ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 2xxx AGESA Code Potential Issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 2xxx AGESA Code Potential Issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
drkCrix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote drkCrix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 10:31pm
I had a similar issue with games from Wargaming (World of Tanks and Warships)

As soon as I tried to change the multiplier at all, I would have issues with both games.  

The only way I could continue to use my overclock with those games was to set the CPU overclocking to auto and use the Ryzen Master application.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 1:29am
Originally posted by drkCrix drkCrix wrote:

I had a similar issue with games from Wargaming (World of Tanks and Warships)

As soon as I tried to change the multiplier at all, I would have issues with both games.  

The only way I could continue to use my overclock with those games was to set the CPU overclocking to auto and use the Ryzen Master application.


can i ask why you dont revert back to bios version 3.1 or 3.2 then

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
drkCrix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Apr 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drkCrix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 2:47am
I wasn't aware that we could roll back to 3.3 or 3.31 due to the AGESA changes, and by the time i figured it out I had already decided that I would be getting a 2700x so I felt that I would live with the annoyances until my CPU is delivered.

Cheers,

Chris
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 4:31am
ok no probs mate
sorry if i sounded brisk ,wasnt meant to sound like that ,i just wondered i too play WOT and couldnt stand my pc mucking around over that ,just want to come home smash a few games out and get my ass to bed

let us know what you think of the 2700x

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
TooQik View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooQik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 8:39am
Originally posted by drkCrix drkCrix wrote:

I wasn't aware that we could roll back to 3.3 or 3.31 due to the AGESA changes, and by the time i figured it out I had already decided that I would be getting a 2700x so I felt that I would live with the annoyances until my CPU is delivered.

Cheers,

Chris


Keen to hear how the 2700x goes with the same BIOS and whether the problem still exists. Please let us know.
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 61
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 12:42pm
I think a lot of these issues are being blown out of proportion.
Performance increases have reached a ceiling via BIOS uodates, so if things are working as they should why is everyone so fixated on updating their BIOS?
Only update BIOS if there's a feature or fix that applies to your usecase.
Both my Ryzen platforms are functioning well on earlier BIOS.
The person who said they're going to deal with the issues until their new CPU is delivered is going to "find issues" with that setup as well BC the new CPUs are limited on the X370 chipset.
I'm pleased with the pre-bridge BIOS releases, there won't be any substantial benefits to upgrading to a newer BIOS on the X370 platform other than possible improved memory support.
I'm talking compatibility, not overclocking.
Like I said above I think we've reached the ceiling for this platform, and there's nothing wrong with that, just enjoy your hardware ???forumCodes=True
Back to Top
cristy6100 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Mar 2018
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 251
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cristy6100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 4:30pm
Nothing is limited on X370 for Ryzen 2xxx, some boards with A320/B350 will have XFR2.0 disabled maybe lower XFR range depending on the manufacturer, but ASRock has unlocked all features for Ryzen 2xxx with all X370 boards and latest UEFI, and that isn't even a offcial UEFI for 2xxx

If people are expecting something to change from X370 to X470 they will be deeply disapointed its the same chipset just rebranded, all changes are in the UEFI between X370 and X470 (but ASRock will use exactly the same UEFI for X370 and X470), its made on a smaller fab node that should decrease power consumption and thats it, no other changes, so the performance will be exactly the same between X370 and X470

Ryzen 1xxx indeed has reached its full potential, but the 2xxx series including Raven Ridge has a long way to go


Edited by cristy6100 - 17 Apr 2018 at 4:41pm
Main Rig: AMD Ryzen 2400G | ASRock Fatality X370 ITX/ac BIOS 4.60 | Corsair LPX DDR4 2400@3200 1.35V | Corsair RM650i PSU | CM ML120L AiO Cooler
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 61
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2018 at 4:25pm
"XFR 2.0 Enhanced" will not be enabled on X370 boards.
So for those not overclocking this will be a hindrance.
Back to Top
cristy6100 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Mar 2018
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 251
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cristy6100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2018 at 5:01pm
I can enable XFR2.0 on my X370 ITX/ac with my Ryzen 2400G, there I can also set the CPU Current Limits and GPU overclock settings
Anyhow, if ASRock won't remove these settings with the next UEFI update, there is no difference between X370 and X470 on ASRock boards, but you are right, most manufacturers have locked settings in UEFI for B350 and even X370, ASRock did not lock or hide any settings.
I know for a fact that Asus removed/renamed the XFR2.0 setting in the latest UEFI for the Crosshair VI...


Edited by cristy6100 - 18 Apr 2018 at 5:17pm
Main Rig: AMD Ryzen 2400G | ASRock Fatality X370 ITX/ac BIOS 4.60 | Corsair LPX DDR4 2400@3200 1.35V | Corsair RM650i PSU | CM ML120L AiO Cooler
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2018 at 6:18pm
cristy.
Have you tried the XFR2 setting? I assume it is just enable/disable. and the GPU setting? I was under the impression that the 2400 was pretty bad at overclocking in general for the GPU, and the 2200 vvega 8  was much better
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50 2400G
16GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1709
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 watt power
Realan E-W80 case
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.