ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.0
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.0

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 7891011 12>
Author
Message
Animoski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Animoski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 6:20pm
BIOS seems to be a constant patch-up fix here break there process that I? quickly losing all confidence in..

I have gained stability in CPU overclocking with p1.5 BIOS. 4.2Ghz wasn? 100% stable for me before, now it? rock solid under a full 18 hour aida64 stress test, and my B-die ram seems to be more stable (non-QVL), but this broken profile function is beyond sad..

I?e been busy recently but I?l get back here shortly with more testing results.
My CPU seems to be volt hungry - not a real champ at all in OCing... But I was able to boot 3600Mhz ram at some point.
AMD 2700x | G.Skill 16GB Flare X 3200 Mhz | EVGA 1070Ti FTW Ultra Silent | EVGA G1+ 750w | ASRock X470 Taichi
Back to Top
Animoski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Animoski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2018 at 11:16am
Well, here's what i've been able to get so far with p1.5

Before p1.5, anything over 4.2Ghz was unstable (but bootable).

Now I was able to pass Cinebench once at 4.3, but only once.
4.25Ghz is now stable, even under 1.4v. (My CPU seems to be average-to-weak silicon?)

I toyed around with RAM some more. 3600Mhz is not happening. Not bootable at all. I used every suggestion the calculator had for me after importing the stock XMP profile and tuning it for 3600Mhz. The same tuning allowed for a 3466Mhz OC, but was not aida64 stress stable.

3333Mhz with optimized sub-timings seems to be my limit.

In A-Tuning, which seems to be the most reliable source of info for voltages, i'm hitting 1.4 volts on CPU and DRAM even though they're at 1.385 and 1.35 respectably. Level 3 LLC all around. 1.1v SOC.

I'm not sure how to get over these seemingly pliable overclocking walls. I have a Kraken X62 with Noctua fans and at these settings i'm getting 80-82*C, so I don't want to increase CPU volts beyond 1.4, which at 4300Mhz is bootable..

Any advice? Many thanks!

AMD 2700x | G.Skill 16GB Flare X 3200 Mhz | EVGA 1070Ti FTW Ultra Silent | EVGA G1+ 750w | ASRock X470 Taichi
Back to Top
wino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2018 at 6:40pm
82*C with Kraken? Hmm, my advice is to change thermal paste to Kryonaut or sth :)
AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac 5.70 | Ryzen 5 1600 | Patriot Viper Elite 16 GB @ 3200 | Zotac GTX 1050 Ti | Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB M.2 | SilentiumPC Supremo M2 Gold 550W V2
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 420
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 12:02am
pre 1.5 i've been using -0.7v offset on the cpu becuse i didnt like my temps

but right now i'm back to full auto settings 
short reports on hwinfo
max core vid are 1.475v (worst core)
vcore topping at 1.437v
tdie 66.5C which is alot lower than previous bios

i wont do tweakings on this uefi revision since i cant load saved profiles
Back to Top
Animoski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Animoski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 4:47am
Originally posted by wino wino wrote:

82*C with Kraken? Hmm, my advice is to change thermal paste to Kryonaut or sth :)

82*C after about 15 minutes of full aida64 stress testing at 4.25Ghz - 1.4v

I'm also using MX-4 thermal paste, which is very "comparable" to Kryonaut. Not sure what STH is?

Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

pre 1.5 i've been using -0.7v offset on the cpu becuse i didnt like my temps

but right now i'm back to full auto settings 
short reports on hwinfo
max core vid are 1.475v (worst core)
vcore topping at 1.437v
tdie 66.5C which is alot lower than previous bios

i wont do tweakings on this uefi revision since i cant load saved profiles

After fiddling around with BIOS so much I noticed something and it seems to fix loading profiles..
Enable CSM. I know it makes booting slightly slower and UEFI with lower res, but it is smoother - and will actually let you load profiles no problem for now.

----------------------

I'm genuinely concerned with RAM sub-timings.. Everyone seems to love tightening down their sub-timings, which for our motherboards seem to have it worse than others due to our janky "auto". I've noticed that indeed, I can re-produce higher results across the board (Cinebench, 3DMark Vantage, AIDA64 Memory/Cache benchmarks) simply tightening down the timings and doing nothing else.

