ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - XMP settings
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

XMP settings

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1430
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 2:37am
Originally posted by stree stree wrote:

HaHa....You have me sussed Datonyb!.I know I`m a wuss......but whole OC thing is new to me, only the Ryzen platform being so flexible and amenable to a tweak , whilst at the same time benefiting from faster ram, given me the urge to at least have a go....
I admit, I am sore tempted to keep on pushing, see what it will go to...........
It is cheap ram, but by a few accounts decent enough, Crucial Ballocks, sport 2400, 2 x8Gb and dual, not just 2 sticks, and was £65 last October from Amazon.........Sheeesh.  
Just run it at 2666 a day or so, then maybe another tweak.........


to be honest
now with later bios releases its a lot easier to play with ram than last march-april

check the 2666 is stable ,save it in bios as a profile ,and give the 2933 setting a try

as i said your ram is sitting at quite loose timings , maybe you will need to give the ram a little voltage tickle 1.35-1.375, and test it again if it dosnt play nicely then click the saved profile back on for 2666

i got 2400 cursair ram to 2933 on simple one click a-xmp on a b350 msi and thats been stable for many months now

as i said though its the cold start the next day that may play up
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6275
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 2:55am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

so easily pleased.......................

have ya not tried 2933 yet man !!!!

Wink


Or so says a guy still struggling to hit 4Ghz! Tongue


with my half price ram sitting at 3333 Tongue

4ghz ??  oh yes that the speed you 'core-lacking' chaps have to clock too isnt it LOL


(nice to see your back posting wardog ..........you old dog sir ! )


The money I saved on my half price processor went into memory Shocked Tongue


X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 260
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 3:00am
Ta for that:
I have the voltage at 1.35 now, seems stable enough, saved as profile 1 (of 3)
I thought to try 2800 next, then look at timings.. done a google round on clocking this ram and lots of positives on just playing with the timing, even to point of leaving the speed alone.Reduced latency etc makes up for actual Mhz
Does seem it is noted as a decent overclocking ram though, nothing outrageous, but a decent tweak to be had.
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50 2400G
16GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1709
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 watt power
Realan E-W80 case
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6275
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 3:06am
There are literally terabytes on mem overclocking.

Read, tinker, learn.

And in that process don't hesitate to clear the BIOS vs 9.3hrs of headbanging.

We're here when ya need us.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 260
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 3:28am
You mean CMOS?
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50 2400G
16GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1709
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 watt power
Realan E-W80 case
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6275
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 4:50am
Originally posted by stree stree wrote:

You mean CMOS?


Yes. I personally refer to it as the BIOS. Same thing.


X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 260
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 6:02am
So it is....understood...
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50 2400G
16GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1709
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 watt power
Realan E-W80 case
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 260
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 11:18pm
Quick update.

2933 



Northbridge            AMD Ryzen SOC rev. 00
Southbridge            AMD X370 rev. 51
Graphic Interface        PCI-Express
PCI-E Link Width        x8
PCI-E Max Link Width        x8
Memory Type            DDR4
Memory Size            16 GBytes
Channels            Dual
Memory Frequency        1463.2 MHz (3:44)
CAS# latency (CL)        16.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD)    16
RAS# Precharge (tRP)        16
Cycle Time (tRAS)        39
Bank Cycle Time (tRC)        55
Command Rate (CR)        1T
Uncore Frequency        1463.2 MHz


So see if this keeps stable and if so, ready for the 2400G later this week.
Many thanks chaps.
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50 2400G
16GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1709
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 watt power
Realan E-W80 case
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1430
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 3:36am
remember though you may have to start again with the new cpu

as the memory controller is on the chip

but knowing your ram is half the battle .it may even be a better memory controller on the new 2400g you get
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 260
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 7:49pm
Got that.
Have a lot more confidence after being walked through it by members here
Point of interest  for anyone going for the Raven ridge..seems dual rank gives much better performance than single, dual channel or not........
Unsure of my ram I did some digging...............and found this.
If it is accurate it may come in handy for some.
geizhals.eu/?cat=ramddr3&v=e&hloc=at&hloc=de&hloc=pl&hloc=uk&hloc=eu&fcols=5015&fcols=255&fcols=439&sort=p&bl1_id=30&xf=1126_Crucial~1126_Micron~253_16384~439_dual~5828_DDR4~5830_UDIMM1~5831_DIMM

PS  if link works, mine is 4th down.....

https://imgur.com/gXUgsaS



Edited by stree - 14 Feb 2018 at 8:47pm
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50 2400G
16GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1709
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 watt power
Realan E-W80 case
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.