ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Disappointed with Asrock Fatal1ty X470 Gaming K4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Disappointed with Asrock Fatal1ty X470 Gaming K4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
cristy6100 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Mar 2018
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cristy6100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2018 at 10:50pm
Thanks for clarifing the values, are they the same for IGPU VID setting?


Cheers


Edited by cristy6100 - 03 May 2018 at 11:04pm
Main Rig: AMD Ryzen 2400G | ASRock Fatality X370 ITX/ac UEFI 4.90 | Corsair LPX DDR4 2400@3200 1.35V | Corsair RM650i PSU | CM ML120L AiO Cooler
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2018 at 11:00pm
Yes,

for GPU, CPU and SoC VID Voltage Wink
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
cristy6100 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Mar 2018
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cristy6100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2018 at 11:04pm
Tested this, it kinda works, setting 40 for SoC will make it 1.137V in HWInfo, but will drop to 1.1V under load
But setting 40 for GPU there is no way to check the actual voltage, HWInfo or any other utility will not report the iGPU voltage, not even the X470 has iGPU voltage monitoring in UEFI as far as I see.
iGPU voltage monitoring should be added in UEFI and for the boards that currently dont have SoC voltage  monitoring also.... these 2 things are of utmost importance for any user to be able to check the voltages
I guess it worked setting 40 for iGPU but I cannot verify the actual value :(
Also as far as I know setting lets say 1.1V for SoC and 1.2V for GPU should be possible, or just setting SoC to 1.2 will bump the iGPU to 1.2V also right?
AMD's PDF tells us that the voltages are one way linked, bumping the SoC will bump the GPU to the value of the SoC voltage, but you can bump the iGPU voltage higher than SoC but not lower, does this apply in future or current UEFIs?
Because there is an oddity, what happens when lets say I set SoC voltage to 1.2V for RAM stablity and CPU stablity when overclocking but I also want to overclock the iGPU, I will set 1500MHz and the VID value should not be necessary to set because I already set the SoC voltage to 1.2V and that bumped the iGPU to 1.2V also, how do we let the iGPU voltage at auto in the current implementation?
This applies to all UEFIs.

The other manufacturers have dedicated iGPU overclocking menus in UEFI, and you just set the Speed in MHz and if you want you can change the voltage or leave it on auto.
In AMD/CBS/iGPU OC leaving the VID value to Default of 0 and just setting the frequency and rebooting will boost the iGPU voltage to max I guess and will most likely fry the CPU, this is very dangerous if its the case
Thats why a dedicated iGPU overclock entry should be added in OC Tweaker page, with normal Auto and decimal voltage range.


Cheers


Edited by cristy6100 - 03 May 2018 at 11:17pm
Main Rig: AMD Ryzen 2400G | ASRock Fatality X370 ITX/ac UEFI 4.90 | Corsair LPX DDR4 2400@3200 1.35V | Corsair RM650i PSU | CM ML120L AiO Cooler
Back to Top
GMcD View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GMcD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 May 2018 at 6:30am
[URL=][/URL][URL=][/URL]J Z, thanks for making sure the bioses have the needed features. I promise you that Asrock will sell more mid range boards with better bios options. I have one request. Do you think you could post those videos with you talking in english? It would help immensely! Also, whats the verdict on LLC? Is it possible for this to be added to the bios for this board? Thanks a ton!

Edited by GMcD - 04 May 2018 at 11:59am
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 3:59pm
It's about to get a lot of important AMD CBS options into the OC tweaker, making it easier for some users

For the X470 Taichi, X470 Gaming K4 and X470 Master SLI I have ever BIOSe with the following improvement here:



1. Add GPU clock option in OC Tweaker.
2. Modify DRAM timing group rule in OC Tweaker.

More will follow ...
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
Ivan_83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ivan_83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2018 at 10:29am
Originally posted by J Z J Z wrote:



According to the BIOS department, SoC and GPU overclocking will soon be possible in the BIOS "ASRock Settings" Wink



This is half of truth.
They say same for Gaming X, but ugly VRM controller ISL95712 does not give user full control, or asrock cant/dont want do good things for small money/cost.

As result if you want user friendly VRM controller then you must  get top mobo based on IR35201.
All mobo vendors do same.
IMHO this is subject for anti monopoly investigation.
Back to Top
Ivan_83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ivan_83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2018 at 10:33am
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=8594&PID=51080&title=asrock-fatal1ty-x470-gaming-k4-cant-fixed-vcore#51080
Back to Top
Jamesborne View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jamesborne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2018 at 12:01pm
I know this is old but I am a nub and dont get it... I usually use intel products bought 2700X and Fatal1ty X470 put it all together... I have an Nvidia 1070 and im getting 40-50 FPS on WoW of all games... where I was getting 90-100 with a 6600k... any reason it would be the MB or proc? I had my video card in the old getup
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.