ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Will ASRock EVER fix this???
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Will ASRock EVER fix this???

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2018 at 5:25pm
Thank you guys! I?l check your advices later and also set my profile up to date.
I hope I can find all the settings you mentioned. The Values are decimals I guess, so I will convert them ofc. Trfc is also HEX??? I? not on my PC so I can? check this out.

Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2096
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2018 at 7:02pm
all settings i suggested are not in HEX my bios dosnt need to convert to hex thankfully, unless im setting p states
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Solace50 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Solace50 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 2:19pm
@datonyb

did you ever have issues with warmboots, not just coldboots, I have a similar issue but only on warmboots (I suspect the ram timings are not ideal for ryzen). The dimms run at stock just fine for 2133 mhz, but any manual settings or using XMP 2.0 which is 2800mhz seems to cause the machine to not post on a warm reboot.
Back to Top
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 3:09pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

ok good ram so try this first (your issue is as said an unstable overclock on ram )
settings :
14/14/14/14/28/44    trfc 256
geardown disable/cr1t/bgs disable/bgs alt enable/ proc odt 53 ohms/dram powerdown disable/am4 advanced boot training set to auto/boot try set to 5

its often the untouched minor settings on the am4 that causes issues although your primary tRAS is ambitious hence why i advise 28 and not 24
in your case it having problem initilaising the ram when everything is cold , hence the windows testing being fine, ive been there and got the tee shirt my friend,alter the minor settings and then tweak the primary ones a bit lower


i test in reverse to normal methods on am4.............. eg i try settings test to windows run a cinebench AND THEN TURN THE DAM THING OFF FOR 5-10 MINS and see if its going to cold boot before wasting time on windows based testing

and this very weekend im back in 'play mode' due to having a very nice deal this week on 4x8gb kit of tridentz 3866, so i'll be doing just this same thing


OK guys ...

I took some time last night and tried all the stuff you said.
Short version: didn't work

Everything was very promising, I felt like "that's gona be it, now it will work" but then. But ok, here's what I did.

First I checked my settings and my trc was already higher than your suggestd value. But I set the values you gave me just to be sure. When I came to trfc I was confused, my board offers 3 different trfc settings (trfc, trfc2 and trfc4) so I assumed you where talking about the first one. But then again confusion, my board need the values set in HEX (which is ridiculous btw.) but converting 256 to HEX gives me 100 but the auto value was 138, so I thought lowering the value would be even worse!? However, I tried all the settings you told me and again, Windows and everything was OK. But after turning of and wait for the caps to run empty it won't boot again. Same issue.

I took another round of research on the web and found a tool from overclockers.com (ryzen ram calculator) and gave it a shot. I took the "save values" to calculate upon my XMP settings and it sounded plausible. I had to convert all the values in HEX and it was confusing.

For the basic timings (14/14/14/14) you have values in the bios you can chose, of course in HEX, it should be 14 on each, so 14 > HEX = E ok but in the settings I have 0Eh (ok that's 14 ...) but in the next one there's 0xE (no E or 0Eh) but that's also 14 but why?! WHY can't they just give us a damn DECIMAL input!?

So assuming that I didn't mess up any of these dec to hex coversions I set ALL the DRAM settings according to the results of the calculator and gave it a try. Again everything ran fine, I played like an hour AC Origins which was running nice on medium 900p btw. and then simulated a cold boot again and ... no post. 5 retries, back to 2133 MHz.

This can't just be unstable OC, there's no way. Maybe you can call it that if the system can't boot but if it's otherwise stable why should I call these instable settings...

btw. I also set command rate and all the stuff you told me and I had my VDIMM at 1.4 V all the time.

I think there's a problem or bug in the uefi that causes this. Or can I do any other test to see if the settings are stable under normal conditions, which is where it counts, not in the 5 seconds where the uefi boots up... dang it
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2096
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 1:42am
Originally posted by Solace50 Solace50 wrote:

@datonyb

did you ever have issues with warmboots, not just coldboots, I have a similar issue but only on warmboots (I suspect the ram timings are not ideal for ryzen). The dimms run at stock just fine for 2133 mhz, but any manual settings or using XMP 2.0 which is 2800mhz seems to cause the machine to not post on a warm reboot.


ive had warm boot issue once i think , its usually the cold boot where we have fun
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2096
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 1:47am
@ night stalker

i too use the ryzen ram calculator its been a blessing to me

but ive also learnt to enter every single suggestion and setting
even these cad bus block etc cldo voltages everything

it may well be a bios issue not having enough brains to iron out the flaws and issues as it has to make/try some settings itself based on what your xmp asks for or you manually enter

not trying to rub salt in the wound but i got 3433 cl14 first try with the new tridentz 3866 ram this weekend on mine ,
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
hifihedgehog View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote hifihedgehog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 2:11am
Originally posted by Brandon Brandon wrote:

Originally posted by Thenightstalker Thenightstalker wrote:

[URL=][/URL]Hi,

there?嚙編 still no update for the ?嚙箱old boot??Issue. Literally every RAM timing above default leads to not booting after unpluging the power!

The Timings are ROCKstabke, I ran a bunch of memtest Benchmarks to ensure!

I?嚙練 close to return this crap! I thought they?嚙緝e working hard to get things done but they didn?嚙緣 even officially released a BIOS for the WLAN issue, it?嚙編 still a beta since over a month now...?!

I understand they need to test and ensure everything is OK but I think they are already focusing on new Boards and don?嚙緣 care about ?嚙線s??anymore.

