket to help convince them this RAID function is broken and very poorly documented.  ASRock Technical Support essentially gave up on me, insisting I RMA the MB.  I think AMD is our only hope and since they designed the function will need to fix it anyway.  Several users have created simple RAIDs here with no problems, but if you get off the main path, bad things seem to happen.  I am glad you posted, maybe we can get something accomplished.  Your last comment, "live with for now..." may be our end results.  Thanks and enjoy, John. 
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
daddyo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daddyo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2017 at 9:26am
I had a similar experience to yours. RAID implementation on this platform is very poor so far. I gave up after many attempts.

Not acceptable for a high end platform, but we have to live with it. Mine is with he x399 Taichi. Looks like AMD dropped the ball on this aspect.


Edited by daddyo - 08 Dec 2017 at 9:28am
Back to Top
msco View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote msco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2017 at 10:02am
Thanks for the replies guys, good to know I'm not alone =) I had read both of your threads on this board during my troubleshooting, I'll go ahead and open an official support ticket with AMD beyond my thread on their support forum.

Coming from Intel builds the last 12 years this really is kind of baffling, I don't feel like my RAID set up is particularly complicated (basically just 2 Raid 0s, one with 2 disks one with 4) and with the Intel RAID controller it was dead simple. I'm really hoping AMD can get this worked out but I'm not expecting a resolution very soon. 

Below are some of the specs, MisterJ.

Windows 10 Pro, 1709 (installed VIA USB)
BIOS 2.0
Fatal1ty X399 Pro Gaming
TR 1950X
Corsair Vengeance 3000 (128GB)
EVGA 1080Ti
Plextor 1TB NVMe Gen 3 x4
2x Plextor 512GB NVMe Gen 3 x4
4x Samsung 1TB Evo 840 SSD 
1x HGST 8TB HDD
1x WD 2TB HDD


I'll open my ticket with AMD tomorrow and post any updates...

Mark
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Dec 2017 at 11:18pm
It looks like I am making progress and learning things.  I was able to delete the ghost RAID0 and all the real drives under Array Management-Delete and build a two NVMe drive RAID0.  It was my intent to use all my drives (3), but the drive numbers changed when I did a delete and I suspect I deleted one twice an one not all, so only two were available.  I was able to install W10 from a USB stick created by Windows Media Creation Tool.  The only strange happening was the first re-boot hung and required a Reset.  All other re-boots worked fine and W10 seemed OK.  When I tried to use WinPE to install from a Flat (drive), I could not get Setup to see the RAID0.  After trying many things, I surrendered, deleted the RAID0 and installed W10 on one of my SSDs.  The method I used was derived from a report from AMD support (Matt).  Since I was creating only an NVMe RAID, I did not change the SATA to RAID (left AHCI).  I also disabled CSM.  Working in the BIOS was really bad.  Almost all my clicks to do something required many tries.  When I wanted to select a drive, I might need to click on it 5 times to get results.  Always something!  I have created a USB stick (using RUFUS https://rufus.akeo.ie/ ) with my Unattended install .XML file and will test it on Hyper-V soon.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
msco View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote msco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 3:20am
Just a small update here... AMD says I need to talk to Asrock technical support about it since they've never had this problem with their supplied boards. Matt also said my procedure to install on a stand alone m2 drive was correct - install windows in AHCI on the single drive, switch to RAID and set them up.

Here's a link to my thread on the AMD board:
https://community.amd.com/message/2837263#comment-2837263

I've filed a techncial support ticket with Asrock, I suspect they will tell me to RMA the board which I'm not very excited about...


Edited by msco - 14 Dec 2017 at 3:21am
Back to Top
msco View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote msco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 11:14pm
Well I think I've got a (mostly) resolution, John from Asrock support replied to my ticket.

I missed an important option which wasn't really documented, after turning on SATA RAID, NVMe RAID and (from another thread's suggestion) turning off IOMMU in the north bridge BIOS settings, I needed to specifically select the UEFI partition on my Windows insaller USB - the default boot if you don't select it in the boot manager (F11 at boot up) is the basic USB, which won't support the NVMe RAID settings. This solved the windows install problem. 

