ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350M - 4 pieces of RAM and dual channel question
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350M - 4 pieces of RAM and dual channel question

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Macready View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Macready Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350M - 4 pieces of RAM and dual channel question
    Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 1:37am
Hey guys I have a question, lately I bought AsRock AB350M motherboard along with Ryzen 1600 and 2x4GB 2666Mhz Corsair RAM (CMK8GX4M2A2666C16). Now I would like to buy another 2x4GB of exactly the same RAM...but the question is, will I be able to run this in dual channel mode?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 4:02am
Strange, the 'pure' AB350M has only 2 UDIMM slots. I suspect you didn't put the entire model name of your mobo.

Other AB350M mobos from ASRock, which have 4 UDIMM slots are only guaranteed to run 2133MHz with SR RAM in all 4 slots, and 1866MHz with DR RAM (again in all 4 slots).

With a bit of luck you should be able to run original speeds, but keep in mind Ryzens currently are still lacking in good memory support.

With all that being said, if you have cash to burn, get them and try. Or better, sell the old ones and get higher speed, higher capacity sticks (just 2). Check my sig for what I recommend as a fast RAM for Ryzen.
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
Macready View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Macready Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 6:34am
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

Strange, the 'pure' AB350M has only 2 UDIMM slots. I suspect you didn't put the entire model name of your mobo.

Other AB350M mobos from ASRock, which have 4 UDIMM slots are only guaranteed to run 2133MHz with SR RAM in all 4 slots, and 1866MHz with DR RAM (again in all 4 slots).

With a bit of luck you should be able to run original speeds, but keep in mind Ryzens currently are still lacking in good memory support.


My bad, I obviously have ASROCK AB350M Pro4 Tongue And indeed, I am able to run the memory at its original speed (2666Mhz) without any problems (bios version 3.30). And I've bought "only" 2660Mhz RAM because I've read that 2666Mhz is the "sweet spot" for Ryzen...but anyway, I think there should be no problem in running 4 identical RAM sticks in dual channel on AB350M Pro4. Oh well, I guess I will have to order 2 additonal sticks and see Shocked



Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 9:05pm
My bad here as well. I didn't elaborate enough as well.

4 sticks of RAM will run in dual-channel! Sometimes, when you try to dial some high RAM speeds, CPU won't be able to 'train' the RAM for that speed, and will revert to single-channel as a result.

As I wrote in my previous post, 4 slots of RAM are only guaranteed to run in dual-channel if you're running @ 2133 (single-rank, nothing to do with single-channel), or 1866 (dual-rank, nothing to do with dual-channel).
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
Macready View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Macready Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 10:24pm
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

My bad here as well. I didn't elaborate enough as well.

4 sticks of RAM will run in dual-channel! Sometimes, when you try to dial some high RAM speeds, CPU won't be able to 'train' the RAM for that speed, and will revert to single-channel as a result.

As I wrote in my previous post, 4 slots of RAM are only guaranteed to run in dual-channel if you're running @ 2133 (single-rank, nothing to do with single-channel), or 1866 (dual-rank, nothing to do with dual-channel).

OMG, so you're basically saying that if I add another two 2666MHz sticks to my current ones, ALL FOUR 2660Mhz memory sticks will be downscaled to 2133Mhz? Cry


Edited by Macready - 14 Jan 2018 at 10:25pm
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 11:58pm
Originally posted by Macready Macready wrote:

Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

My bad here as well. I didn't elaborate enough as well.

4 sticks of RAM will run in dual-channel! Sometimes, when you try to dial some high RAM speeds, CPU won't be able to 'train' the RAM for that speed, and will revert to single-channel as a result.

As I wrote in my previous post, 4 slots of RAM are only guaranteed to run in dual-channel if you're running @ 2133 (single-rank, nothing to do with single-channel), or 1866 (dual-rank, nothing to do with dual-channel).

OMG, so you're basically saying that if I add another two 2666MHz sticks to my current ones, ALL FOUR 2660Mhz memory sticks will be downscaled to 2133Mhz? Cry


Aye, comrade! Just a small clarification, that's what the specifications are saying. I'm just reading the mobo manual out loud for you. Big smile

That's an inherit limitation of AMD's current state of AGESA. It's commonly believed it will be improved in near future.

To make things even more 'enjoyable' for you, I have something else to tell you - my Googling shows that your RAM is most likely a double-ranked. Basically, it means 1866 for you if you decide to go for 4 sticks. Cry

With all of the above said, it's not all that grim! 4-DIMM speeds not being guaranteed doesn't automatically mean impossible! Currently it's a matter of luck. 2666 is not that high, so with a good RAM there is a good chance you'd get there. Just not with a double-ranked one, like yours. Unhappy

Personal advice, cough some more cash on the pile and get a decent, high-speed 2x kit. There is absolutely NO benefit if you go for 4 sticks vs 2 sticks. 2 or 4, it's all dual-channel. It makes sense only with Threadripper and other high-end Intel platforms.


