ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ultra M.2 SSD not detected?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ultra M.2 SSD not detected?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
resonantace View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote resonantace Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ultra M.2 SSD not detected?
    Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 8:04am
I just installed an NVMe SSD into the Ultra M.2 slot of my AB350 Pro 4 and its under the supported list of SSD's, ASX7000NP-512GT-C.  However, it is listed as "not occupied" in Bios, and neither Drive Manager nor EaseUS partition manager can find it to initialize it.  Is there some issue/ SATA port problem I should be checking?

Edit:  It is now warm which leads me to believe it is getting power of some sort?



Edited by resonantace - 01 Feb 2018 at 8:27am
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 12:28am
resonantace, please post all your system specifications as I have in my signature.  I do not know why you talk about SATA, since the SSD is an 4xPCIe 3.0.  The only thought I have now is in some boards the M.2 shares resources with a PCIe slot.  Please make sure you are not running into such a restriction.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
resonantace View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote resonantace Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 1:21am
Yeah, so my manual says that it shares with the PCIe 4 slot, while my graphics card is in the PCIe 2 slot so I wouldn't think that would make a restriction?  I tried installing windows to it, with CSM for Storage set to UEFI-only and all SATA drives unplugged, but it still couldn't find the drive.

ASRock AB350 Pro4, R5 1600, 2TB 7200RPM 6Gb/s HDD, Mushkin Blackline 2x8Gb 2400, Windows 10 x64 Home, Corsair CXM550, GTX 1070 Ti, BIOS 4.40
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 4:43am
I suggest you contact ASRock, resonantace.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 5:02am
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1236&title=how-to-install-windows-on-a-pcie-ssd
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
resonantace View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote resonantace Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2018 at 7:43am
I tried that link and both methods do not work.  I tried CSM off and Storage OpROM Policy to UEFI-only but the drive didn't appear in the Windows install with either options?

ASRock AB350 Pro4, R5 1600, 2TB 7200RPM 6Gb/s HDD, Mushkin Blackline 2x8Gb 2400, Windows 10 x64 Home, Corsair CXM550, GTX 1070 Ti, BIOS 4.40
Back to Top
Accelerator View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Accelerator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2018 at 8:34am
I have an exact same SSD and M/B as in OP and have the exact same issue
Back to Top
resonantace View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote resonantace Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2018 at 1:56pm
What ended up happening was I needed an RMA for the motherboard. IF you ask nicely they can do an advanced RMA so you don't lose any time. I RMA'd both the SSD and the MB and it turned out to be a MB problem. If you don't have an alternative drive or MB to test, I'd suggest choosing one of the two and doing an RAM. If it's the MB, it would be an interesting thing to bring up to ASRock.

ASRock AB350 Pro4, R5 1600, 2TB 7200RPM 6Gb/s HDD, Mushkin Blackline 2x8Gb 2400, Windows 10 x64 Home, Corsair CXM550, GTX 1070 Ti, BIOS 4.40
Back to Top
zkrammes91 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zkrammes91 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2018 at 12:26am
What's an RMA? My m.2 SanDisk SSD isn't showing up on my bios or in drives. Need help. Have aroock Mobo: asrock ab350 pro4 and SSD: SanDisk SD8SN8U-128G-1122 X 400 M.2 SSD 128GB
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 538
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2018 at 3:10am
Originally posted by zkrammes91 zkrammes91 wrote:

What's an RMA? My m.2 SanDisk SSD isn't showing up on my bios or in drives. Need help. Have aroock Mobo: asrock ab350 pro4 and SSD: SanDisk SD8SN8U-128G-1122 X 400 M.2 SSD 128GB

thats because your board doesnt support sata drive in ultra m.2 slot, its nvme only
m2_2 is sata only, so put it there
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.