ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AB350 ITX - Flash solution
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AB350 ITX - Flash solution

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
RedRexRotor View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RedRexRotor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AB350 ITX - Flash solution
    Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 12:44pm
Ok, so I think did something dumb and need help.

Got my system put together

Ryzen 3 2200g
ab 350 gaming-itx
16gb Team Dark Pro 14-14-14-31 3200 DDR4
WD Blue 500GB m.2
EVGA 450w 

Got into BIOS, recognized everything except the SSD.
So I downloaded the 3.60 bios (because it said to flash it first before the 4.50)
Then I downloaded the 4.50, saved it all to my flash drive and flashed the bios with the 3.60

After a reboot, the cpu fan spins for a minute, then stops and then repeats.

So, am I right in assuming I just flashed my BIOS to an earlier version that won't recognize the 2200g, and now I need to go get a normal Ryzen and flash it to the proper version?
Back to Top
RedRexRotor View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RedRexRotor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 12:45pm
I did clear cmos, nothing.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 1:38pm
There is the BIOS to the upper right of the chipset cooler with a sticker over it.

What is printed on the sticker? This will be the MB's BIOS it was released with from production.

=======

Are you sure this starting and stopping is not Advance Boot Training occurring? This can stop and restart up to 7 times before booting.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
RedRexRotor View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RedRexRotor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 1:51pm
4.40 is the bios version 
It continually power cycles, past the 10 mark now.

I flashed it back to the 3.60 version when I did my "big red truck" moment earlier.
is there any way to get it back to the old/new version without snagging another apu/ryzen?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 1:54pm
Me thinks you ran yourself over. Ouch
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5197
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 2:19pm
3.6 is the bridge BIOS and does not support Ryzen APUs, you only need it if you are updating from pre 4.xx. Once you are at 4.XX then you no longer need it. 

You will need a supported CPU to flash back up again now. A cheap A series APU (A6 9500) should do the trick if you can buy/borrow one. 

I will ask ASRock to make the instructions clearer.



Edited by Xaltar - 08 Mar 2018 at 2:22pm
Back to Top
RedRexRotor View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RedRexRotor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 2:49pm
Grateful for the confirmation.
And yeah, as soon as I did it I got the Special Olympics Cartman look on my face
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 3:26pm
WTF were you thinking anyways? Tongue
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
RedRexRotor View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RedRexRotor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 3:41pm
Automatically assumed it needed to be flashed to the 3.6 bios before I did anything.
Got the memory finally (after nearly a week delay for no apparent reason) and went forward with updates and upgrades excitedly.
Since it wouldn't recognize the ssd, I went the bios upgrade way first.
I should be able to find an apu tomorrow.
Hopefully. lol

Anyway, thanks guys.

And hello all
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5197
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:52pm
Good luck Wink

As for the M.2 SSD not working, you are not the first I have seen complain of this. I suspect it has something to do with the PCIe lane mapping. Ryzen APUs have less PCIe lanes, if these missing lanes are what feed the M.2 slot it would explain the drive not detecting.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.