ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - x470 K4 memory support - CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

x470 K4 memory support - CMK16GX4M2B3200C16

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
lorcav123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lorcav123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: x470 K4 memory support - CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
    Posted: 14 May 2018 at 8:39pm
hello,

I need urgent help. I sent my faulty Asrock X370 K4 to service and they approved to replace me for some other mbo. They don`t have much choice in store, but they have Asrock X470 K4. No money return because I was told that service still can get x370 k4 which became EOL last year in June. On x370 K4 I couldn t achive full speed, even on 2933 it was crashing. Is x470 K4 good, free of any problems?

https://asrock.com/MB/AMD/Fatal1ty%20X470%20Gaming%20K4/index.asp

I think my memory is listed on memory vql but I am not sure since this memory has couple of versions. Also my CPU is R5 1600...


Edited by lorcav123 - 14 May 2018 at 8:43pm
Back to Top
lorcav123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lorcav123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2018 at 9:10pm
On mbo page it is listed that board support my Hynix ram on full speed out of the box but that written for pinnacle ridge. I don`t know how much difference will be for Summit ridge (my R5 1600)?
Back to Top
lorcav123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lorcav123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2018 at 1:58am
I read that this board doesn`t have LLC option and that it will not have it in future. True?
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 433
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2018 at 5:08pm
memory support depends more or less on memory controller which resides in cpu
...to some extent support may improve a bit with different bios version as they apply different sub timings in auto mode, but i wouldnt relly on that too much

as for llc..u wont need it, its not good for ryzen anyway
Asrock x370 Fatal1ty Gaming X Bios 4.80,
Ryzen5 1600x @ 4.1GHz 1.375v,
G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR @ 3333MHz (14-14-14-34-48),
Arctic Liquid Freezer 240,
Palit GTX1060 3GB,
Samsung 970evo
Back to Top
lorcav123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lorcav123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2018 at 12:19am
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

memory support depends more or less on memory controller which resides in cpu
...to some extent support may improve a bit with different bios version as they apply different sub timings in auto mode, but i wouldnt relly on that too much

as for llc..u wont need it, its not good for ryzen anyway

why is LLC not important, I found out couple of post that say this is a big drawback for this board?Confused
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 433
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2018 at 2:14am
im not sure with x370 k4 as it has old vrm design

as for llc...and its general purpose

lets say on idle voltage (vcore) u have 1.375v
but once u put load,  there should be slight decrease of voltage
once u start oveclocking, voltage can drop pretty low during load (1V or less), which may result in unstable PC
llc and its Level settings should correct those voltage drops (VDROOP)


mine K10 has no issues with missing LLC
and even if it will be there i wouldnt use it, voltage under all core load can get pretty high (under cpu controlled mode)
Asrock x370 Fatal1ty Gaming X Bios 4.80,
Ryzen5 1600x @ 4.1GHz 1.375v,
G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR @ 3333MHz (14-14-14-34-48),
Arctic Liquid Freezer 240,
Palit GTX1060 3GB,
Samsung 970evo
Back to Top
lorcav123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lorcav123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2018 at 4:20pm
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

im not sure with x370 k4 as it has old vrm design

as for llc...and its general purpose

lets say on idle voltage (vcore) u have 1.375v
but once u put load,? there should be slight decrease of voltage
once u start oveclocking, voltage can drop pretty low during load (1V or less), which may result in unstable PC
llc and its Level settings should correct those voltage drops (VDROOP)


mine K10 has no issues with missing LLC
and even if it will be there i wouldnt use it, voltage under all core load can get pretty high (under cpu controlled mode)



One user wrote on overclock forum this:

"There doesn't seem to be any LLC options that I can find yet, and when trying to overclock the processor there seems to be quite a large amount of vdroop, like .05 to .075v from 1.45 to 1.4 or under."

Even if I get over LLC, memory compatibillity still bother me. When ryzen was released I been told that x370 K4 would probably go over 3200mhz, that I just need to wait for new bios. We all saw how that turn up, worst board for memory on am4. Since my x370 k4 had some bios corruption screen it ended up on service and now is the perfect time to correct memory compatibillity mistake.
Back to Top
chainsaw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chainsaw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2018 at 11:43pm
i have the X370 Gaming K4. it Does have LLC, uses the better VRM. some say LLC is not needed i would strongly disagree. you can either set your voltage really high so that after droop their is still enough to stay stable still have to stay in the save zone before droop. 
Example. 
4Ghz with LLC 1.425V LLC 3 will hold around 1.41v under load 
4Ghz no LLC and you need over 1.45v to keep it around 1.41v under load
in this case we are trying to stabilize 4Ghz oc that will run fine with 1.41v but it cant be done safely without LLC because you are forced to overvolt too much without LLC to compensate for the Vdroop

But as already stated its the worst Ram support on AM4 truly is just the worst when it comes to ram.   
ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 P3.40
AMD RYZEN 7 1700 @ 4Ghz 1.39v
Noctua NH-D15 "blocks top 1x pci-e"
16GB GSkill Ripjaw V F4-3200C16D-16GVRB @ 2933 14-15-15-15 T1 1.365v
GTX 1080 x2 Sli
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.