ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z370 Extreme4 XMP bug
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z370 Extreme4 XMP bug

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 891011>
Author
Message
xsafo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2018
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xsafo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 2018 at 11:44pm
Dear Sirs 

My specs:

CPU: Intel Core i7 8700K (no overclock)
Motherboard: ASRock Z370 Extreme4 (1.80 BIOS)
GPU: GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 MINI OC [GV-N1060IXOC-6GD]
Memory: 16Gb DDR4 3600MHz Patriot Viper 4 (PV416G360C7K) (2x8Gb KIT)
SSD: Samsung SSD 750 EVO 120GB; ST1000DM003 1000GB;
Power Supply: Enhance 600W [ATX-0260GA]

System booted up only with one ram module, with two modules in dual channel configuration (installed A2 and B2 channel) computer couldn't boot up, even after reset the BIOS to Default Settings (clear CMOS Jamper). I have tried to set ram module alternately, they work one by one in any slot. 

I have tried to set memory timings manually with one ram module: 
- 15-15-15-36 and set DRAM Voltage to 1.35 V, and set DRAM Frequency [auto]. But after thaht computer couldn't boot up.
- 15-15-15-36 and set DRAM Voltage to 1.35 V, and set DRAM Frequency [2133MHz]. But after thaht computer couldn't boot up.
-17-19-19-39 and set DRAM Voltage to 1.35 V, and set DRAM Frequency [3600MHz]. But after thaht computer couldn't boot up.
- tried loaded XMP Profile 1 and went to Voltage settings and set VCCIO to 1.10 and VCCSA to 1.15 , but after thaht computer couldn't boot up.

Please send me the full BIOS settings. Does know the optimal voltages (VCCIO, VCCST, VCCSA) I should be using for my two modules ram type? 

Hopefully this can be fixed.

best regards
Xsafo
Back to Top
wingman99 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wingman99 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 May 2018 at 8:01am
Originally posted by stax stax wrote:

Originally posted by lisurwis lisurwis wrote:

new bios update 1.80, someone tested?
Mine Z370 Pro4 tested 1.9 and 2.0 with "Improve memory compatibility.". Nothing is fixed.
However, I can run my RAM stable at 2800 (somehow 2933 does not work anymore with BIOS 2.0) instead of 3000 with XMP enabled, BCLK 100 and auto settings.
If you change Vccio to 1.1V and Vccsa to 1.15 does XMP work correctly?
Back to Top
eballen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eballen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 9:06am
The 1.1v for VCCIO and 1.15 for VCCSA fixes my freezing issues. But I have another issue where my PC will randomly reboot itself when idle now..
Back to Top
wiseude View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wiseude Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2018 at 4:57am
Originally posted by Flode Flode wrote:

Hello and sorry me again,

i found out the the xmp profile on the 1.3 bios for extreme 4 board has set
vccio and vccsa way to high. was set to 1.2 and 1.25 by default xmp.

For me this was the reason why the system could not boot into windows and was unstable.

I have now set xmp profile for my ram (3200) and then manually lowered

vccio to 1.1V and vccsa to 1.15. Not the system is rock stable again ram running finally with xmp speeds corretly.

Maybe this is helping one or another of you guys.

Best regards

flode



What about VCCST and VCCPLL?leave them unchanged? (as in, will they auto adjust by themselves if VCCIO and  VCCSA   are changed?)
Back to Top
Silver Werewolf View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2018
Location: Argentina
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Silver Werewolf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2018 at 11:44pm
Worked Flode solution here too :D!
Asrock Z370 Extreme4 P1.80
Intel i5 8600K
2x8 16Gb 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36 Corsair Vengueance LPX
EVGA GTS450 1GB GDDR5 25%OC

Thank you so much hue hueeeee
Back to Top
Flode View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flode Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2018 at 12:15am
Justed tested BIOS 3.10 Z370 Extreme4     3.10     7/10/2018

Bios flashed, loaded Default Settings, loaded XMP Profile,

still VCCSA and VCCIO much to high "for my system"

Went back to 1,1V for both values and i'm fine again. Dont know why its so hard to fix this for asrock.

Best regards

flode
Back to Top
Silver Werewolf View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2018
Location: Argentina
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Silver Werewolf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2018 at 2:43am
I recently upgraded to P1.80 from P1.30 bios... and just now a new release, you recommend to upgrade to this new one? is stable? some important changes? thanks and grettings...
Back to Top
Flode View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flode Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2018 at 4:02am
I would recommend alone for security purpose, new Intel microcode including latest intel specter meltdown patches etc.
Back to Top
steveg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote steveg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2018 at 11:25am
I also don't understand why ASRock is not fixing their buggy xmp voltage configurations.
I have the z370 killer sli/ac  and it also has voltage setting inconsistancies that make it very difficult to troubleshoot and get the xmp values.

I have used two different sets of RAM, both on the QVL list, and had issues. With one of them the xmp auto actually overclocks the bclk frequency and I had to go in and manually fix it (set it back to 100 from 103). 

If they don't update the bios soon to fix these issues I won't purchase an ASROCK MB again. I have built a lot of systems over the years and had just come back to using ASRock again and this was dissapointing.
Back to Top
eballen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eballen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2018 at 2:59am
I feel the same way. I don't get what is so hard to fix about changing the default xmp voltages that they can't accomplish..

If they don't fix it by the time I plan to purchase a new mobo, I'm just avoiding ASRock mobos altogether.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 891011>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.