Between getting NVMe RAID, turning IOMMU off, and getting the proper UEFI boot to install Windows the phantom drives have been defeated. They were still created the first time I rebooted after the new Windows install, but after deleting them in BIOS they have not returned. I do still get a notification window from RAIDXpert2 on windows login, but there is no error and the phantom drives are not there in the utility or BIOS.


Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 4:00am
Thanks, msco.  I have used the UEFI entry to boot from for a couple of years, but you are correct, the instruction to do so is missing.  I do not mess with IOMMU and do not think it is needed but I have not been successful on my install using my created USB stick.  As I said in my last post, I Disabled CSM and this results in only showing UEFI entries with F11.
Some questions.  What version of W10 are you running?  Use Win Key-R, winver to get the whole string.  What does this mean:
Quote ...still get a notification window from RAIDXpert2 on windows login...
Please post the notification.  Are you able to get into RX2?  If not, did you install the RAID drivers in W10?  Thanks and enjoy, John.

EDIT: Will post later on my experience with a Rufus created USB install on a RAID0.


Edited by MisterJ - 15 Dec 2017 at 4:01am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 10:24am
Wednesday, I tried again to install W10 on a 3 NVMe SSD RAID0.  I had no trouble creating the RAID0.  I then booted my Rufus created USB stick with my personalized install files.  When I got to the "Where do you want to install Windows" screen, I could see the individual SSDs not the RAID0.  I had injected the ASRock RAID drivers into the Boot and Install .wim files.  On past implementations (before Ryzen), I would see the RAID as soon as I got to this screen.  I had also copied the driver files to the USB, so I tried doing a Load Driver for them (both ASrock and AMD).  I could never see the RAID0, just all the SSDs.  I installed W10 on one of the SSDs after doing a Diskpart Clean and it went fine.  My next try will be without the injected drivers in my image files.  I suspect that the injected drivers are somehow confusing SetUp.
Since I set CSM to Disabled, I only saw the UEFI version of my USB stick, after F11.
Some information on my install files (ISO).  It contains the first release of W10 1703 (Fall Creators Update, aka FCU aka RS3).  To this I added the latest cumulative update (patch level 98), drivers, and enabled/disabled Features.  This was accomplished using DISM, part of MS ADK.  Because of the added updates, the Install.wim file was over 4 GB.  Rufus thus changed the file system from FAT32 to NTFS.  This resulted in 2 partitions on the stick.  Sometime when I plug this stick into my system, I get a nasty message about errors, but sometime I can open both partitions and see the files - one large one with my data and a small one with Rufus files.  This prompted some research by me and I have much to understand yet.  It seems that MS made a change in FCU how W10 works on removable drives:
Quote As a result, the UEFI:NTFS partition, which sits at the end of the flash drive, will be mounted automatically (along with the other partition from the drive) in Windows Creators Update, whereas this is not the case with previous versions of Windows.
For brave ones, here is the details: https://github.com/pbatard/rufus/issues/931
This is further confused by having to boot the USB in UEFI mode.  Anyone with knowledge of all this is invited to comment.  I should try again in the next few days and report the outcome - more research in the meantime.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Dec 2017 at 5:38am
Today I successfully created a RAID0 from my three Samsung 960s (NVMe) and installed W10 on them.  I created a RAID0 as above and used the Media Creation Tool USB and installed W10 with no problem.  I tried my Rufus created USB stick (FAT32 this time) and could never see the RAID0 in the "Install Where" screen after Load Driver.  Then I tried booting my WinPE USB and I could see my RAID0 after Load Driver, so I installed W10 from files on a hard drive.  I am running on the RAID0 now and it seems to work fine.  This was the very first thing I tried (seems like years ago) and it would not show the RAID0.  I had injected the RAID drivers and did not this time.  I will do some more testing on these failures as time goes.  The Rufus USB failure may well have to do with the method I used to build the ISO used as input to Rufus.  I do not think it is a Rufus problem.  I never tried setting SATA Mode to RAID but will later.  I did install RAIDXpert2 (RX2) in W10 and it works fine.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.043 seconds.