In the calculator and even "The Stilt's Ryzen Timings", certain values have decimals. tRFC, tRFC 2 and 4 have values like "307.2" that I can't enter in the BIOS. I type in 307. and it locks in 307 before I can get to 2.

How do I get around this? If I leave it at 307 is it fine? Or should it be 308 as it should always round up? 

Leaving 2700x completely stock seems to be the way in my books. If you can get 4.35Ghz all-core, and that's a big IF, you'll be reaching what avg-silicon can do easily just bursting on it's own on 1-2 cores. I enabled Precision Boost Overdrive, and it allowed more cores to hit 4.35Ghz at the same time more consistently, but it seemed to be an either-or situation as it was ONLY hitting 4.35Ghz or 3Ghz.

I can be stable 4250Mhz and lose some performance in games but gain everywhere else, or be stock, stable, and genuinely not tell much of a difference, whereas RAM Mhz and sub-timings seem to be most beneficial. 

Sorry for wall of text lol


Edited by Animoski - 09 Jul 2018 at 4:58am
AMD 2700x | G.Skill 16GB Flare X 3200 Mhz | EVGA 1070Ti FTW Ultra Silent | EVGA G1+ 750w | ASRock X470 Taichi
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 420
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 9:47am
I didn? notice csm enable is slower either way I can? enable csm since it will load uefi on my secoardary screen which is very annoying to set bios on a portrait screen oh well
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 137
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 11:09am
Originally posted by Animoski Animoski wrote:

In the calculator and even "The Stilt's Ryzen Timings", certain values have decimals. tRFC, tRFC 2 and 4 have values like "307.2" that I can't enter in the BIOS. I type in 307. and it locks in 307 before I can get to 2.

How do I get around this? If I leave it at 307 is it fine? Or should it be 308 as it should always round up? 

I just do simple rounding, i.e. 307.2 becomes 307, or in my case 3066mhz, recommended tRFC 536.6 is rounded up to 537, and tRFC4 245.3 rounded down to 245.

these tRFCs are so big in values the decimal don't make or break in boot-up nor stability issues.

from another perspective 537/536.6x100% = 0.07454%

whilst tCL from 17 vs 16 = 6.25% [significant], 

low numbers are much more sensitive than big numbers, example dram 2933mhz up to 3066mhz 4.53%, even 3200mhz up from 3066mhz is 4.37% versus tCL one digit jump causes 6.25% 

hence ignore the decimal of big numbers !!! no worries here.
1700XtaichiX370HISvega64CX750MOptane900PwaterGPU-CPU420x140x76TTcoreV71
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@2933,14151515325257321010444403272011410631661447@1.34v
uefi5.67 last pcie4
1.4vsoc1.05v3133
1.51vsoc1.1v3200
Back to Top
Animoski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Animoski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 12:49pm
Well thank you for the words advice. I? looking for performance but stability and longevity is also important to me.

What I? worried about in rounding up/down decimal values is possibly having a situation where because it? .2 off, it wasn? ready and has to repeat the whole process, and because it? such a high number I feel like it would be extremely detrimental.

Are these numbers connected in any way, like in a ratio where it has to be specifically those values ? Maybe I? thinking too much about it.

Is there a way to easily import sub-timing profiles? The CH7 has Stilts profiles built right into it, and I can? seem to find EVERY value from the calc as an option in the bios.. Ugh.
AMD 2700x | G.Skill 16GB Flare X 3200 Mhz | EVGA 1070Ti FTW Ultra Silent | EVGA G1+ 750w | ASRock X470 Taichi
Back to Top
wino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 6:20pm
Originally posted by gwilly7 gwilly7 wrote:

Of course  no Fatal1ty X470 Gaming ITX on that list
check it now :)

@Animoski:
sth = something ;)
AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac 5.70 | Ryzen 5 1600 | Patriot Viper Elite 16 GB @ 3200 | Zotac GTX 1050 Ti | Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB M.2 | SilentiumPC Supremo M2 Gold 550W V2
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1753
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 12:57am
well in my opinion

mx4 isnt a bad thermal paste ,it just isnt a very good thermal paste

if your testing cpu's etc or running stock its much better than oem shipped stuff
if you using an expensive water cooler of high end air cooler theres many more preferable solutions esp. if overclocking

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 7891011 12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.046 seconds.