ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - unable to install Windows with NVME
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

unable to install Windows with NVME

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
nedz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nedz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: unable to install Windows with NVME
    Posted: 12 Apr 2018 at 8:32pm
Dear Everyone, 

I'm trying to install windows 10 on the following setup : 

Asrock Z370 PRO4
Intel I7 8700
WDS512G1X0C-00ENX0 (NVME)

I tried to disable the CSM as suggested on the sticky post,  but every time I install and files are done copying I get various errors can't install locale , can't write install to registry etc etc. 

I would appreciate any Input 


Thank you ,
Nedz.
Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 1806
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2018 at 3:12pm

Dear Nedz,

 

Thank you for choosing ASRock.

 

Regarding your case, we have tested in our lab, Windows 10 RS3 64bit can be installed at NVMe SSD properly.

This is our system configuration:

CPU: i7-8700

MB: Z370 Pro4

SSD: WDS512G1X0C-00ENX0

OS: Windows 10 RS3 64bit

 

We provide some suggestion.

1.       Please change another OS image and make sure the OS is installed at GPT mode.

2.       Install the SSD on another system to check if the SSD works fine.

 

Thank you!

Yours truly,

ASRock TSD

Back to Top
nedz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nedz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 5:08pm
I see windows installer creates 4 partitions , and I read thats a GPT mode style partitioning .

since this is the only MB i have with NVME support I'm having a hard time making sure the NVME is not faulty . 

Back to Top
nedz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nedz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2018 at 10:44pm
I'm still unable to use my new computer . 
I got a brand new WD NVME plugged it in and experienced the same behavior. 
also tried replacing PSU , removed RAM modules and used 1 each time to rule out RAM problems. 

please help. 
  
Back to Top
nedz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nedz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2018 at 3:51am
update - > 
after replacing to a regular 2.5 SSD no reboots 
this ovbiously has to do with the PCIE (and I find it hard to believe 2 PCIE ) were defective.
I feel disappointed I bought from the supported list and it's still not working. 

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.