ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z97 extreme6 slooooow boot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z97 extreme6 slooooow boot

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5786
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z97 extreme6 slooooow boot
    Posted: 09 Jan 2016 at 3:05pm
Linux distros take a while to catch up with new hardware generations. If it is simply a compatibility issue with linux then it will get sorted out eventually once hardware support catches up on the distro/s you use.
Back to Top
jglynn43 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Location: Hardin, IL USA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jglynn43 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2016 at 6:42am
Well here it is Friday after work so I rebooted the machine. It failed again but thanks to the tip from jrnewell, Recovery was much faster. Still undecided if I want to put up with this annoyance with every kernel update. My other desktop with same OS, and hardware (except for the MB) has no problems at all. It's a shame. I really liked this one because it is so customizable. I'll wait a bit before dropping some coin since there's no rush with the mystery solved. Maybe I'll decide I can live with it.

Thanks to everyone that has helped!
Back to Top
jglynn43 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Location: Hardin, IL USA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jglynn43 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:00am
Thanks I will try that. I also use ubuntu (technically kubuntu).

There was a kernel update today and also a grub&efi update but I have not rebooted yet. I'll wait till the weekend since I also use this machine for work. I can't afford to risk a several hour delay if I have to pull it apart again and reassemble it.

DIY OS X eh? Sounds interesting! My last laptop was OS X with Linux and Windows VMs but I never tried native dual/triple boot with it. Topic for another thread perhaps.
Back to Top
jrnewell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2016
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jrnewell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 9:04am
I have the Z97 Extreme 6 and triple boot Ubuntu, Windows and OS X.  I noticed this happening to me too when installing and occasionally upgrading my ubuntu distro - all of the sudden it would take a really long time to post and then my mouse and/or keyboard would stop working.  Seems to be something with this MB and linux because I don't see it with Windows and maybe only once or twice with OS X.

Often this is what I do to resolve it:  shutdown the computer and switch off the power supply.  Pull out all USB peripherals, and then press and hold the power button to completely discharge the M/B capacitors (should turn on for like a half a sec).  I then turn it all back on without the keyboard/mouse.  Sometimes this fixes it immediately or after a restart or two - no need to reset the CMOS.  Not sure if being able to boot into a non-linux OS helps my cause or not.  Hopefully this will help some of you recover quicker from this USB port issue.


Edited by jrnewell - 07 Jan 2016 at 9:05am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 4:24pm
Mr Faraday doesn't have anything to do with this.

I base that conclusion on that it is in a too small enclosure for proper airflow. As you state it's a PITA to remove. While keeping everything neat and tidy it does nothing for air circulation and causes heat buildup. Let me guess, a rather smallish exit at the back for the cables?

I'll reiterate my point, "it's in a wooden box"
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
jglynn43 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Location: Hardin, IL USA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jglynn43 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 10:10am
lolwhat?

Dude if you think wood cages influence RFI you need to talk to Mr Faraday. Maybe if it was ironwood ...

I think you mean well but you're tilting at the wrong windmill here. I will try your experiment when it breaks again because why not, it's already broken.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 7:09am
I'm thinking kernel changes and or that it's located in a wooden box are a catalyst that exaggerates/exasperates the RF/EMI.

As you imply, the mouse is the affected device. As might be expected, due to the great amount of info traveling along the mouses cable as you move it to and fro and click this and that, RF/EMI could very well be the interruption that begins your woes. The mouse would be more succeptable to this when compared to a keyboards simple instructions sent down the cable.

Does your KB have USB ports on it?

Are you using a USB hub somewhere?

Hardwired networking, or a USB Wi-Fi adapter/dongle?
A USB Wi-Fi adapter could be along the same lines, RF/EMI, considering it's in a wooden box!

Too bad you have these two plugged into the 3.0 ports instead of the usual 2.0 ports. You might maybe could have simply entered the BIOS to disable the 3.0 ports as a test.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
jglynn43 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Location: Hardin, IL USA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jglynn43 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 6:27am
Thanks I will try that the next time it breaks. I never hurts to get more data.

I have everything working for now and I really don't want to intentionally cause a fault. My desktop is mounted inside a wooden cabinet so it's a real PITA to disassemble it and reset it. Besides I already know that if I run the GRUB installer (which happens every time there is a kernel update) this problem recurs. In fact, the last break was due to uninstalling an old kernel. So, it was the same exact kernel and just running  GRUB to remove an older unused one caused the fault. It's very repeatable but I don't want to repeat it again unless I have to. Only once of the five times this has happened was I able to *just* clear the CMOS and have everything work. The other times I've had to disconnect all the drives and remove my video card, clear it and then re-assemble it. Clearing the CMOS seems to be like driving a tack with a sledgehammer. This may explain some of my obvious frustration in earlier posts. If I have offended anyone, I am sorry.

I still don't know if GRUB is the culprit or merely the catalyst and I don't want to point fingers anyway. I'm just trying to get as much information out as I can. This is a real issue. Who's issue it belongs to is still open and to me irrelevant. I'm not a GRUB developer or a firmware engineer so who get's the workaround doesn't matter to me.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 5:27am
As an experiment, plug a couple short, 2' - 4', shielded USB 3.0 extension cables in, separate the ends out distance wise, and connect the KB and mouse to the cables.

I've yet to see the RF/EMI that USB 3 emits actually do what you explain, yet it is thoroughly possible due to sensitivity.


Post back you findings please.



Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5786
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 3:42am
Glad to be of help, hopefully your distro will address the issue if they are made aware of it Wink
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.