ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Purpose of "Bridge Bios" - OffBoard flashing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Purpose of "Bridge Bios" - OffBoard flashing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
willyvmm View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote willyvmm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Purpose of "Bridge Bios" - OffBoard flashing
    Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 3:02pm
Hi.

Yesterday i got Ryzen 5 2400G + Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac.

Unfortunately there is 3.10 Bios onBoard
But,
Fortunately, BIOS chip is socketed (Like it!), and i can program it offBoard.

I'am wondering what is purpose of the "Bridge Bios" ?
Do i have to go through it, even if flashing offBoard ??
Is there special image for flashing offBoard, or just use the provided files?


Best Regards
Willy.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6280
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 5:15pm
Yes. Of course the 3.60 Bridge BIOS would need flashed prior/in process.

Use whatever your programmer natively uses. If that statement confuses you I'd highly suggest you contact ASRock for a pre-programmed BIOS replacement. https://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp

 
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 4.80), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
willyvmm View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote willyvmm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 8:03pm
Ok...

I guess you don't know how offboard flashing is working.

In short: Whole flash is erased, and programmed with new data.


So why should I flash 3.60 and right after that erase it and flash another version?

:)

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6280
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 8:06pm
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 4.80), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6280
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 8:30pm
Originally posted by willyvmm willyvmm wrote:

Ok...

I guess you don't know how offboard flashing is working.


Not the $15.00 whirlybird USB gizmos. I read they work.

I have a 4 gang model back from when I owned my own Computer shop Thumbs Up
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 4.80), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
willyvmm View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote willyvmm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 8:47pm
Ehhh... Seems at I have to find it out by myself.

FYI I own a professional programmer from when I owned my own Computer serwice ;>
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 265
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 10:00pm
So why not ask your progger  tech line rather than a bunch of end users?
Or just get an older gen APU to flash with or a boot kit  like everyone else?
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 490
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 11:30pm
id suspect when u flash bios it doesnt rewrite all bios parts, as there still seems to be keeping some garbage from previous bioses
bridge bios should help u eliminate that garbage so u wont brick it
sinc u gonna flash it from offboard, u can fully rewrite it without bridge bios
even if u happen to brick it, u can still rewrite it later :P
Asrock x370 Fatal1ty Gaming X Bios 4.80,
Ryzen5 1600x @ 4.1GHz 1.375v,
G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR @ 3333MHz (14-14-14-34-48),
Arctic Liquid Freezer 240,
Palit GTX1060 3GB,
Samsung 970evo
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 11:37pm
willyvmm, this looks like fun - my 2 cents.  If your programmer erases the ROM, then why would it be necessary to burn the bridge code when it will just get erased.  If it is really needed, you would need to burn the bridge code, plug the ROM into the board and boot (modify some setting in board???).  Then burn the real code.  I would suggest you do it the easiest way and then do it again if necessary.  Since this is a user forum, you really need to go to ASRock to get the answer, but that may take some time.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
willyvmm View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote willyvmm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2018 at 11:51pm
Originally posted by stree stree wrote:

So why not ask your progger  tech line rather than a bunch of end users?
What are you talking about ??
Could you please read the Topic and the Main question on the 1'st post?

If you are so lazy I'll help you:
Originally posted by willyvmm willyvmm wrote:

I'am wondering what is purpose of the "Bridge Bios" ?
Do i have to go through it, even if flashing offBoard ??
Is there special image for flashing offBoard, or just use the provided files?

Originally posted by stree stree wrote:


Or just get an older gen APU to flash with or a boot kit  like everyone else?

So, let me explain you why:

ASROCK did a great step socketing the BIOS flash rom chip.
Especially when it's not possible to flash the chip without working RAM+CPU/APU. 

Obtaining a new chip from ASROCK, takes minimum a week. (they still didn't answered my questions, but it may be because of time difference)
Obtaining a "boot kit" from AMD, takes minimum a week and you have to proof you have tried  to contact support etc.
Obtaining a older gen APU, if you dont have one on the shelf - takes time, and sometimes money (i already paid for new hardware - isn't?)

but ... 
using socketed flash rom, You can ask ANY GOOD computer shop and ANY SERVICE to program it for you. 
It shouldn't take more than 5 minutes, and even if you have pay for that, is cheap and fast. 
In my case i can do that by myself ... and there is only ONE thing that is mysterious: should i go through THE BRIDGE BIOS? Really? Why?

I have no idea why the official guide don't use the advantage of socketed bios chip?

@kerberos_20: So how it is possible at ASROCK can send you a preflashed chip, even if you have go through the bridge bios? 

@MisterJ: Of course, I'll  do that for fun :) and report results here.

Regards Willy.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.