ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - A320-HDV Build not going to POST or BIOS
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A320-HDV Build not going to POST or BIOS

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
DaegonShadow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DaegonShadow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A320-HDV Build not going to POST or BIOS
    Posted: 12 Mar 2018 at 6:01am
First the build:

The Motherboard:
 - ASRock A320M-HDV AM4 AMD Promontory A320 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

The RAM: (which matches the approved list down to the model number)
 - G.SKILL FORTIS Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200) AMD X370 / B350 / A320 Desktop Memory Model F4-2400C16D-16GFT

The CPU: (the specs match the mobo CPU list, the model number does not)
 - AMD A8-9600 Bristol Ridge Quad-Core 3.1 GHz Socket AM4 65W AD9600AGABBOX Desktop Processor Radeon R7

The Issue:
 When the computer is turned on, I DO get video.  The computer goes to a black screen with the ASRock name/logo in the center of the screen and options in the lower right hand corner.  When I press the F@ or DEL key to go to the UEFI Setup (aka the bios) I get a single beep from the chassis 
speaker and then nothing else happens.  See link below:

https://scontent-atl3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/29066839_2073235149359180_2526708176242343936_o.jpg?oh=e6ad8897bfe3360c419f0c7e8825a686&oe=5B485446

Regardless of which option I choose or what I do, nothing happens and the computer sits at the above screen.  Please can anyone advise me???


Edited by DaegonShadow - 12 Mar 2018 at 6:02am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2018 at 10:31am
Don't sweat the model number. ASRock uses the OEM, whereas you're looking at the Boxed P/N.

Without you hitting a key to enter the BIOS, will it proceed past the BIOS?

Err.....guess I better ask if this is a new build or one that just began acting like it is?
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
DaegonShadow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DaegonShadow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2018 at 8:42pm
I should have mentioned this is a brand new build.  All parts purchased new through Newegg.  I have connected my Win10 boot USB and a wiped HDD with no results.  I initially wanted to enter the BIOS to ensure that the system would boot from USB first.  I suppose I could try a Win10 boot CD instead. 
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 12:27am
And the bootable stick is inserted at the rear IO ports, in a USB 2.0 jack beside the Multi PS/2 port.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
DaegonShadow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DaegonShadow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 2:14am
That is correct.  
Back to Top
Mike_B View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike_B Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2018 at 10:54am
I am experiencing the exact same issue.  I have the following (all purchased from Newegg):
M/B = ASRock A320M-HDV
CPU = AMD A8-9600 Bristol Ridge Quad-Core 3.1 GHz Socket AM4.
RAM = GeIL Pristine 4GB 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2133 (PC4 17000)

I am unable to get past the start up screen or enter bios as well.  The RAM and CPU appear to be on the ASRock's approved list.  I am going to try to call ASRock support tomorrow. 


Edited by Mike_B - 14 Mar 2018 at 11:15am
Back to Top
DaegonShadow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DaegonShadow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 3:43am
I submitted a contact request to ASRock technical support and received back an email with the below information.  My issue seems to bed the 1 beep with video but no further access which is, according to ASRock, bad memory chips on the motherboard.  Also according to ASRock I will have to replace the motherboard since those memory chips are soldered to the mother board.

Personally, I am setting up an RMA with Newegg to refund/return the items and I will purchase new motherboards that aren't ASROck for this particular build. 


The below is cut/paste from the email I received from the ASRock technical support, minus images:

Hi,

 

Try to find out if the mainboard will give you any beep code. Try to test the mainboard outside of the computer case. Remove all the devices that connect it on the mainboard. Only device need to connect on the mainboard is the Processor and Processor cooling fan, and make sure all the power connector are fully plug in 12V rail connector (4pin or 8pin),

And 4/8 Pin CPU 12V rail connector is also connect on mainboard as well. 

1.Please use this connector on the motherboard. (2 black and 2 yellow wires)
 4+4 Pin +12 Volt Connector
 and 24(20)pin ATX power connector.

.This is 20+4 pin connector; please connect the 24-pin connector to the motherboard. 

 If you do hear the beep code like 1 long beep and follow by 3 short beep. Please insert 1 single memory module, and go ahead insert the video card to the PCI-E slot. Below is the troubleshooting guide, or check the following link for further help.

 

 

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-boot-video-problems

 

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/other/144

 

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/build-your-own-pc,2601.html

 

1 Short Beep

One beep is good! Everything is ok, that is if you see things on the screen. If you don't see anything, check your monitor and video card first. Is everything connected? If they seem fine, your motherboard has some bad chips on it. First reset the SIMM's and reboot. If it does the same thing, one of the memory chips on the motherboard are bad, and you most likely need to get another motherboard since these chips are soldered on. 

