ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - x399 Taichi RAID issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

x399 Taichi RAID issue

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: x399 Taichi RAID issue
    Posted: 26 Feb 2018 at 6:18am
rocker7617, I am not sure what you tried.  Did you try to set your DVD into RAID mode as VOLUME or did you try to connect your DVD to the ASMEDIA controller?  Data on what disk did you loose?  I think AMD admits that there are some problems with their RAID implementation.  Basically, if one SATA device is RAID, then they all need to be.  Same with NVMe devices.  If you have single devices, then they need to set to VOLUME.  Whether the data is lost, I do not know, so please backup before.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
rocker7617 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rocker7617 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Feb 2018 at 5:39am
I tried your suggestion but no go.  In fact I ended up losing the data from one of the disks after I switched to RAID mode.  Luckily backups helped me to get back the lost data.  I am not sure why AMD/ASrock can't allow RAIDed and NON-RAIDed devices on the same SATA controller.  At least, they should have two separate SATA port groups - one for RAID and another for optical devices like DVD and such.  I am not sure what I am doing wrong with the RAID settings/configs that the board behaves in all-or-none RAID mode.
Taichi x399(P2.00), TR 1900X, Enermax liq 240, G.Skill 16GB F4-3200C16Q-16GRK, EVGA GTX 1050Ti, 1xSamsung 960 EVO 250GB, 2x2TB SATA HDD, 1x500GB SATA HDD, 1xDVDRW, Corsair TX850M, CoolerMaster HAF932
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 4:38am
rocker7617, try using one of connectors SATA3 Connectors (SATA3_A1_A2).  There are two SATA connectors that do not support RAID and I think these are the two.  They use the ASMedia ASM1061 controller.  Please let us hear.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 12:12am
Thanks much, rocker7617.  Please go into RX2 in the UEFI and try to set the DVD into RAID Mode VOLUME.  If that does not work, please open a support ticket with AMD.  You are correct that many will see this if they want to use a SATA RAID.  Please let us know how each step goes.  Thanks and enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
rocker7617 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rocker7617 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 4:39pm
DVD shows up in Windows 10 if I set the SATA mode back to AHCI.  However, I can see the DVD in UEFI in SATA RAID mode as one of the disks available for RAID volume.  So Bios sees the drive but not Windows.

I did some googling on having optical drives on SATA ports in RAID mode.  I found the mobo needs to support optical drives on the RAIDed SATA ports but I can't seem to find any information on X399 Taichi.  I am sure I am not the only one with this situation.  I must admit the DVD drive is about 7 years old but I will buy the latest and greatest if I know exactly what's compatible on x399 Taichi.

 
Taichi x399(P2.00), TR 1900X, Enermax liq 240, G.Skill 16GB F4-3200C16Q-16GRK, EVGA GTX 1050Ti, 1xSamsung 960 EVO 250GB, 2x2TB SATA HDD, 1x500GB SATA HDD, 1xDVDRW, Corsair TX850M, CoolerMaster HAF932
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 12:09am
rocker7617, are you sure your DVD is visible even if your RAID is disabled?  Is it visible in UEFI with the RAID available.  Please make sure your power and SATA cables are secure and try SATA mode at AHCI to make sure the DVD comes back.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2018 at 4:55am
rocker7617, here is the ASUS reference:
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?99520-Zenith-Extreme-Raid-NVME-Raid-SATA&highlight=raid
Here is the image - I think from the RX2, ASUS version:



No guarantee, but almost all the RAID support is from AMD not board vendor.  You may be plowing virgin soil for ASRock.  Please keep us informed.  You can try to make your DVD a VOLUME.  Enjoy, John.



