ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - "Fastboot" too fast
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

"Fastboot" too fast

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Black_Code View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Black_Code Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: "Fastboot" too fast
    Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 12:36am
Greetings,
I'm experiencing quite the nuisance here, I can not, in whatever mean, reach my UEFI.
I need to change my virtualisation settings to run a VM beacause of work but I simply cannot reach it.
Already tried the AsRock Restart to Uefi util, rebooting from advanced options of windows 10, button smashing F2 and DEL keys. Nothing.

Current setup:
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
RAM Corsair Vengeance XMP profile 2933
AB350 Pro4 Motherboard. 

Any reply would be aprreciated
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 12:42am
Black_Code, why do you not turn off Fast Boot?  The Restart to UEFI is probably not working because of your overclocked memory.  Boot training of the memory is probably failing, causing retries which will block Restart to UEFI.  If you continue to have  problems, please post all your specifications in your signature as I have.  Thanks and enjoy, john.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
Black_Code View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Black_Code Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 12:45am
I'd love to do that, but I cannot reach my Uefi to turn off that setting. Already disable any fastboot realted option in Windows and still not able to boot Uefi.

Why overclocked memory would break RTU? 
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 543
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 12:50am
hi
to use restart to uefi app, u will need to run it with administrator rights
then inisde app set "enter uefi setup on next boot" to ON
reboot eiter from windows or from app
no key needed to enter uefi
if this doesnt work then something in your windows is blocking access to your mobo
in that case reseting cmos is your fastest option
Back to Top
Black_Code View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Black_Code Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 12:53am
So, CMOS reset for good...
I would lose any setting, including XMP profile, right?
AB350 Pro4 Motherboard
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 CPU
ASUS Dual GTX 1070 GPU
Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 3000MHz (2933MHz XMP Profile) RAM
Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
Western Digital Blue 1TB HDD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 3:33am
Sorry about that, Black_Code.  Should be obvious even to me!  I am afraid you will loose any non-saved options in the BIOS if you use Clear CMOS.  I do not think it is W10 blocking your access.  I need to do some thinking and research and will get back soon.  Wanted to reply to delay the CMOS reset.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 3:47am
Black_Code, here are the steps to do Restart to UEFI in W10:

Windows key I, then
  1. Select Update & security.  
  2. Select Recovery from the left menu.
  3. Click Restart Now under Advanced startup. ...
  4. Click Troubleshoot.
  5. Click Advanced options.
  6. Select UEFI Firmware Settings.
  7. Click Restart.

I just tried it on my TR and it worked fine.  It may not work for the same reasons as the ASRock one, but is worth a try while I continue to think.  I cannot tell you exactly why but I have seen the same on my previous X370 running an XMP.  It seems once the BIOS memory training needs to retry, it forgets about opening UEFI.  Get back to you soon.  Enjoy, John.


EDIT:  What is your installed memory and in what slots?  I am thinking of changing the memory to force UEFI to drop the XMP.  Do you have any other memory you could use?



Edited by MisterJ - 17 Jan 2018 at 4:07am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
Black_Code View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Black_Code Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 4:05am
Already tried, didn't work for me
AB350 Pro4 Motherboard
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 CPU
ASUS Dual GTX 1070 GPU
Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 3000MHz (2933MHz XMP Profile) RAM
Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
Western Digital Blue 1TB HDD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 4:10am
Black_Code,  just edited my last post - please see what you think.  Thanks for the W10 Restart test.  Enjoy, John.

Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
lowdog View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 194
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lowdog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan 2018 at 4:11am
Clear the cmos...it's the only way to get back default settings and disable fast boot so you can access bios.
X399 Fat Pro Gaming bios 3.10 - TR4 1900X - 64GB G-SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ @ 3133MHz - Vega 64 AIO with EK block - WC Custom loop - 1500W Silverstone PSU - yay
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.