1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
Macready View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Macready Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 1:40am
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

Originally posted by Macready Macready wrote:

Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

My bad here as well. I didn't elaborate enough as well.

4 sticks of RAM will run in dual-channel! Sometimes, when you try to dial some high RAM speeds, CPU won't be able to 'train' the RAM for that speed, and will revert to single-channel as a result.

As I wrote in my previous post, 4 slots of RAM are only guaranteed to run in dual-channel if you're running @ 2133 (single-rank, nothing to do with single-channel), or 1866 (dual-rank, nothing to do with dual-channel).

OMG, so you're basically saying that if I add another two 2666MHz sticks to my current ones, ALL FOUR 2660Mhz memory sticks will be downscaled to 2133Mhz? Cry


Aye, comrade! Just a small clarification, that's what the specifications are saying. I'm just reading the mobo manual out loud for you. Big smile

That's an inherit limitation of AMD's current state of AGESA. It's commonly believed it will be improved in near future.

To make things even more 'enjoyable' for you, I have something else to tell you - my Googling shows that your RAM is most likely a double-ranked. Basically, it means 1866 for you if you decide to go for 4 sticks. Cry

With all of the above said, it's not all that grim! 4-DIMM speeds not being guaranteed doesn't automatically mean impossible! Currently it's a matter of luck. 2666 is not that high, so with a good RAM there is a good chance you'd get there. Just not with a double-ranked one, like yours. Unhappy

Personal advice, cough some more cash on the pile and get a decent, high-speed 2x kit. There is absolutely NO benefit if you go for 4 sticks vs 2 sticks. 2 or 4, it's all dual-channel. It makes sense only with Threadripper and other high-end Intel platforms.

Unbelievable. I have assembled this PC only two weeks ago and I'm already starting to regret this...I should have stick to Intel Confused I guess I will have to sell this 2x4gb Corsair memory (I've just bought it...) and buy 2x8GB one...any suggestions what kind of memory (brand/mhz) should I buy? I guess something that would be compatible with AB350M Pro4...ehh Cry


Edited by Macready - 15 Jan 2018 at 1:41am
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 1:48am
Originally posted by Macready Macready wrote:


Unbelievable. I have assembled this PC only two weeks ago and I'm already starting to regret this...I should have stick to Intel Confused I guess I will have to sell this 2x4gb Corsair memory (I've just bought it...) and buy 2x8GB one...any suggestions what kind of memory (brand/mhz) should I buy? I guess something that would be compatible with AB350M Pro4...ehh Cry


Sticking to Intel? Good one there, mate! Let me fast-forward to today for you: Tongue

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-spectre-bios-crash-broadwell-haswell,36324.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-amt-bitlocker-bios-bypass,36321.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-releases-meltdown-spectre-patch-benchmarks,36317.html

Please read those carefully and see if you have changed your mind. Wink

As for the memory, you could check here: https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350M%20Pro4/index.asp#Memory

That's the official QVL for memory for your mobo. Depending on your budget and regional availability my suggestions may not be that viable. I'd generally go for G.Skill, but theoretically everything from the QVL should work fine.

If in doubt, drop us a line again. Maybe other guys here can share their personal experience with RAM and same mobo as yours.
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
Macready View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Macready Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 1:56am
Originally posted by zlobster zlobster wrote:

Originally posted by Macready Macready wrote:


Unbelievable. I have assembled this PC only two weeks ago and I'm already starting to regret this...I should have stick to Intel Confused I guess I will have to sell this 2x4gb Corsair memory (I've just bought it...) and buy 2x8GB one...any suggestions what kind of memory (brand/mhz) should I buy? I guess something that would be compatible with AB350M Pro4...ehh Cry


Sticking to Intel? Good one there, mate! Let me fast-forward to today for you: Tongue

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-spectre-bios-crash-broadwell-haswell,36324.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-amt-bitlocker-bios-bypass,36321.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-releases-meltdown-spectre-patch-benchmarks,36317.html

Please read those carefully and see if you have changed your mind. Wink

As for the memory, you could check here: https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350M%20Pro4/index.asp#Memory

That's the official QVL for memory for your mobo. Depending on your budget and regional availability my suggestions may not be that viable. I'd generally go for G.Skill, but theoretically everything from the QVL should work fine.

If in doubt, drop us a line again. Maybe other guys here can share their personal experience with RAM and same mobo as yours.

Thanks for your input Zlobster, really appreciate it. I will probably buy the same one (Corsair 2660mhz) but this time 2x8 GB...
Back to Top
donalgodon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donalgodon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2018 at 3:29am
I am able to run 4x8 (32GB) Corsair RAM (Micron die) @2933 and it's rock solid.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.