ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Fatal1ty X370 gaming x
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fatal1ty X370 gaming x

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Luupz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luupz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fatal1ty X370 gaming x
    Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:12pm
Hi guys
I  bought this motherboard not long time ago and first of all i would like to highlight that the cpu temperature in the bios is totally wrong ...higher than normal, i hope ASrock can fix this with next update.
Moreover with the next update i hope that there are more option for overclocking  the cpu ..considering that actually there is almost nothing, i've never seen so few settings in a bios.

That's said  iwas wondering if there is  any other owner that would like to share its OC settings. I own a ryzen 1600 with stock cooler and i cant reach more than 3700. Testing the system with OCCT ans setting the cpu frequency from 3750 to 3900  i get temperatures higher than 75簞 (78 at 3800 ...85 at 3900 , and it is winter here)

thanx




Edited by Luupz - 19 Dec 2017 at 10:18pm
Back to Top
PetrolHead View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 07 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 411
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PetrolHead Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:18pm
The CPU temperature reading is not wrong. The CPU is not idling in the BIOS, that's why the CPU temperature reading is higher than you'd expect when idling. Why the BIOS stresses the CPU I don't know, but this has been the case even AM3+ motherboards and possibly even before that.

Different OC settings will probably not help you. I'm hitting 75C in prime95 with my Ryzen 5 1500X @ 3.7GHz and 1.25 Vcore. The 1500X comes with the same stock cooler as the 1600.
Ryzen 5 1500X, ASRock AB350M Pro4, 2x8 GB G.Skill Trident Z 3466CL16, Sapphire Pulse RX Vega56 8G HBM2, Corsair RM550x, Samsung 960 EVO SSD (NVMe) 250GB, Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500 GB, Windows 10 64-bit
Back to Top
Luupz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luupz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:24pm
Originally posted by PetrolHead PetrolHead wrote:

The CPU temperature reading is not wrong. The CPU is not idling in the BIOS, that's why the CPU temperature reading is higher than you'd expect when idling. Why the BIOS stresses the CPU I don't know, but this has been the case even AM3+ motherboards and possibly even before that.

Different OC settings will probably not help you. I'm hitting 75C in prime95 with my Ryzen 5 1500X @ 3.7GHz and 1.25 Vcore. The 1500X comes with the same stock cooler as the 1600.


thanx for answering.
So also other brands have this temperature issue in the bios or it is only an ASrock issue?
About cpu temp ..do you think that 78.3簞 max temp (3800ghz and 1.275v) with OCCT in winter is too much for a daily use?
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:36pm
Originally posted by Luupz Luupz wrote:

[QUOTE=PetrolHead]
About cpu temp ..do you think that 78.3簞 max temp (3800ghz and 1.275v) with OCCT in winter is too much for a daily use?


78C is well within the temp limits of Ryzen, but it's still much for my taste.
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
Luupz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luupz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:38pm
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

Originally posted by Luupz Luupz wrote:

[QUOTE=PetrolHead]
About cpu temp ..do you think that 78.3簞 max temp (3800ghz and 1.275v) with OCCT in winter is too much for a daily use?


78C is well within the temp limits of Ryzen, but it's still much for my taste.


sadly i agree considering that here (Europe) it is winter and cold
Back to Top
Luupz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luupz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:42pm
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

Originally posted by Luupz Luupz wrote:

[QUOTE=PetrolHead]
About cpu temp ..do you think that 78.3簞 max temp (3800ghz and 1.275v) with OCCT in winter is too much for a daily use?


78C is well within the temp limits of Ryzen, but it's still much for my taste.


sadly i agree considering it is cold and i'm not in summer
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 542
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:52pm
i have it watercooled and idk if those bios temps are legit but i have X version and bios reports ~55 and real temp is ~35 so all ok based on amd logic
tho u may wanna check voltages if u dont use p-states, as this board does some weird funky 1.4+volts under auto overclock


Edited by kerberos_20 - 19 Dec 2017 at 10:57pm
Back to Top
Luupz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luupz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:59pm
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

i have it watercooled and idk if those bios temps are legit but i have X version and bios reports ~55 and real temp is ~35 so all ok based on amd logic


What do you mean about " p-states" ? i've not seen any option like that in the bios ...and i dont use auto overclock but manual (btw auto overclock leaves the cpu at 3200)

i was considering Cooler Master Masterliquid 240 ..93euro, i dont know if the price  is worth the jump in terms of performance from 3700ghz to 3900 (i think i could reach that with good temp ..i hope so)


Edited by Luupz - 19 Dec 2017 at 11:01pm
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 542
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 11:16pm
well
since some agesa revision...anything u do with ram/cpu settings, u should do it in amd cbs (advanced tab) as those settings gets applied first, no matter what u set elsewhere (some things in bios does change cbs stuffs, but only few...most of options u set outside of cbs gets ignored)



Edited by kerberos_20 - 19 Dec 2017 at 11:19pm
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 11:30pm
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

i have it watercooled and idk if those bios temps are legit but i have X version and bios reports ~55 and real temp is ~35 so all ok based on amd logic
tho u may wanna check voltages if u dont use p-states, as this board does some weird funky 1.4+volts under auto overclock


My X370 Taichi does this. With all CPU-related stuff left on auto, I get Vcore spikes (guys here claim normal) and bad idle temps both in UEFI and Win 10.
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.045 seconds.