1 Long, 3 Short Beeps

You've probably just added memory to the motherboard since this is a conventional or extended memory failure. Generally this is caused by a memory chip that is not seated properly. Reseat the memory chips.

1 Long, (5) Short Beeps

Display / retrace test failed. Reseat the video card.

 

Dear ASRock Costumer,

 

Please follow the next steps in order to troubleshoot your main board.

TO CLEAR BIOS

First: disconnect the two power supplies sources from the main board. (24 Pins /20Pins and 8Pins/4Pins) cables.

Pull the Battery out from its battery Socket.

Second short the Jumper CLRMOS located closed to the Battery and set for from position 1~2 to 2~3 to  clear  the Cmos  for about 10 seconds.

Finally reverse all steps above.

Turn your PC on and when screen Display appear Press the key F2 to Access to CMOS setup and then press the key F9 to load Optimal Defaults.

Finally press the key F10 to save and exit.

 

After your clear CMOS and still does not respond do the next steps:

 

TO TROUBLESHOOT MAINBOARD 

In order to troubleshoot your mainboard disconnected all cables and work only with the cables recommended below.

Removed your mainboard from your Computer case (if your mainboard is installed in the case)

Make sure the mainboard is lay down in a clean flat surface and use the protection the comes with your mainboard to avoid any electrical short underside the circuit board.   

Please connect only the cables requested below (do not connect IDEs, Floppy ect.)

The only parts for your Mainboard it needs to be install is the CPU & CPU's fan

Connect the 2-power connector (24(20) pins and 8(4) pins) from Power Supply  

Connect the Speaker from your computer case (Diagnostic beep code by speaker). No sound speakers



 

Connect the Power Switch from your Computer case into Panel 1 Pushbutton.

Take your RAM out of your Mainboard as well as video card.

Then turn your mainboard on and you should heard 3 beeps (if you heard them please turn it off)

Install your RAM and turn your mainboard on you should heard 8 beeps (if you heard them turn it off)

Install your video card and turn your mainboard on and you should heard 1 beep (you should have screen display in your monitor)

If all steps above passed please put your mainboard inside the case.

Every single time you added a cable from IDE or CD room please turn your PC off and try, if for some reason fail disconnect the last device you install and go one step back to trouble shoot by steps.  

IDE & OPTICAL CONNECTED

For best compatibility and stability, please make sure your stand alone hard drive on primary IDE has jumper setting to master, and your stand alone optical device on secondary IDE has jumper setting to master, too. Also if you only have one hard drive without any other optical device, please connect the hard drive to primary IDE with its jumper setting to master. Furthermore, for optimizing the transfer rate for the hard drive, we recommend you to connect your hard drive(s) to the primary IDE channel and optical device(s) to the secondary IDE channel .

After you finished loading your OS to HDD you can connect all IDEs Devices.


Edited by DaegonShadow - 15 Mar 2018 at 3:49am
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 542
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 4:45am
nice story, but its kinda long (id did read just that yellow part then got bored ;o :-)
ami manuals for Aptio V says that 1 beep during PXE (old bios used POST name) is invalid password
as it is new build it sounds strange rite?
try to clear cmos with battery out
see if that helps
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
girumen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Apr 2018
Location: italy
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote girumen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 2018 at 5:08pm
Hello,
i have the same problem.
New build with:
MOBO: AsRock A320M-HDV
APU: AMD A8 9600
RAM:

Crucial CT4G4DFS824A


Pushing power up button everything turns on, like fans ad CD reader. After a few seconds the screen turns on and show AsRock logo with F6-F11-DEL comand menu, but nothing happens clicking on keyboard. I have tried different monitors, keyboards, mouses, disconnecting everything from motherboard (with only speaker ad power button, CPU and RAM) and everything written in this post. I only have one beep on startup, the screen shows logo and nothing changes every time.

Is my mobo defective? I have read on other forums that a guy with the same problem has fuond that the APU was defective, and not the motherboard. Any suggestion?


Thanks a lot,
Ivan


Back to Top
DaegonShadow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DaegonShadow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 8:38pm
I finally returned mine and got a new mobo from a different manufacturer.

GIGABYTE AB350M-DS3H AM4 AMD X370 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard from Newegg.com

It works perfectly.


Edited by DaegonShadow - 30 Apr 2018 at 8:41pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.