ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New Ryzen Build Issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New Ryzen Build Issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 9:55am
"lots of noise " - sounds like the HDD is a good place to start, zfournier! Good luck and please keep us informed.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
zfournier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zfournier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 8:09pm
ok so for some reason when i hooked up the windows boot drive it wouldnt boot with the ssd that i took out of the laptop. tried the normal trouble shooting with ram and reset cmos but nothing. then i started it with out the boot drive and windows loaded up.

so doing a full windows reset via windows settings.

wish me luck ill do a follow up.
Back to Top
zfournier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zfournier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 8:40pm
got windows reset pretty quickly. installing drivers now.
Back to Top
zfournier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zfournier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 9:48pm
so ive got it back up, but right back to the freezing now.
Back to Top
dreadkopp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dreadkopp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 10:14pm
Interesting. Got a similar machine here:

AB350M Pro4 + 1600X + GTX 1060 . same problems. constant freezing with both windows and linux.

Sorry, no idea for a fix, just leave this here letting you know you are not alone and hoping for some fix.

Fun Fact: this machine was working fine when i build it, but since ~2 weeks just freezes
Back to Top
zfournier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zfournier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 10:16pm
well i appreciate you putting in your problems as well! hopefully we can find a solution for this. very very frustrating for sure.
Back to Top
zfournier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zfournier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 10:34pm
my windows wont update, using the windows update tool to download the newest version of windows. apparently reseting my windows downloaded an older version. good old microsoft eh?
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 11:53pm
Sorry, zfournier, but installing a copy of an installed W10 from another machine is NOT a good idea.  Until you do a fresh install of W10, I suspect you will have nothing but problems.  Real debug of your freeze problem cannot even start until a fresh copy of W10 is installed.  I recommend you use Windows Media Creation tool and create a USB to install the latest version of W10.  First after W10 install, install the AMD Chip Set drivers from here: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download
The other drivers get from the manufacturers or ASRock DL page.  I will be away hopefully creating a RAID for my system but should check back in before the day is done.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
zfournier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zfournier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 2:42am
okay im redownloading the windows media creation tool. ill try and update when i get that done.
Back to Top
dreadkopp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dreadkopp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 2:50am
in my case: http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=6929&title=ab350m-pro4-freezes it might be related to the GPU. do you have another graphics Card at hand that you can test?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.