ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Task manager reporting wrong CPU speed. Killer SLI
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Task manager reporting wrong CPU speed. Killer SLI

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
krj7709 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote krj7709 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Task manager reporting wrong CPU speed. Killer SLI
    Posted: 11 Mar 2018 at 5:25am
Looking for a fix. Windows task manager is reporting the wrong CPU speed.

I see a lot of people with the same problem and no one seems to know whats up. I want to say that it is a bug with Windows running in UEFI bios mode. I came to this conclusion because I never had this problem until today when I reinstalled Windows in UEFI bios mode. I also noticed that the other people complaining about this problem were either running Windows 8 and up.

So I don't know if it is a Windows problem itself or if I have to disable something in the bios? Anyone else have this issue? 

My specs....

Windows 10 Pro 1709 (Build 16299.248) operating on a X370 Killer SLI/ac (BIOS 4.50) running an AMD Ryzen 7 1700 with Corsair Ven. LPX 2666 (2x 8GB)
X370 Killer SLI/ac - Ryzen 7 1700 - Corsair Veng. LPX 2666 (2x8) - 4x 120GB SSD AMD RAID0
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2018 at 6:54am
krj7709, please post screenshots of CPU-Z and the erroneous Task Manager numbers.  Remember that these processors have Cool-n-Quiet which vary the CPU clock.  You may be able to disable that in your BIOS/UEFI.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
krj7709 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote krj7709 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2018 at 11:16am
I know that the cpu is suposed to throttle. It didn't do this until I reinstalled Windows in UEFI mode.






Edited by krj7709 - 11 Mar 2018 at 11:23am
X370 Killer SLI/ac - Ryzen 7 1700 - Corsair Veng. LPX 2666 (2x8) - 4x 120GB SSD AMD RAID0
Back to Top
chubalz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chubalz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2018 at 2:31pm
I know the cause of this its 4.50 Bios.
I have same problems as yours windows previously reporting wrong clockspeed of CPU but BIOS, HWmonitor or CPUZ reporting correct information.

The fix is update it to 4.60.
Ryzen 5 1600 3.80ghz @1.3375v
Asrock X370 Gaming X 5.20 Bios
CM MA610P
Aorus Xtreme Gtx1080ti
Gskill Trident Z RGB F4-300016D-16GTZR @2800mhz
SamsungEvo 250
2Tb Firecuda
1Tb WDBlack
Corsair RM650X
Back to Top
JohnM View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2018 at 5:01am
If this is fixed by updating the BIOS then it must mean that Windows Task Manager is taking its reading from somewhere different from what CPU-Z is measuring. Then again, what is Task Manager actually showing? CPU-Z is monitoring core 0 in that screen grab. HWMonitor is showing all the cores. But it's not at all clear what Task Manager is trying to show, though it's definitely wrong.
ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX P4.90, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 2x8GB Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2666C16, 250GB Samsung 960EVO, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 4TB WD Blue, Windows 10 Pro 64, Corsair SF450, Cooler Master Elite 110
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2018 at 10:40am
Windows reporting!

I see the same here. Windows is not "Real Time"
Back to Top
krj7709 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote krj7709 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2018 at 8:59pm
I don't think any of them are quite "real-time" and don't know if there is one that is truly real-time?

-

I want to say but am not 100% certain. When I first got the Ryzen hardware, before updating the BIOS, it was in-sync. I of course updated bios and installed cpu-z and hw-mon and oc'd. I just happen to notice the out-of-sync clock later.

Right now I'm running on the base clock and its still out of whack but I'm experiencing some other odd issues that have set the mis-match on the back burner. The main issue is random lag. Another issue is wireless keyboard/mouse cutting in/out with a usb stick plugged in the usb slot next to receiver. But thats all for a later thread/topic.
X370 Killer SLI/ac - Ryzen 7 1700 - Corsair Veng. LPX 2666 (2x8) - 4x 120GB SSD AMD RAID0
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 543
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2018 at 11:20pm
what is your timer resolution at? (like when u set it to 1.0 if it stays at 1.0 or shows less/more)
anyway if your windows time (clock) isnt affected, then u have no issues, and its just windows bug due to power saving stuffs
if your time is incorrect, then u may have performance issues
also hpet is enabled rite?
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
chubalz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chubalz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 2:27am
@krj7709, what is your BIOS version?

Because the latest BIOS fix my windows incorrect CPU speed information.

Ryzen 5 1600 3.80ghz @1.3375v
Asrock X370 Gaming X 5.20 Bios
CM MA610P
Aorus Xtreme Gtx1080ti
Gskill Trident Z RGB F4-300016D-16GTZR @2800mhz
SamsungEvo 250
2Tb Firecuda
1Tb WDBlack
Corsair RM650X
Back to Top
krj7709 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote krj7709 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2018 at 3:51am
It was doing it with 4.50, 4.60 and L4.61. 

It is something with one of the later Windows updates. I installed Windows 10 LTSB and the issue goes away. So... I'll run My Windows 10 Pro and deal with the clock not reporting correctly.
X370 Killer SLI/ac - Ryzen 7 1700 - Corsair Veng. LPX 2666 (2x8) - 4x 120GB SSD AMD RAID0
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.