ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ATuning - GPU probe
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ATuning - GPU probe

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Arogtar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Arogtar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ATuning - GPU probe
    Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 4:23am
Hi,

would it be possible to add a GPU temp probe into the ATuning utility?

SpeedFan doesn't seem to be able to set the fan speed on my Taichi X370 even though everything is being recognized correctly.

I am currently using a workaround by linking the GPU fans to a sharper CPU temp curve, but....Cry Cry I find that to be rather nasty Dead (and probably unreliable if my cooler did not have such a huge copper body).

Given the setup I am currently using I could see this working for more people using rather dumb (but cheap!!) fan hubs.

Greetz
Oliver
Back to Top
VUMeter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 148
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote VUMeter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 6:32am
Have you changed the fan PWM mode to Manual in SpeedFan advanced settings?
What GPU do you have?  It seems to have no problem reading the core temperature of my GTX 1070, and adjusting CHA-FAN2 speed based off of that sensor output.

SpeedFan cannot read the actual Tdie of the CPU as it can only access the Nuvoton chip at the moment.  This means that what it might call CPU temp is actually T-socket or the temperature sensor on the motherboard - which takes a while to increase with temperature and to cool down again.

If you like, you can PM me and I'll help you setup SpeedFan.
X370 TaiChi | 1700X P3.10 stock clocks | (2x 16GB) 32GB FlareX 2400MHz.
Back to Top
Arogtar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Arogtar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 2018 at 4:30am
Originally posted by VUMeter VUMeter wrote:

Have you changed the fan PWM mode to Manual in SpeedFan advanced settings?
Yes. Sure. 100% did that!

........

Tongue

Well....that's what you get for not using a software for a few years Big smile

Chip recognition order doesn't follow fan order but that's something I can simply cycle through.

So THANKS for reminding me of that option Clap

I still think it would be neat to have it as a feature in AT though.
Since all the other logic doesn't need to be changed for this it would only require to add code for PCIe sensor probing.
Back to Top
Arogtar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Arogtar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 2018 at 6:45am
Originally posted by VUMeter VUMeter wrote:

SpeedFan cannot read the actual Tdie of the CPU as it can only access the Nuvoton chip at the moment.
Meh. Came to the same conclusion here.

Sadly, AT only has an all-or-nothing mode, so you can't use both applications in parallel.
Back to good old BIOS I guess!
Back to Top
VUMeter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 148
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VUMeter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 2018 at 7:23am
Can I ask why are you trying to link the GPU fans with the CPU temp?

For me I have this and it works pretty well:

BIOS/UEFI control CPU fan based on Tctrl.
I have used the options to keep my CPU fan at 30% until the die jumps up and then the CPU fan immediately jumps to 50%.  Annoyingly there is no hysteresis option in BIOS/UEFI for fan speeds, and the constantly ramping up/down of the fan speed is more annoying than having it run faster all the time.
The NH-U14S keeps things really cool anyway.

SpeedFan controls the CHA-FAN2 header to which I have a NF-A14PWM connected.  This is at the front of the case.  I have it set to use GPU temperature and a couple of HDD temps as it's controller for speeds.  Used to push some more air in when the graphics card is being hit harder, and also cools any HDD in hard use.

MSI Afterburner controls the GPU fans.
The GTX 1070 Zotac Mini I have turns it's fan off below 30% duty.  I don't like that, so am using MSI Afterburner to keep GPU fans at minimum 30%.  GPU fans ramp up when the GPU gets hotter - I have configured a nice curve that works for me noise vs. temps.  MSI Afterburner also does a fab job of power and framerate limiting and displaying stats when a game is running.

The Fractal case has a intake and exhaust fan controlled by a 3-way physical switch.  These aren't PWM fans, and I haven't felt the need to change the switch from it's middle position.  Position 1 is no quieter, and I just don't need them running flat out.
X370 TaiChi | 1700X P3.10 stock clocks | (2x 16GB) 32GB FlareX 2400MHz.
Back to Top
Arogtar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Arogtar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 2018 at 8:12am
Originally posted by VUMeter VUMeter wrote:

Can I ask why are you trying to link the GPU fans with the CPU temp?
I'm not. This was just my ridiculous workaround for when SpeedFan wouldn't get triggered due to me forgetting to set the mode to manual.

I could (ab)use it because of the more or less existing correlation of CPU/GPU temp in gaming, resulting in a "close enough" fan management considering how stupid it is to correlate GPU fan and CPU temp to begin with.

Background: I modded my GTX 980 with a RAIJINTEK Morpheus II, without that huge copper block that wouldn't have worked at all. And since all manufacturers are little sh*ts when it comes to providing standardized ports I couldn't connect the Noctua NF-P14s to the GPU's own fan headers (I had the adapters for converting the plug to a GPU header, but MSI said IT we will use proprietary crap).

But since the GPU fan management works now I am set up the same way as you for the rest of the system, because sadly SpeedFan cannot deal with Ryzen.
AT would battle with SpeedFan for control over CHA1 (using an Y cable for the two GPU fans) so I too needed to set everything else in BIOS. Really would have liked for the hysteresis option to be available via SpeedFan, but hey. Lemons and stuff.

PS: Basically using the same setup as you with a 1700x and the Taichi ;)
Really great board.


Edited by Arogtar - 27 Jan 2018 at 8:15am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.