ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asrock Z170M Extreme4 and Patriot Viper 4 3200Mhz
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asrock Z170M Extreme4 and Patriot Viper 4 3200Mhz

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
chrisk2305 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chrisk2305 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Asrock Z170M Extreme4 and Patriot Viper 4 3200Mhz
    Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 12:30am
Hi Guys,

I have a Asrock Z170M Extreme4 Board and a Patriot Viper 4 3200Mhz 2x8GB Dimm Kit. No matter what I try 3200Mhz won't run. PC won't even boot with XMP Profile selected. The furthest I can get is 2400Mhz. I also raised VCSSA to 1.2V, but that didn't help either. I ran memtest86+ for a couple of hours and it passed fine. I am using the latest beta bios (7.21). 7.20 didn't work either. I also set voltage for ram manually to 1.35v. I worked with a lot of Skylake Systems und never had issues running DDR4 at 3200Mhz.

Specs:
Asrock Z170M Extreme4
Intel Core i7 6700k (no oc yet)
2x8GB Patriot Viper 4 3200Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power 10 500W
Samsung SSD 850 Evo 250GB

Running prime95 atm with 2400Mhz and no error so far. What can I do to get those 3200Mhz working? I also tried booting with 2800mhz which didn't work as well.

Thanks in advance!
Chris 
Back to Top
chrisk2305 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chrisk2305 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 2:43pm
up
Back to Top
Archeron View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Feb 2018
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Archeron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Feb 2018 at 10:06am
Hi Chris,

I use the same Board, but with 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz.
XMP Profile: 16-18-18-36, 1.35v
At first i had exactly the same problem, rising voltage on VCSSA didn't work.
Later i activated XMP and manually changed the timings to 16-19-19-36.
Now my system runs stable with RAM at 3200MHz.

Maybe it won't work with Patriot RAM (16-16-16-36), but you could try to set the timings to 16-18-18-36.
Patriot's website has a pdf with the specs for your RAM and they wrote, they tested Viper4 3200 with these timings.

Archeron



Edited by Archeron - 21 Feb 2018 at 10:23am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.