ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Killer SLI problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Killer SLI problems

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
0v3rl0rd View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 0v3rl0rd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Killer SLI problems
    Posted: 10 Mar 2018 at 4:36am
Hi 

First of all, here are my specs: 

MBO: ASRock X370 Killer SLI (latest BIOS, P4.60) 
CPU: Ryzen 7 1700 (not X, stock cooler) 
RAM: 2x8 GB (Kingston HX424C12SB2/8) - connected to DDR4_A1 and DDR4_B1 
PSU: Corsair RM750i 
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti Windforce OC (GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD) - connected to PCIE_2 
SSD boot: Samsung 960 EVO 
SSD storage: Samsung 850 EVO - connected to SATA3_1 (I guess it's 1 - upper one) 
OS: Win 10 Pro x64 

Peripherals: 
- one Logitech unifying receiver for mouse and keyboard 
- USB WiFi adapter: TP-LINK TL-WN7200ND 
- external 2.5 USB3.0 HDD, USB 3.0 stick 

To start - I tried different USB port combinations. 

The problems are following: 

1) It "boots" twice - whenever I boot the PC (cold boot) it boots the BIOS twice: it "spins up the fans", then shuts down a few seconds after, and boots up again. I didn't tweak anything in BIOS - it's all stock. I cleared CMOS and all the same. 


2) When browsing folders in Windows Explorer I get random hickups > when opening (random) folder, sometimes I get a few seconds "freeze" - it won't open the folder for 2-5 seconds. It's not the "spin up" because it makes that for HDD (when I tried to connect it to internal sata port), it does it for 850 EVO, and it does it for external HDDs. 


3) When copying files (few files, totaling a few gigabytes) from an internal SATA or external USB drive to any external drive (be it USB HDD or USB stick)... it cuts the WiFi completely - like if I pull out the WiFi dongle. I tried changing USB ports with no success. 


4) When I set up fan curve using ATuning app, and let it running in the background (normally), it randomly changes the fan curve to something totally illogical. For example, let's assume that CHA1 fan is set like following: 
30簞C - 30% fan speed 
40簞C - 50% fan speed 
50簞C - 70% fan speed 

It changes it to: 
30簞C - 90% fan speed 
40簞C - 30% fan speed 
50簞C - 50% fan speed 

It does that at random times, for random fans. 

************************************************** 
That's all - I mean, "all" :/ 

Everything is stock - Windows are freshly installed (not upgraded from W7/W8). 

Any help appreciated. 

Thanks
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2018 at 7:20am
1. Disable "AM4 Advance Boot Training" on the OC Tweaker page and that should make your boot happen once

Hmmmm 2, 3, and 4..........

Oh hell!

RTFM ? Tongue

Place you mem in A2 and B2, remove the CMOS batt and jumper to clear CMOS then rejumper back and replace the batt. Batt goes in writing up!

Boot it and tell me if 2, 3, an 4 of your "issues' resolve themselves with the mem in the correct slots Wink



X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2018 at 9:59am
????
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
0v3rl0rd View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 0v3rl0rd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 6:19am
Sorry for the delay. 

First thanks for pointing out about the RAM location - I built hundreds of system until now and I have always put RAM in A1-B1 slots - I put them in in "2" slots when there was any compatibility with CPU cooler. Anyway, thanks for that one. 

I did what You suggested - I palced the RAM in A2 and B2, removed the battery, cleared CMOS, etc. 

The "only" problem which that solved is the "double boot" - now it boots once finally. 

What I did notice in the meantime - my GPU acts weird. 

Take a look at picture of back of my GPU: 


From left to right - the FIRST HDMI port doesn't work. Other two HDMI ports do work properly. 

When booting - it takes about ~5 seconds to display POST (the option to "wait" in BIOS is set to 1 second only). 

Also, when I enter the BIOS, it is not in FullHD - although the option to display BIOS in FullHD is set to AUTO - options are AUTO and DISABLED. The description in BIOS says something like "res. will be FullHD only if Your monitor supports FullHD resolution". My monitor is FHD but BIOS is displayed in low res. Maybe that can point to something, idk. 
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 7:05am
Did you check that Windows is installed in EFI Mode?

The AMD chipset drivers got installed, right?
Latest at https://support.amd.com/en-us/download bottom ofpage

Disconnect all the external usb'cept the Unifying reciever and reply how long boot takes. Remember, anything connect must be enumerated fisrt while booting, so   ...........


...


Edited by wardog - 13 Mar 2018 at 7:09am
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 7:08am
Dang, forgot. BIOSes

That 1050ti has an F3 vBIOS you may want to consider also. ie:Samsung GDDR5 issue.

First though, up the MB to BETA 4.61 and reply back.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
piglett View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Feb 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote piglett Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 6:34pm
BIOS 4.61 in not on the download page. Maybe it was pulled from the server.
Where could we get it from?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 6:49pm
Originally posted by piglett piglett wrote:

BIOS 4.61 in not on the download page. Maybe it was pulled from the server.
Where could we get it from?


Ahhhh Hell.

Till I get it fixed, here ya go.

BETA L4.61 for X370 Killer SLI
X370 Killer SLI(L4.61)ROM.zip
http://www69.zippyshare.com/v/xMcar8q0/file.html
 


Edited by wardog - 13 Mar 2018 at 6:51pm
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2018 at 2:56pm
????
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2018 at 2:58pm
BTW, BETA 4.61 is back online for dl.

piglett, Thanks for pointing that out.



X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.