ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - FAN Issue with Z370 Pro4 on CHA_FAN 1 and 3
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

FAN Issue with Z370 Pro4 on CHA_FAN 1 and 3

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
PaperPlanePilot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PaperPlanePilot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FAN Issue with Z370 Pro4 on CHA_FAN 1 and 3
    Posted: 19 May 2018 at 6:29pm
Hy,
 
i have a Problem with my Z370 Pro4
 
The Chassis FAN 1 and 3 only run at full Speed.
I tried this with different types of fans with the same result.
 
After i run the FAN Setup in the UEFI an the A Tuning Tool only CHA_FAN_2 (and CPU FAN) has a usable result.
 
CHA_Fan_2 (an 3PIN 900RPM FAN) is OK and Looks like this:
 
100%  807 RPM
90%    889 RPM
80%    832 RPM
70%    754 RPM
60%    666 RPM :)
50%    571 RPM
40%    474 RPM
30%    367 RPM
20%     63  RPM
10%       0  RPM
 
CH_FAN_1 and CH_FAN_3 (Both 3PIN 900 RPM FANS) look like this
 
100%  827 RPM
90%    826 RPM
80%    827 RPM
70%    829 RPM
60%    828 RPM
50%    830 RPM
40%    831 RPM
30%    833 RPM
20%    833 RPM
10%    835 RPM
 
I also tried different UEFI Versions (actual 2.00) an reset is via CMOS Jumper,
Nothing changed.
Even the Fan that works on Connector 2 wont work on 1 an 3, and vice versa...


Edited by PaperPlanePilot - 19 May 2018 at 6:33pm
Back to Top
PaperPlanePilot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 May 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PaperPlanePilot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 May 2018 at 6:43pm
I Found this in the Manual, so CHA_FAN3 schould work with a Three Pin Fan ??div> 

2 x Chassis Fan Connectors (4-pin) (Smart Fan Speed Control)

??1 x Chassis Optional/Water Pump Fan Connector (4-pin) (Smart Fan Speed Control)

* The Chassis Optional/Water Pump Fan supports the water cooler fan of maximum 1.5A (18W) fan power.

* CHA_FAN2 and CHA_FAN3/W_PUMP can auto detect if 3-pin or 4-pin fan is in use.

Back to Top
badbri View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 415
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote badbri Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2018 at 8:18am
Have you tried manually creating profiles for fans on 1 and 3 ?  I created my own profiles, did not like the ones by "fan tuning".
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=99573335296
Back to Top
Dmytro_o_o View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 2018
Location: Ukraine
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dmytro_o_o Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2018 at 4:02pm
Hi everyone.
 I`v done some research with my Z370 Pro4 (BIOS v.1.50) and discovered this:

CPU_FAN1:   - supports PWM (4pin) fan      - does not support DC (3pin) fan (only max speed on 12V)
CHA_FAN1:   - supports PWM (4pin) fan      - does not support DC (3pin) fan (only max speed on 12V)
CHA_FAN2:   - supports PWM (4pin) fan      - supports DC (3pin) fan
CHA_FAN3/W_P: - supports PWM (4pin) fan  - supports DC (3pin) fan (if you set "DC Mode" in BIOS\Advansed\HW monitor\Chasis Fan 3 Control Mode  (in the end of settings list).
  
   So, I recomend PaperPlanePilot to set CHA_FAN3 in "DC Mode"


Edited by Dmytro_o_o - 30 Jul 2018 at 10:24pm
MB:ASRock Z370 Pro4
CPU:i5 8600K RAM:16GB GPU:GTX 1070Ti
Back to Top
badbri View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 415
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote badbri Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Aug 2018 at 10:06am
Thanks for the update and glad you figured it out. Odd that CHA_FAN1 does not support controlled 3 wire. As for CPU fans: have not seen a 3 wire fan on a good heat sink since before the old Intel Core 2 days.
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=99573335296
Back to Top
Dmytro_o_o View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 2018
Location: Ukraine
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dmytro_o_o Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Aug 2018 at 5:50pm
   For example Phanteks PH-TC14PE uses 3pin fans. And old, but quite popular Noctua NH-D14 - same story. Confused
But I still have hope that ASRock will fix it in further BIOSes. Why? Because I`v seen ASRock H370 Pro4 review where CHA_FAN1 and CHA_FAN2 have their own "Chasis Fan Control Mode" (same as CHA_FAN3):
 



Edited by Dmytro_o_o - 03 Aug 2018 at 6:04pm
MB:ASRock Z370 Pro4
CPU:i5 8600K RAM:16GB GPU:GTX 1070Ti
Back to Top
Agent XXX View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Nov 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Agent XXX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 5:05am
Hello!

I found out how you can use Chassis #2 and Chassis #3 with 3 Pin DC fan and the tool "Speedfan"!

Download and install the tool "Speedfan".
Click on "Configure" -> "Advanced" -> select chip "Novoton NCT6791D".

Set "PWM 1-5 Mode" (Property) to "manual" (Value).
Now comes the really strange thing!

Set "PWM 1 Type" to "PWM output" AND not DC output!
Sounds weird but it works to make Chassis #3 like Chassis #2.

Now you can control two 3Pin fans via Speedfan from 0-100% fan speed! ;)

click on "remember it" and then green button "Ok".


I'm using the P4.30 Bios and have set Chassis 2 Fan Control Mode to "DC Mode" in bios settings like the picture above my post.

The whole motherboard is watercooled, both vrm's, chipset, cpu and m2 SSD.
Looking forward to push that board at 200watts with a 9900K(S).
Back to Top
Agent XXX View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Nov 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Agent XXX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 5:37am
There you go! ;)
[URL=https://www.directupload.net][/URL]
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.