ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - CMK32GX4M2B3000C15 attempt to 3200Mhz partial work
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

CMK32GX4M2B3000C15 attempt to 3200Mhz partial work

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: CMK32GX4M2B3000C15 attempt to 3200Mhz partial work
    Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 2:57pm
Hi guys,

Thanks to everyone for encouragement, information, etc.

I got cited and motivated from this guy making CMK32GX4M2B3000C15 = 2x 16GB = 32GB, where dual side dual rank are hard to work with. http://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/76f3y6/1800x_4_ghz_with_32_gb_hynix_mdie_3208/

And one guy uploaded to rymem = http://rymem.vraith.com/detailed_ram/747 see 3198 and 3208Mhz respectively. 

So I managed to POST 3200Mhz, using very high timing and very high voltage 1.45V in bios then A-tuning reads 1.47+ volts, else Dr.Debug will get stuck. In fact windows boot till login screen a couple of times, as long as I don't login it will not hang and crash.

Anyway, this is my UEFI post picture:-

In all honestly, POST success rate 33% change settings safe take my sweet time, POST ok but hang/crach rate 33% could not change settings, post failure 33% i.e. error at Dr.Debug. But it's getting easier and easier to post success without Dr.Debug F9 beep.

It's also getting easier and easier to boot to windows login screen without crash, but the moment I login then death.

I used very high timing (originally reference a 3400Mhz but then still must add more) : -

Because these timing has been upped one notch from running 3066Mhz. Some of the timing numbers got raised by the bios after some crash training. So I kept monitoring the change it made and click save and notice better/easier booting up etc.

So, I think my timing may be wrong combination???

Side info. 
My ram stick could 2933Mhz CAS16 using 1.32 volts very stable.
@ 3066Mhz must 1.37 volts CAS up tiny bit.

All pci-e 100Mhz kept, no overclock here. bios ver 3.2, may be I should drop to 3.1 as daytonb and might be better ??? ;)

So, any advice for me?


Edited by cx5 - 16 Apr 2018 at 5:52pm
X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 3:11pm
Originally posted by cx5 cx5 wrote:

Hi guys,
And one guy uploaded to rymem = http://rymem.vraith.com/detailed_ram/747 see 3198 and 3208Mhz respectively. 

re-looking it noticed he ran 75 for tRC, while I was still on 70, definitely going to try this correction tonight.


Edited by cx5 - 16 Apr 2018 at 3:12pm
X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 377
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 6:43pm
dot worry abour RC, that has nothing to do with stability, if u put it too low, it will slow down your RAM, if u put it too hig, it will also slow down your RAM
RC is time from RAS to CAS, which is same as 20+40 (in your case), feel free to use auto in there, it will work
as for main timings, they are usualy fine left on spreadsheet values (but ryzen doesnt like CL 15 that much, so stick with 16)
they dont impact stability that much, and since u did put voltage this high, they will work even at lower values (not CL tho :P)
but for now try to work with cl16

RRDS is usualy 6 (at 3200)
RRDL is usually 8 (at 3200) i use 9 for 3333+ othdrwise i get cold boot issues
those two if too high or too low (even if by only 1) will produce too many ram errors or inability to post

then i would worry more about tFAV and tCKE those two have way more stability issue than u would think of

i may have different ram than yours (samsung b die dual side) but in my case at 3200 tfav at anything different than 37 is unstable, as your main timings are different than mine, u will need to figure out your own working number

as for tcke, keep it auto for now

can u run passmark memtest from usb stick?
see there on which test ull get errors and how many
if u get hundreds of errors than start with tfav going +1 or -1 see in which cae ull get more or less errors
if u manage to go from hundreds of errors to only few
then go with tcke +1 or -1
Asrock x370 Fatal1ty Gaming X Bios L4.61,
Ryzen5 1600x @ 4.1GHz 1.375v,
G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR @ 3333MHz (14-14-14-34-48),
Arctic Liquid Freezer 240,
Palit GTX 1060 3GB
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 377
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 6:52pm
and i just noticed something weird in your timings :P
your tCL is 20 (CAS latency)
but your tCWL is 18?? (CAS write latency)

not sure it that would work, sure u can put higer or same number as your CL, but never saw 24/7 stable lower values
Asrock x370 Fatal1ty Gaming X Bios L4.61,
Ryzen5 1600x @ 4.1GHz 1.375v,
G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR @ 3333MHz (14-14-14-34-48),
Arctic Liquid Freezer 240,
Palit GTX 1060 3GB
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1550
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 1:40am
mate those timings at 3200 will produce far worse ram performance than cl16 at 2933
choices going forward are either

buy some samsung b dies
or
sit down ,take some time and work out exactly what timings to enter and try for EITHER
3000 mhz with lowered primary timings with your corsair
or 3200 with sensible timings

but 1.45 volts and cl20 isnt where you want to be at all

if you want send me a link to the screen shot of thiaphoon burner (the first step in the ram calculator and i'll work it out for you)

any way you look at it cl20 isnt what you want

have you actually tried the ryzen ram calculator ?