They should really get up and do something... now.

I?嚙練 really annoyed, never had such a bad OC experience with any board, it?嚙編 horrible.
In my case on both the AB350 and X370 chipsets I had cold boot issues as well. I went into ACPI section and enabled HPET and all the Memory Boot issues disappeared. Why HPET? That's a good question, but it works.

I can also confirm this fix works. Every 5 to 10 cold boot cycles, my family?嚙編 AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac also would get stuck at boot. Yet the Samsung B-Die memory also checked out as 100% stable in MemTest86 and they were no issues once in the OS even in gaming. In the BIOS, going to Advanced->ACPI Configuration and enabling ACPI HPET Table (instead of the default of ?嚙璀uto?? fixes the issue. I am on BIOS 4.51 with a Ryzen 5 2400G and G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZ RAM.


Edited by hifihedgehog - 17 Apr 2018 at 2:15am
Back to Top
Zwu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zwu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 5:13pm
i had several issues aswell,

but since i went back to bios version 3.2 i have:

 a stable pstate oc to 3.95 ghz on 1.37v
 stable 3200mhz on my gskill gflaresX cl14
 no issues at all

for every bios version after 3.2 made things worse in one way or another

so basically 7 months without enhancements
if id want to upgrade my cpu to next gen i'd propably b phucked on this board

Back to Top
Thenightstalker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thenightstalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 5:50pm
Originally posted by Zwu Zwu wrote:

i had several issues aswell,

but since i went back to bios version 3.2 i have:

 a stable pstate oc to 3.95 ghz on 1.37v
 stable 3200mhz on my gskill gflaresX cl14
 no issues at all

for every bios version after 3.2 made things worse in one way or another

so basically 7 months without enhancements
if id want to upgrade my cpu to next gen i'd propably b phucked on this board



And since I'm using a 2400G, which requires at least 3.40 I'm lost. That's why the title still says > WILL THEY EVER FIX IT.

Yesterday I tried all the settings from the DRAM calc tool, some of them I just don't have in my uefi but all I had I entered. The result was a not even warm booting system. I went back to basic settings + APCI but you geuessed it, it didn't work.

I don't share the opinion that these are minor issues, even the HEX input is a major issue in my opinion, why? I tell you why, this is a 100 bucks Fatal1ty line board which is clearly meant for enthusiasts, gamers and overclockers! If you do that you should give them the features they need AND it should run like a charm. This thing is FAR away from beeing what the Fatal1ty branding suggests....

I understand that ASRock has little to no influence on what AMD / AGESA is doing but in that case they need to inform customers and at least give a statement on if / how / when they will fix this thing.

They just miss their opportunity in the ITX segment, the AB350 ITX would be the only REALY useful AM4 ITX solution right now if it only would work and let you OC comfortable and stable.

I had many boards and systems but I never had such a trouble.


Edited by Thenightstalker - 17 Apr 2018 at 7:31pm
Back to Top
Brandon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brandon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2018 at 1:54am
Originally posted by Thenightstalker Thenightstalker wrote:

[URL=][/URL]OK guys ...

I posted and tested alot here, I was trying to help finding new and testing old bugs and I thnink I also posted my specs but if not I'm sorry!

I tested to keep my PC plugged to the wall but unfortunately it didn't help. It feels like there's capacitor that runs down and causing the issue on reboot. Why? Because when I turn of and on within a short time it's OK but if the system is of over night for example it would not boot.

The System runs FLAWLESS with all the Settings I ever tired, I ran Memtest tu ensure my RAM settigns are stable. I played AC Origins for hours and also ran 3D Mark with this settings without any Problem. I know how an instable system behaves, especially with bad RAM but this doesn't look anything like that. Which doesn't mean it couldn't be a problem with the RAM settings, maybe an option/seting that causes this problem but I am not aware of... I'm new to this CBS stuf and the way these OC Settings work is really wired and not intuitive to me so probably there's a eror I just missed all the time.

Here's my full spec:
Board: Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU: Ryzen 5 2400G
RAM: G-Skill 4000 C19 16GB Kit (Samsung B Die)
Drive 0: Samsung 960 EVO 500 GB nVME SSD (M2)
Drive 1 Samsung 840 128 GB SATA SSD
Case: Silverstone Raven RVZ03 (LED and 2 Fans connected)
Cooler: Noctua <span ="st">NH-L9x65 AM4

Display is curently my 47" Philips LCD TV over HDMI.

OS: Windows 10 Professional (latest build, all Updates)
Drivers are used from Windows except Chipset and GPU, those I downloaded from AMD and installed in the correct order (first Chipset then GPU).

So far everything works fine except the throttling issue in games, so I runed of the Turbo in CBS.

Here's my UEFI Settigns:
First, I did a cmos clear by Jumper (have no button).
I changed the configuration to CBS and set the DDR Voltage to 1.4 V
In CBS I set GFX mode to forced and specified Framebuffer > 2G
In the DDR settings I set Command Rate ot 2T
I set Frequency to 1600 Mhz
Timings: Top down - 14/14/14/14/24/48 everything else on AUTO

This was tested as I said above and it worked. I also tried setting these over AMD Ryen Master and it also worked.

I aldo don't understand why ASRock doesn't support to enter these values as simple decimal numbers instead of HEX which can also cause errors ...?!

However, now you should have all the informations, maybe there's a solution???

</span>
You're Problem May not be memory related at all. Are you running the latest firmware for that Samsung NVME Drive? Research Samsung NVME boot issues.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.