ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350 Raven Ridge BIOS
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350 Raven Ridge BIOS

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>
Author
Message
NedCAD View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NedCAD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2018 at 2:37am
Today I assembled a system with the following ingredients:
  • AM4 CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2400G
  • RAM DDR4: Ballistix Sport LT, 2*8GB 2666 MHz
  • SSD M.2: Samsung 960 EVO MZ-V6E250BW
  • Mobo: ASRock AB350 Gaming-ITX/AC

There is no POST.

Checked everything, cables, exchanged PSU's, nothing. What it does is booting and rebooting every half a minute.

Is this the same problem?

And if yes, I need an A-series APU for AM4 to do a BIOS upgrade, right?

More on http://nedcad.nl/en/bricscad-on-amd-am4-hardware/


Back to Top
Kuggan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Kuggan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2018 at 2:50am
Exactly the same problem here.

I found this information that may be helpful:

To obtain the boot kit, please carefully follow these instructions:

1. Go to the AMD online warranty claims page: https://support.amd.com/en-us/warranty/rma
2. Fill in your full contact and product details
3. In the Problem Description field enter "Boot kit Required" (without quotes)

NOTE: The product must be a valid AMD processor with authentic OPN and serial number.

Once the claim is received and approved, confirmation details and boot kit instructions will be provided in a follow up email.

Back to Top
NedCAD View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NedCAD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2018 at 3:53am
Thanks Kuggan

I've decided to go that way and will wait for a "Boot Kit".

If it takes too long I'll order a start-APU, more later...
Back to Top
nanohead View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nanohead Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 12:54am
I can confirm that you need to do the BIOS update to 4.4 before the board will recognize the new APU.  And even then, its a tad flaky still.  I replaced my 1600 with the 2400G yesterday, and even though I had updated to 4.4 before I installed the 2400G, it still took numerous reboots to get video to appear and to get the system running.

Its running now, but its definitely flakey at the moment.   I saw a release of 4.43 in beta, but the links seem down for the ITX board
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 3:12pm
The BIOS ROM is socketed. If you ask ASRock tech support nicely they might send you one programmed with the P4.40 UEFI BIOS. Well, it worked for me but that was before AMD started offering the boot kit.

P4.40 isn't the definitive BIOS for the 2200G and 2400G though as it has a number of bugs, but it should work well enough to get you going. Some issues I've noticed include:

- Some NVMe devices are not recognised in the M.2 socket. It seems that Toshiba OCZ RD400 is recognised but Samsung 960 EVO is not.

- Storage devices do not show up in Advanced\Storage Configuration.

- CPU temperature is not detected in H/W Monitor. It shows as 127.5C permanently.

- Some voltage offsets don't "stick" in O.C. Tweaker.

Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 265
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 6:30pm
My issues of the moment exactly!
Do AMD acknowledge the issues?
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
NedCAD View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NedCAD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 7:50pm
Oh dear, Samsung EVO 960... too!

I've decided not to wait for AMD after the the supplier of components offered to help. Surprise where I?l end up. Will keep you informed.
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Feb 2018 at 1:20am
Originally posted by stree stree wrote:

Do AMD acknowledge the issues?

I haven't approached AMD but ASRock Europe have reproduced the problem and reported it to Taiwan.

Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Feb 2018 at 1:35am
Originally posted by NedCAD NedCAD wrote:

Oh dear, Samsung EVO 960... too!

Yes, I chose Samsung specifically because it's on the QVL. Ironically, the 250 GB Toshiba NVMe that reportedly works isn't on the list! Confused
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 265
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Feb 2018 at 1:45am
Ah thanks.   Have to be patient then I suppose and wait for a BIOS update that deals with the issues.
Meanwhile I am going to refit the other MB I have, an  AB350 ITX with the 1200 I took out of the x370, get the BIOS up to 4.4 so it is at least past the bridge BIOS, and run the 1200 on that for a while.
 I was hoping to have the X370 with a 2400G and the AB350 as a back up with a 2200G, and I thought ( hoped?) I would be all done and dusted by the end of this month. Ah well.

Much as I  enjoy AMD  and sing their praises, funny how I keep having to dust off and fall back on this old G3258 Intel ITX..........Solid as a rock and just keeps going.
Can`t help but think that  AMD users are the live Beta testing team
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.