ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Replaced MB & No Internet; Ubuntu
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Replaced MB & No Internet; Ubuntu

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Bob123456789 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob123456789 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Replaced MB & No Internet; Ubuntu
    Posted: 27 Aug 2015 at 1:19am
I just replace a motherboard with an ASROCK N68C-GS4 FX.  I put an Opteron 1389 in it.  I installed Ubuntu 8.1. 

When I boot it up, everything appears to be working except access to the internet.  It is connected to my network via the motherboard with a Ethernet cable.  

This setup was working fine with the old motherboard and CPU.

 

When I run ifconfig I get:

 

Lo     Link encap:Local Loopback

         Inet addr: 127.0.0.1

         In6 addr    ::1/128 scope : Host

         UP Loopback Running MTD:16436 Metric:1

          RX Packets:38 Error:0 Dropped: 0 Overruns: 0

          TX Packets:38 Errors:0 Dropped: 0 Overruns:0 Carrier:0

          Collisons: 0  txqueuele:0

           RX Bytes: 2727 (2.7 kB)  TX Bytes: 2728 (2.7 kB)


 

I am not very Linux adept. 

 

Any ideas how I solve this issue?

Back to Top
squidrobro View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote squidrobro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2015 at 8:32am
It looks like Linux cannot see the Ethernet card (NIC).
It's possibly just a driver issue.

Try the "lspci" command. That will list the devices that have been detected.

When you boot up, keep an eye out for any specific error messages. 
The "dmesg" command will show you a log that should help.

Also try the command "sudo update-initramfs" and reboot. (You'll need the administrator password)

Lastly, I believe the support for Ubuntu 8.10 ended in 2010. The current version is 14.04.3
An upgrade might solve your problem since it'll likely come with new drivers.
I'd recommend an upgrade just for security reasons. You don't wanna be running around on the internet with an out-of-date system.


If you want to dig deep, however, you can try to find out your Ethernet card model number, get the Windows driver, and attempt to use "ndiswrapper" to get it going.


Edited by squidrobro - 04 Oct 2015 at 8:38am
Back to Top
Bob123456789 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob123456789 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 11:36pm
Thank you so much for helping with this!  I really would like to get this going again.  It probably is something as simple as a driver for the NIC card.
Here is a link to some of things we have tried on another forum if it helps.
 
 
Please find the response to lspci below, I will post the other requests as I can.
 
00.00.0 RAM memory nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a1)
00.01.0 ISA bridge  nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00.01.1 SMBus  nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00.01.2 RAM Memory:   nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory  Controller (rev a2)
00.02.0 USB Controller:   nVidia Corporation MCP61  USB Controller (rev a3)
00.02.1 USB Controller:   nVidia Corporation MCP61  USB Controller (rev a3)
00.04.0 PCI Bridge:   nVidia Corporation MCP61  PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00.05.0 Audio Device:   nVidia Corporation MCP61  High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00.06.0 IDE Interface   nVidia Corporation MCP61  IDE (rev a2)
00.08.1 IDE Interface   nVidia Corporation MCP61  SATA Controller (rev a2)
00.09.0 PCI Bridge  nVidia Corporation MCP61  PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00.0b.0 PCI Bridge  nVidia Corporation MCP61  PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00.0d.0 VGA Compatible  nVidia Corporation Dev 03d6  Bridge (rev a2)
00.18.0 Host Bridge Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] hypertransport configuration
00.18.1 Host Bridge Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00.18.2 Host Bridge Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00.18.3 Host Bridge Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00.18.4 Host Bridge Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
01.08.0 Ethernet Controller: DLink System Inc.  RTL8139 Ethernet 9rev10)
 
Back to Top
Bob123456789 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob123456789 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 2015 at 12:45am
sudo update-initramfs disabled since running on a live CD
Back to Top
Bob123456789 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob123456789 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 2015 at 12:47am

When I run ifconfig I get:

 

Lo     Link encap:Local Loopback

         Inet addr: 127.0.0.1

         In6 addr    ::1/128 scope : Host

         UP Loopback Running MTD:16436 Metric:1

          RX Packets:38 Error:0 Dropped: 0 Overruns: 0

          TX Packets:38 Errors:0 Dropped: 0 Overruns:0 Carrier:0

          Collisons: 0  txqueuele:0

           RX Bytes: 2727 (2.7 kB)  TX Bytes: 2728 (2.7 kB)


 

I am not very Linux adept. 

 

Any ideas how I solve this issue?

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.