ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AsRock Extreme4/K6 Z370 - Vcore BUG !! VRM 130*C?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AsRock Extreme4/K6 Z370 - Vcore BUG !! VRM 130*C?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Minciu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Minciu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AsRock Extreme4/K6 Z370 - Vcore BUG !! VRM 130*C?
    Posted: 10 Apr 2018 at 3:20pm
Hello.

I change MSI SLI PLUS Z370 to Extrem4, and i see many problems down here.

I have BIOS 1.8 Last One on webside.


1. DDR IS/SA - BUG - allredy know this topis
2. Corsair LPX 2x8GB 3600MHz CL18 B-Die - one chip dont start, ok i can buy new one.. But im not happy from that.
3. No Adaptive Vcore CPU- ok i can fight with offset. 

4. And at last VCORE! And Watage Consumption! 8700K for start, using Prime95 V29.4 Small FTT


Extreme4 - STOCK! 8700K 1,184V 4300MHz = 180-190WAT! IT IS INSANE!! This CPU have only 95W TDP!

MSI SLI PLUS      - 8700K 1,32V 4700MHz = 180Wat
Asrock Extreme4 - 8700K 1.20V 4700MHz = 220-230Wat!

Watage was readed from HwInfo and CoreTemp.

Also i check Watage on  in wall. 
Wattmeter show 100Wat in  IDLE -> and grow up to 280Wat Prime95. (8700K 1.20V 4700MHz)

So its is growing up by 180Wats. In programs i have 15-20wats on CPU and 220-230wats in Prime95
So programs dont show ideal Wats, but it is quiet OK

And again lets back to my CPU. My 8700K wasnt stable even with 1,32V @4700Mhz. On Extreme4 its OK witch 1,20V. I still didnt check how low i can go with Vcore, but for now it is minimum -0,12V.



PLS TELL ME, what is going on here ?? 
This is my last AsRock Motherboard? Im statring this Topic on most popular Forum in Poland - PcLab.pl.
So U can trust my, im not only one, who will know all that BUGs. 



https://imgur.com/a/FiE8c



Edited by Minciu - 11 Apr 2018 at 3:27am
Back to Top
Minciu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Minciu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2018 at 3:26am
Same problem discovered Here, so it is not only Extreme4 BUG ??

HWINFO, Desktop, VRM 15:08
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5ZY-paP_2A&feature=em-comments


Asrock z370 Gaming K6 Temp VRM 130 簞C in 13 min [Prime95 v29.3] CPU package power up to 260 watts in Prime95.

Config:
CPU:i7-8700k [4700mhz 1,26v] 
MB: Asrock Fatality z370 Gaming K6
Back to Top
badbri View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 415
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote badbri Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2018 at 9:08am
You are confusing TDP (Thermal Design Power) with Power Consumption. TDP is the equilvalant in watts of heat produced when running "real world applications" by the cpu. The electrical wattage a cpu can consume can easily be 1.5 times the TDP or much more if overclocked or running a cpu virus like Prime95. My old i7-3770 has a TDP of 77w but would consume near 200 watts when encoding videos.
Note: Prime95 is not a real world application, it serves no purpose but to ultra stress a cpu, it provides no real world production or entertainment output, hence a cpu virus imho

If the VRM is getting very hot it is likely due to poor airflow over the VRM heatsinks. This is common with improperly configured case fans, made worse with watercooling where there is no cpu fan to blow down across the board or those who want "silent" fans that do not move enough air to keep the motherboard cool under heavy load.





Edited by badbri - 11 Apr 2018 at 9:17am
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=99573335296
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2018 at 10:47am
Minciu. please, as is proper when asking for help, list out the hardware that your system is comprised of.

Note too, The IC that responds with temps and voltages does not like to be accessed by more than one software program at a time. This can and does many times result in incorrect readings.

Please reboot, and using ONLY one software, check what is shown. A pic would be nice.


Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Minciu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Minciu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2018 at 3:26pm
My PC spec is:


Intel i7-8700K 
AsRock Extrem4 Z370 Bios P1.8
EVGA Black GTX 1080TI
G.Skill Trident Z DDR4, 2x8GB, 3600MHz, CL15 (F4-3600C15D-16GTZ) B-Die
Corsair RMX White 850W
SSD NVMe PCIe M.2 SK Hynix PC300 512GB (2D MLC) + Radiator
RAID NVMe PCIe M.2 SK Hynix PC400 512GB (3D MLC) x2 + EK Radiator
Seagate Barracuda 1TB (ST1000DM003)
SSD Kingston v300 120GB 
SSD Crucial MX300 275GB
Corsair Crystal 570X White + 6x Silent Wings 3
Acer XB270HA G-Sync 144Hz
Zowie ZA12 WHITE Special Edition 
Somic V2

Custom LC - EK EVO / EK GTX / DPC450 / ST30 240+360/
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2018 at 2:07am
So you're VRMs are hot enough to burn. I'll bet they are.

You built up a WC and neglected to put a fan over the VRM section of the board.

What happens to electrons as they pass through overheated circuits? They req more power to push them.


Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Minciu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Minciu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2018 at 3:05am
Yeap, I need AirFlow on VRM even on Stock 8700K with Extreme4? So why this CPU can go fine with mouch cheaper and poor motherbords? :)  

I will fight some with Vcore Adaptive/Fixed/LLC, mayby i will find solution. 

But i think it can by broken by one BIOS for 2 revision of this MB. 
Back to Top
Nippa_ View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nippa_ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 3:07pm
I got 215w powerdraw with default voltage settings(1,25-1,4v).  
1,23v is stable with fixed mode, but it still draw almost 200w. 
90C with coolink corator DS+noctua 140mm and VMR temps goes over 100C with decent air flow.

Didn't update bios yet so its 1.30. 

edit. same components as op -> 8700K(stock) & extreme 4





Edited by Nippa_ - 15 Apr 2018 at 3:34pm
Back to Top
Minciu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Minciu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 6:22pm
I think I will return to the store my AsRock Extreme4 and never go back to this company again. 

I will have 100% refund, but i need do this in this week. 



Today I tried to fight with Voltage, LLC and Fixed vs Offset (No adaptive mode?)

On Fixed Voltage and LLC1 it looks almost OK. But i still have to put lower voltage to not burn VRM.

On offset voltage i have mexico city :D
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 9:31pm
Originally posted by Minciu Minciu wrote:

Yeap, I need AirFlow on VRM even on Stock 8700K with Extreme4?


Yes, you do when using water cooling.

It is obvious.

VRM's do not normally get scalding hot.

Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.