Edited by MisterJ - 12 Feb 2018 at 4:56am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2018 at 12:51am
Thanks, rocker7617.  Your DVD surprises me, but the other SATA drives do not.  I saw a post on the ASUS forum the other day that may help.  I will see if I can find it again.  I'm thinking if you make your other SATA drives RAID type VOLUME they will be OK.  What I do not know is if you will loose your data.  I suspect for safety sake you should backup your drives first.  I will get back with what I learn from the ASUS forum.  Have you tried installing RX2 in W10 and did it help?  I run with CSM set to Disabled.  Under some Reset/Restart condition CSM becomes Enabled and my RAID0 (boot) disappears and my system fails to boot.  Enjoy, John.

EDIT:  No luck on the ASUS forum.  Will try again after lunch.  Does your DVD show in RX2 in UEFI or Windows?


Edited by MisterJ - 12 Feb 2018 at 1:31am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
rocker7617 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rocker7617 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2018 at 12:29am
Thanks MisterJ for the signature suggestion.

Yes I created the RAID 1 using the RaidExpert2 (RX2) in UEFI/BIOS using SATA#1 and #2 ports.  I don't want to boot to the RAID 1 volume.  Those 2TB disks will be used for storage. 

The CSM is set to legacy for all the policies (storage, etc).  In fact, it didn't make any difference if they are all non-legacy.  SATA Mode is set to "RAID mode" and NVMe RAID is "disabled" in UEFI. 

If I configure bootable RAID1, it will be on the M.2 drives which at the moment has only one 250GB NVMe drive.  I am planning to configure the NVMe RAID sometimes later but for now I will boot off the Windows 10 on the Samsung EVO.   

I just simply want the SATA RAID controller use ONLY sata ports #1 and #2 for RAID1 and leave others as NON-RAID ports.  It seems the board converts all the SATA ports to RAID mode when the RAID mode is enabled.  This explains why my DVDRW drive on port #4 disappears when I log into windows.  I must be doing something wrong here for the SATA RAID controller to take over all the ports for RAID.  This wasn't the case on my old X58 Intel board.

I installed the RX2 on Windows but it wont let me login with the admin/admin for userid/pwd.  The submit button is grayed out.  The device manager also has the exclamation overlay on the storage icons which means Windows 10 is lacking the RAID controller driver.  I tried the driver on the disk came with the board and downloaded it from asrock and amd with no success.  Above all, I am disappointed that Asrock and/or AMD chose to install a web server to manage the RAID on Windows - one more attack surface for scumware to exploit.  I will uninstall it and manage RAID in UEFI.

I decided not to run Windows 7 on Threadripper as AMD won't support it.  So I went ahead and upgraded the W7 installations to W10.   




Edited by rocker7617 - 12 Feb 2018 at 12:52am
Taichi x399(P2.00), TR 1900X, Enermax liq 240, G.Skill 16GB F4-3200C16Q-16GRK, EVGA GTX 1050Ti, 1xSamsung 960 EVO 250GB, 2x2TB SATA HDD, 1x500GB SATA HDD, 1xDVDRW, Corsair TX850M, CoolerMaster HAF932
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 12:32am
rocker7617, thanks much for the specifications!  I am  in no way complaining, but if you place them in your signature as I have, they automatically show in all your posts.  I suspect you created a RAID1 using RAIDXpert2 (RX2) in the UEFI/BIOS from your SATA#1 and 2.  If wrong, please correct me.  Have you installed RAID drivers in W10 x64 and if so which ones?  I am also assuming you do not want a boot RAID.  Get RX2 here: http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20X399%20Professional%20Gaming/index.asp#Download
and install it on your W10 x64 (I think the drivers will be installed).  
This may be a problem for you, but W7 is not supported and probably will not work.  W10 x64 version 1703 and higher only are officially supported.  We can talk about W7 but I would expect disappointment for you.  What is the status of CSM, "SATA Mode" and "NVMe RAID" in your UEFI?  From what I see, so far, all will work fine except for W7.  I will provide more details for creating RAIDs after I understand more.  Enjoy, John.

EDIT:  Please DL your Chip Set drivers from here: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download


Edited by MisterJ - 06 Feb 2018 at 2:58am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.