ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - G31M-GS R2.0: where are the STANDARD CMOS settings
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

G31M-GS R2.0: where are the STANDARD CMOS settings

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
arjaydavis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote arjaydavis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: G31M-GS R2.0: where are the STANDARD CMOS settings
    Posted: 14 Sep 2015 at 10:33pm
I need to be able to adjust the BIOS settings for using my PC with this KVM:
http://www.startech.com/uk/Server-Management/KVM-Switches/4-Port-StarView-DVI-USB-KVM-Switch-With-Audio~SV431DVIUAGB

"In STANDARD CMOS, set HALT ON ERROR to ALL BUT KEYBOARD"

At the moment the PC 'hangs' in boot-up. But if I power cycle the machine a few times, it eventually gets past this and boots into Windows.

So, where can I set "In STANDARD CMOS, set HALT ON ERROR to ALL BUT KEYBOARD" on the G31M-GS R2.0: where are the STANDARD CMOS settings ?
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2015 at 1:26am
There's no such BIOS setting in your board's BIOS. I can't think of any mother board I've used that has a BIOS setting like that.

That option would affect the POST process, and is telling POST to halt on all errors except a keyboard (missing) error.

A true server type board's BIOS could have an option like that. A server system without an input device would need this option to allow POST to complete. Or apparently when a KVM switch does not act like a standard keyboard during POST.

StarTech is dreaming if they think all BIOS have that type of option, sorry to say.

Can you manually switch this KVM to the PC with this board before you start the PC?


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.