http://www.overclock.net/forum/13-amd-general/1640919-ryzen-dram-calculator-1-1-0-beta-2-overclocking-dram-am4.html#post_26417503

ive been using it since the first revision its now on version 11 or something
and yes it works on corsair as well as samsungs and the flash stuff

add to that grab some example settings from the stilts ram thread and see what you can get from them sticks of ram

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 3:21pm
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

(but ryzen doesnt like CL 15 that much, so stick with 16) as fror now try again 16

RRDS is usualy 6 (at 3200)
RRDL is usually 8 (at 3200) 

can u run passmark memtest from usb stick?

Reduce quote words just to save space.

Thank you @kerberos_20 , it worked, the CL 16, hence I will open another post to report success, while keep my mistakes above for others not to repeat. 

Thanks also Ryzen don't like 15, no wonder. 17 also sure dies for me, now I think they are related. come to think back, I think 19 also sure death for me, hence you see on 20, Must have been 18 worked but not stable hence I went up 20 to try.

I've not run passmark memtest from usb stick, hence will do it coming weekend when have sufficient free time.


Edited by cx5 - 17 Apr 2018 at 3:24pm
X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 3:36pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

mate those timings at 3200 will produce far worse ram performance than cl16 at 2933

buy some samsung b dies

but 1.45 volts and cl20 isnt where you want to be at all

if you want send me a link to the screen shot of thiaphoon burner (the first step in the ram calculator and i'll work it out for you)

any way you look at it cl20 isnt what you want

have you actually tried the ryzen ram calculator ?

hey, thanks mate @daytonb, you my first brother got me to 2933.

can't afford new rams now, :(~~~ sob sob especially market's volatility 50% more than necessary. I typically try to achieve ROI of US$ 258/year = Hong Kong $ 2000/year. My last PC was no more than US$1600 and lasted 7 years till death, ROI $221/year, hence this rig got to last me 10 years :( :( :( can't upgrade anything for 10 years ...... sob sob sob 

And the slowest to upgrade is the Intel 600p........ still stuck with it.

Correct, we don't want 1.45V nor 20CL...... I was just pushing it for fun, not seriously going to run it daily.

Thanks for thisphoon, will do it after stability found in 3200.

Yes, tried Ryzen ram calculator, the values came out beautiful, entered it but can't POST at all, got to up the voltages and values here and there and everywhere then POST but windows hang.

But I keep trying the concept you mentioned, reference to some timing others succesfully achieve or 3333 or 3400 since my crap corsair always seems to need one grade up.

Anyway, check out my new new post success. Let me know what you think there.
X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2018 at 9:24pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:


sit down ,take some time and work out exactly what timings to enter and try

if you want send me a link to the screen shot of thiaphoon burner (the first step in the ram calculator and i'll work it out for you)

have you actually tried the ryzen ram calculator ?

Hello @daytonb,

OK, first give you a good laugh.

Of course I sat down and tried to work it out but failed miseably, you know why, I just don't know all these stuff......

Now the serious part, thanks for thaiphoon advice, first time running it, please check my method, thanks so much in advance. Welcome other to comment and advice, much thanks too in advance.

yes, I used the calculator, dam thing never work, because always I greedily key in ALL the parameters at once, trusting it fully, and honestly no patience to sit down try one by one.... until recently though. 

Anyway, now I realize just use it as base then really got to try one by one.

X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2018 at 9:43pm
oh, forgot to mention, previously just run calculator, Hynix MFR V2 gave the closest parameters to my existing ram, but upon immediate entry of below reference output, immediate F9 beep failure. At first just give up altogether, then later sat down as you said, try one by one change.

this is 3000Mhz,

next is 3200Mhz, 

but currently running
X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Offline
Points: 63
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2018 at 10:19pm
Ok, entered Thaiphoon + calculator for 3200mhz fast and works, windows working well, haven't fully load test yet, just writing this reply.


20,20,20,20,52,74,5,8,36,4,12,10,5,5,480,357,220,20,12,6,3,1,7,7,1,5,5,8

This timing is so dam different from my signature, I don't know which is truly better. Anyone have answers/explanation. Both works, beats me all confused now. In the past without tools without knowledge every attempt fails, now thanks to so many great guys tools, everything works. Confused !!!! 


Edited by cx5 - 19 Apr 2018 at 10:21pm
X370taichi_uefi4.7,1700X,HISvega64,CX750M,Optane900P@M.2ultraCONVERTpcie4+RISE1height,TTcoreV71,waterloopGPU-CPU,420x140x76radiator.
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@3200mhz_1618181836571Tsoc1.3v,dram1.44v,VTT0.72v
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.