ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - <Running a headless Server (Ryzen) possible?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

<Running a headless Server (Ryzen) possible?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
SoniC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 183
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SoniC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 7:44am
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

Originally posted by php42 php42 wrote:

to be fair, AMD is also vulnerable to meltdown, it's an abuse of speculative execution which is present in most modern processors


Sadly, yes. That's why KPTI has to be implemented as well. AMD have been kicking in performance & price/performance as well. Only their discrete graphics are a bit behind now. Can't have it all, I guess? Disapprove

We hijacked this thread good, no? LOL Sorry, OP!

No, AMD CPUs don't need the KPTI fix, see evidence in the kernel commit here:
https://lkml.org/lkml/2017/12/27/2

AMDs need only a fix for Variant 1 -- without big performance hit. 
The real performance hit comes from Variant 3 and AMD is not affected.
-=SoniC=-
TR x1950, ASRock X399 FPG (v. 3.33A), G.Skill 3200 CL14 64GB, Enermax LiqTech 280,
AMD Vega 64 LC, 10x HDDs (mostly Hitachi), 2x M.2 (970EVO,960Pro), Xonar DX, AX1200i PSU
Back to Top
nallar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nallar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2018 at 1:21am
At least some of ASRock's AM4 motherboards do work headless.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 24.273 seconds.