ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z97 extreme6 slooooow boot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z97 extreme6 slooooow boot

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Message
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2016 at 4:24pm
Mr Faraday doesn't have anything to do with this.

I base that conclusion on that it is in a too small enclosure for proper airflow. As you state it's a PITA to remove. While keeping everything neat and tidy it does nothing for air circulation and causes heat buildup. Let me guess, a rather smallish exit at the back for the cables?

I'll reiterate my point, "it's in a wooden box"
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
jrnewell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2016
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jrnewell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 9:04am
I have the Z97 Extreme 6 and triple boot Ubuntu, Windows and OS X.  I noticed this happening to me too when installing and occasionally upgrading my ubuntu distro - all of the sudden it would take a really long time to post and then my mouse and/or keyboard would stop working.  Seems to be something with this MB and linux because I don't see it with Windows and maybe only once or twice with OS X.

Often this is what I do to resolve it:  shutdown the computer and switch off the power supply.  Pull out all USB peripherals, and then press and hold the power button to completely discharge the M/B capacitors (should turn on for like a half a sec).  I then turn it all back on without the keyboard/mouse.  Sometimes this fixes it immediately or after a restart or two - no need to reset the CMOS.  Not sure if being able to boot into a non-linux OS helps my cause or not.  Hopefully this will help some of you recover quicker from this USB port issue.


Edited by jrnewell - 07 Jan 2016 at 9:05am
Back to Top
jglynn43 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Location: Hardin, IL USA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jglynn43 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:00am
Thanks I will try that. I also use ubuntu (technically kubuntu).

There was a kernel update today and also a grub&efi update but I have not rebooted yet. I'll wait till the weekend since I also use this machine for work. I can't afford to risk a several hour delay if I have to pull it apart again and reassemble it.

DIY OS X eh? Sounds interesting! My last laptop was OS X with Linux and Windows VMs but I never tried native dual/triple boot with it. Topic for another thread perhaps.
Back to Top
jglynn43 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Location: Hardin, IL USA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jglynn43 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2016 at 6:42am
Well here it is Friday after work so I rebooted the machine. It failed again but thanks to the tip from jrnewell, Recovery was much faster. Still undecided if I want to put up with this annoyance with every kernel update. My other desktop with same OS, and hardware (except for the MB) has no problems at all. It's a shame. I really liked this one because it is so customizable. I'll wait a bit before dropping some coin since there's no rush with the mystery solved. Maybe I'll decide I can live with it.

Thanks to everyone that has helped!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5736
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2016 at 3:05pm
Linux distros take a while to catch up with new hardware generations. If it is simply a compatibility issue with linux then it will get sorted out eventually once hardware support catches up on the distro/s you use.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.046 seconds.