ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Build Advice
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z370 K6 Fatal1ty not getting 3200 RAM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z370 K6 Fatal1ty not getting 3200 RAM

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Plo83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Plo83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z370 K6 Fatal1ty not getting 3200 RAM
    Posted: 09 Jan 2018 at 4:23pm
First, please forgive my noobness.  I've never overclocked RAM.

I figured out that the core speed that the ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming K6 will take is 2666.  I was able to set the ram to 2666 but I have 3200 RAM and I'd like not to waste it.

I have two sets of 3200 DDR4 ram at the moment.  One wasn't on the QVL and I figured that this was the problem.  Then, I ordered another set that I got today who is on the QVL and neither of them will go over 2666 in the xmp

G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) is the first set that I got.  I prefer those if they can be OC'd to 3200.

Then, I got some Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 Desktop Memory Kit - Black (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16) (this is the one on the QVL)

I have an Intel I7 8700K oc'ed to 4.7.  There was no problem with that.  Can anyone tell me what to do or where to look to solve this?  I'm fairly sure that I will need to manually set up the numbers but this is a brand new system, I'm disabled and had to save for quite a while for this new system.  I'm terrified to mess it up so I much rather ask.

I have seen other threads for other mobo's btw but not for the K6.  I'm sorry if there is another one.  I'm new to the forums.  I checked briefly and saw nothing else in OC for a K6.

Regards,

P

Edited by Plo83 - 10 Jan 2018 at 9:50am
Back to Top
Simplis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Oct 2018
Location: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Simplis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2019 at 2:56pm
sorry for my bad English.but I wanna ask you wich slots u installed ram modules on ur motherboard?
1-3 or 2-4 ?
if u installed 1-3 u not overclocked more .if u wanna overclocked like u have ram 3200 u must install ram modules in motherboard 2-4 slots.
Simplis
Back to Top
Simplis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Oct 2018
Location: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Simplis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2019 at 2:57pm
if this not help try overclock ram not XMP but manual
Simplis
Back to Top
Plo83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Plo83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2019 at 4:53pm
Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to reply!

It is working now. I forgot to close this. I am sorry.

They are in slot 2 and 4.

The problem was solved when I upgraded my BIOS.

Thank you again my friend!
Back to Top
Plo83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Plo83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2019 at 4:55pm
PS: I went to thank you but it said that you were already thanked. Let me know if you don't get the points for it.
Back to Top
Simplis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Oct 2018
Location: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simplis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2019 at 5:46pm
yes I forget wrote about bios just think about it later.
Simplis
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.043 seconds.