ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350 PRO4 - BIOS 4.40 OC Mode Change Switch
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350 PRO4 - BIOS 4.40 OC Mode Change Switch

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
donalgodon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donalgodon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 1:25am
Originally posted by Clemenator Clemenator wrote:

When I overclock to 3.7 easy way cpuz and task manger say I am running at 2.4
When I overclock using pstates to 3.8 under asrock switch it will not save and under amd switch it saves and bios say it is 3.8 however cupz and task manger say it is 2.7 

It is not a visual only bug my computer is running much slower like stock or under.

So literally for me overclocking underclocks the cpu ryzen 1600

Last note the voltage will stay at what I change it to and so will the ram just not the cpu   

Did you try flashing back to 3.30?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4768
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 2:12am
Originally posted by ZTR ZTR wrote:

I downgraded back to 3.30 from 4.40 with no issues although YMMV

Thanks for the confirmation ZTR Thumbs Up

I was fairly sure that would be the case but I don't take chances with forum member's systems.
Back to Top
donalgodon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donalgodon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 2:54am
double post. Sorry.

Edited by donalgodon - 13 Jan 2018 at 5:22am
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4768
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 3:18am
AGESA updates really mess with fan profiles sometimes, I had to ditch an update or 2 for the same reasons. I wish AMD would just get it sorted and stop running around in circles like a chicken with it's head cut off.... Don't get me wrong, I love my Ryzen build, value for money is insane and the performance, well, 6 cores and 12 threads for the price of an 8th gen i5 or less? What's not to love? I just wish AMD would get it together and get all the kinks worked out. 
Back to Top
donalgodon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donalgodon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 3:39am
Originally posted by ZTR ZTR wrote:

I downgraded back to 3.30 from 4.40 with no issues although YMMV

It worked for me too. 

I downgraded successfully from 4.40 to 3.30.

The update wasn't great for me. It seemed to be interfering with my Corsair Commander Pro's fan profiles. It sent one fan into full-speed state for no reason. I noticed it only after updating and haven't seen it again since downgrading.
Back to Top
srdjan1995 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote srdjan1995 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 4:16am
Can someone tell me what is the max voltage I should go for when OC'ing my ryzen 3 1200? I heard something like v1.42 is the max safe voltage. Or can it go a bit higher without damaging the CPU and decreasing it's life span? Thank you :)
Back to Top
fostek View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fostek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 5:06am
THIS IS MY LAST ASROCK PRODUCT.
Back to Top
donalgodon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote donalgodon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 5:25am
Originally posted by srdjan1995 srdjan1995 wrote:

Can someone tell me what is the max voltage I should go for when OC'ing my ryzen 3 1200? I heard something like v1.42 is the max safe voltage. Or can it go a bit higher without damaging the CPU and decreasing it's life span? Thank you :)

Every chip is different, but as a general rule, it's best to try and keep the voltage as low as possible and still maintain stability, so there's no recommendation that will work in all cases.

Personally, I undervolted my Ryzen 5 1600 deliberately to keep temps in check and was able to get a stable OC (tested) to 3.7GHz at only 1.28 Volts. 

IN my case, I started with the clock speed I wanted (not pushing the chip too hard) and then backed the voltage down from the 1.35 Volt default until I hit the lowest stable voltage I could reliably achieve at that speed.


Edited by donalgodon - 13 Jan 2018 at 5:27am
Back to Top
futurist View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote futurist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 7:57am
Hey all, just wondering something: I have a Ryzen 1600 and AB350 Pro4, and I just upgraded my BIOS to 4.40 in hopes of gaining a bit more stability with my build (have experienced some odd idle-time freezing with Cool n Quiet enabled). Obviously, at stock there's still some overclocking happening due to Precision Boost and XFR, but I'm not planning to tweak things myself. In that case, does anyone have any idea yet whether it's better to set the OC Mode Switch to ASROCK or AMD CBS?

Thanks!
Back to Top
php42 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote php42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 10:52am
Originally posted by futurist futurist wrote:

Hey all, just wondering something: I have a Ryzen 1600 and AB350 Pro4, and I just upgraded my BIOS to 4.40 in hopes of gaining a bit more stability with my build (have experienced some odd idle-time freezing with Cool n Quiet enabled). Obviously, at stock there's still some overclocking happening due to Precision Boost and XFR, but I'm not planning to tweak things myself. In that case, does anyone have any idea yet whether it's better to set the OC Mode Switch to ASROCK or AMD CBS?

Thanks!

use AMD CBS. asrock mode is super buggy in the new bios so the only way to get reliable results is with a pstate overclock in AMD CBS mode. note that this means you can't use XMP profiles and will need to set your ram timings manually unless you want to run stock ram.

this update seemed to provide a HUGE stability improvement, but at the cost of a whole new swath of bugs in the BIOS. DRAM voltage seems to reset to 1.35v at boot. this is fine for me since it suddenly seems to be stable at that voltage but YMMV.

EDIT: just noticed you were running stock, in that case it probably doesn't matter as auto settings should be the same in either mode.


Edited by php42 - 13 Jan 2018 at 10:54am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.027 seconds.