ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New AB350 ITX - is it ryzen 2000 ready??
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New AB350 ITX - is it ryzen 2000 ready??

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
Message
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New AB350 ITX - is it ryzen 2000 ready??
    Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 2:11am
Hi!

Just received my AB350 ITX from Amazon. I ordered after asking them if it will be the ryzen 2000 ready Version and they told me it will be...

And you guessed it, there? NO sticker on the package so what?!
Can you find out if it will work with an 2400g APU, maybe by the serial number?! I can? test it because I? waiting for my RAM but I want to know if I have to return it to save time!!

Or can you boot up without RAM and see if the APU works on the Board???

Thanks
Bye
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 2:30am
The BIOS ROM has a sticker with its version number printed on it. It's located to the left of the B350 chip, which has a large red heatsink.

If course, it might have been updated by the vendor and the label not changed.

It won't work without both a processor and RAM.

ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 2:39am
Ok thanks! It says 3.10 so it won? work with my APU... and now?! Damn Amazon!
How can I get this working?!
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 2:58am
Amazon just shift boxes and offer low prices. What do you expect? Strictly speaking all AM4 boards are compatible, you just have to update the BIOS.

You have a few choices:

- Use a Summit Ridge (1000-series) Ryzen or Bristol Ridge APU to update it;

- Return it and buy one from a vendor who cares, preferably with the processor you want to use, and maybe paying a little more for the better service;

- Apply to AMD for a Boot Kit;

- See if ASRock will send you a replacement BIOS chip - it's socketed and it worked for me but I reached out to them the day I received my board, which was before AMD announced the Boot Kit option. In fact, it was the day the Raven Ridge chips launched.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 3:05am
Incidentally, don't use BIOS P4.40 - it's broken in many important places. Update in two stages. P3.60 first. Then L4.43. It's a beta BIOS and you'll find it at the bottom of the download page, but it works well. The only major flaw is that the WiFi card is unusable. It's unusable with P4.40 too. Use cabled Ethernet instead.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 3:18am
Another option - probably not realistic because you paid extra specifically to get a mini ITX board - get one of the high end ATX X370 motherboards that doesn't need a CPU to flash the BIOS.

Sorry it wasn't more realistic. Even borrowing a Ryzen 1x00 from a (very good) friend, or even from one of your own "other projects", is a major nuisance since you've got to dismantle the loan machine, clean off the thermal paste, put the processor and cooler (more thermal paste - don't be tempted to run it for even a second without a cooler!) in your motherboard for about 15 minutes, then dismantle and clean off the paste again before rebuilding the loan machine (more thermal paste) and testing.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 4:36am
The thing is, I asked Amazon and they explicitly said it would be a updated Version. They lied straight to my face...

Does anyone know how long AMD would take to send me a bootkit? The board is currently not available at most of my local dealers and only 2 offered my to upgade the Bios if necessary... one wanted me to pay 40 bucks for the update!!! The otherone was free but they have no boards in stock.

Thanks folks

Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 4:41am
Thenightstalker, have you tried it?  If not, please do.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 4:46am
Try what? The board with the cpu?
Not yet, I? waiting for the RAM to arrive, that? why I asked if I can try it without RAM to see if the CPU is recognized...?!
Back to Top
Gronar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 39
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gronar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 5:03am
What if the sticker on the BIOS chip has had a Sharpie crossing it out?  Think it's been updated?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.