ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Looking for pointers on Overclocking my 1800x
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Looking for pointers on Overclocking my 1800x

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
Author
Message
Erasmus_Tycho View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Erasmus_Tycho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 7:52am
Hey Datonyb,
I found the BIOS beta version 3.2a, only problem is I'm not really experienced with installing new versions of BIOS.  I noticed this is a .exe.  Am I going to need to flash this with a Bootable DOS USB stick?

Have you tried any of the new BIOS versions? (3.4/4.4)
ASRock x370 Taichi V4.4| Ryzen 1800x | 16GB x 2 DDR4 3200 (14cas) | GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N | WD NVMe Black 512GB | 2 x 500GB Samsung EVO 960 | Corsair HX1000 | EK Custom Loop (360mm rad + 280mm rad)
Back to Top
Erasmus_Tycho View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Erasmus_Tycho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 1:14pm
Updated BIOS to version 4.4 and am happy to report that I'm getting more stable overclocks!  Definitely see that I need to increase voltages on vcore a tad more to get it to post on boot.  

Also, I've noticed this... Windows isn't seeing the new CPU frequency.  I've done testing and can show that the CPU is indeed overclocked to 3.8Ghz as the Cinabench results are right where they should be for a 3.8GHz OC.

Here's a picture of what I'm talking about:
https://imgur.com/XDbXbNY
ASRock x370 Taichi V4.4| Ryzen 1800x | 16GB x 2 DDR4 3200 (14cas) | GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N | WD NVMe Black 512GB | 2 x 500GB Samsung EVO 960 | Corsair HX1000 | EK Custom Loop (360mm rad + 280mm rad)
Back to Top
Prodif View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Prodif Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 11:44pm
Erasmus_Tycho
https://i.imgur.com/ONHmtbM.jpg



Edited by Prodif - 14 Feb 2018 at 12:20am
ASRock x370 Taichi (bios v2.36) / Ryzen-1800X / Crucial CT16G4DFD824A x2 / GPU: AMD R9 NANO / SSD NVMe Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P1T0BW (M.2) / HDD SATA 3TB x6 / PSU: Corsair AX860i
ps. RedDragon, by AG
Back to Top
Erasmus_Tycho View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Erasmus_Tycho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 1:51am
Originally posted by Prodif Prodif wrote:

Erasmus_Tycho
https://i.imgur.com/ONHmtbM.jpg


Not sure how this is supposed to help me, but ok.
ASRock x370 Taichi V4.4| Ryzen 1800x | 16GB x 2 DDR4 3200 (14cas) | GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N | WD NVMe Black 512GB | 2 x 500GB Samsung EVO 960 | Corsair HX1000 | EK Custom Loop (360mm rad + 280mm rad)
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1620
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 3:04am
there was some reports of this happening on the asus forum

it seems the windows reports are incorrect,must be some glitch between windows and the later updated bios (the 1007 agesa)

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
Erasmus_Tycho View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Erasmus_Tycho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2018 at 12:29pm
Just wanted to post an update... I've completely redone this machine, most of the hardware is the same except the graphics card and the installation of a full custom loop with two radiators.  

I've pushed my overclock to 4.0ghz at 1.413v, anything less and it's unstable unfortunately.  I'm using P-states to do my OC (BIOS 4.4) with a downclock idle to the 2.2ghz @ .9v except I'm not seeing it downclock at idle.  Do I need to go into power saving settings and put an idle into the power setting profile?




Edited by Erasmus_Tycho - 22 May 2018 at 12:30pm
ASRock x370 Taichi V4.4| Ryzen 1800x | 16GB x 2 DDR4 3200 (14cas) | GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N | WD NVMe Black 512GB | 2 x 500GB Samsung EVO 960 | Corsair HX1000 | EK Custom Loop (360mm rad + 280mm rad)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.