ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Cannot boot from USB anymore
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Cannot boot from USB anymore

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
paulneedshelp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulneedshelp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cannot boot from USB anymore
    Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 4:11am
Hey,

today I saw that my windows installation doesn't boot anymore because of a update problem. To solve the problem I tried to boot from an Windows installation USB-Drive but I can't get my PC to boot from it. I have two options in the boot menu a "usb" one and a "uefi" one. I have tried both and each time the PC tried to boot from it but then just booted from my main drive.

Some solutions I have tried:
- Test other USB slots
- Recreated the usb installer with the Windows Media Creation Tool
- Recreated the usb installer with rufus
- MBR for BIOS and UEFI
- GPT for UEFI
- NTFS and FAT32
- Tried anther usb drive
- Disconnect the sata drives from the PC
- Disconnect all usb devices besides Keyboard and Mouse (and installer)
- Reset bios configuration

PC specs:
ASRock Killer SLI x370 BIOS version 3.40
AMD Ryzen 1700x
Corsair Vengeance ddr4 (normal @ 2933, tried also 2133)
Palit GTX 780
NO DVD-DRIVE

Something I have noticed is that the leds of the usb devices (keyboard, mouse, usb-installer) turn off for a short time after the post-screen.

I have tried every possible solution I know and googled alot already. I hope some of you can help me out.
Thanks
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 4:41am
paulneedshelp, have you tried F9 and F10?  Or Clear CMOS?  What USB port(s) are you using? What version of Windows are you using?  What kind of update problem set this all off?  What is the capacity of the USB stick?  Please do some research on BIOS/UEFI versions - lots going on there right now.  Good luck and enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
paulneedshelp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulneedshelp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 4:49am
MisterJ,
I have cleared the cmos with the jumper method.
I have tried the usb ports on the back (only usb 3 ones) and the ports on the case (usb 2 and 3).
I use the latest Windows 10 iso directly from Microsoft.
The last Windows update did this (looks like the MBR is broken).
I have tried a usb3 drive from sandisk with 16gb and a no name usb2 one with 8gb.

Thanks.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Online
Points: 1961
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 4:57am
have you tried to boot into bios and then the usb ?

eg set first boot to usb
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
paulneedshelp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulneedshelp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 4:58am
datonyb, yes I have tried that.

When I try to boot from the installer the windows logo appears than the loading icon spins and than the screen goes black and the cpu fans go to 100%. After that nothing happens


Edited by paulneedshelp - 27 Feb 2018 at 5:06am
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 5:15am
paulneedshelp, I'm also running 248 which is the latest and so are many.  We need to know more about your system.  Please post your specifications as I have in my signature.  Please include power supply.  Have you considered updating your BIOS.  datonyb, can you comment on that?  Enjoy, John.

EDIT: Maybe new BIOS/UEFI is not applicable but I cannot tell what board you are using.


Edited by MisterJ - 27 Feb 2018 at 5:17am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Online
Points: 1961
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 5:57am
try a clear cmos
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
paulneedshelp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulneedshelp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 5:58am
MisterJ,
I have now updated my signature with my specs.
I did update the BIOS to 3.50 and than to 4.50. Now when I boot from the windows installer the windows logo appears and than the loading indicator is spinning but after 1 second the whole system freezes.
The board is a ASRock Killer SLI X370 (not the wifi/ac version).

datonyb, I have cleared the cmos already.


Edited by paulneedshelp - 27 Feb 2018 at 5:59am
ASRock Killer SLI X370 | AMD Ryzen 1700x | Corsair Vengeance LPX | Palit GTX 780 | SanDisk 240gb SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2TB | Thermaltake Berlin 630W | Noctua nh-d15 se-am4
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 6:17am
paulneedshelp, let's get back to basics.  Remove all HW not needed to boot.  Use one stick of memory, video card, no SSDs, no HDDs.  I have trouble with installing from 16 GB USB sticks and suggest using no larger that 8GB.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
paulneedshelp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulneedshelp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 6:29am
MisterJ, I have tried now the 8gb stick and the same thing happend (freezes at the spinning loading indicator). Honestly I don't want to remove one (of two) memory sticks because I would have to remove the entire CPU heatsink. And I don't think thats the problem because it worked already in that configuration.
ASRock Killer SLI X370 | AMD Ryzen 1700x | Corsair Vengeance LPX | Palit GTX 780 | SanDisk 240gb SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2TB | Thermaltake Berlin 630W | Noctua nh-d15 se-am4
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.