ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 5 beeps, no signal. ASRock X470 Master Sli
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

5 beeps, no signal. ASRock X470 Master Sli

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
RayRavage View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RayRavage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 5 beeps, no signal. ASRock X470 Master Sli
    Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 1:49pm
New build with a working graphics card.

Have played around with ram, etc. Result always ends with 5 beeps and no display.

Could it be that I need to try using dvi instead of hdmi first?

The CPU is the Ryzen 5 1500X

G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2666 (PC4 21300

That's the ram.

GPU is Raedon RX550.

Any ideas?
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2053
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 8:15pm
do you also have the extra cpu/eps power cable connected ?
the 8 pin one in top right of motherboard
make sure this isnt conencted to the pcie 8 pin cable by mistake

it would help to post the psu model as well


Edited by datonyb - 29 Jun 2018 at 8:15pm
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
RayRavage View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RayRavage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 10:10pm
I dont have the pcie cable plugged in anywhere at all.

The psu is an evga 850 Bronze.

A quick pic in case that helps.

Do you think maybe if I tried a DVI cable instead of HDMI that would work?

Tried a different gpu but same result, I doubt both are dead.


https://ibb.co/e7KTwd

Edited by RayRavage - 29 Jun 2018 at 10:30pm
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2053
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 11:11pm
i still cant see in the picture is the 8 pin cpu/eps plugged in top left ?

and is it the correct cable from cpu/eps outlet on psu

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
RayRavage View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RayRavage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2018 at 12:42am
Its plugged in, I dont have anything else from the power supply hooked up except the 24 pin cable to motherboard and the CPU cable.

The odd thing is the motherboard has room for another CPU pin. I have the 8 pin in use right now, still has space for another 4 pin.
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 543
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2018 at 1:25am
its teh same odd thing as it was when 4pin got added for pentium4
u just need to fill it up :P
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
RayRavage View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RayRavage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2018 at 2:08am
I was debating on trying a dvi cable, trying a new gpu...and that's about it.

Swapped pci ports, single ram stick, dual, different slots. Seems like everything works except no signal.

If I knew exactly what 5 beeps meant that would help, but what I did find says only something about the VGA card.

Should I try using just 4 pins instead of 8 on the CPU plug?
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 661
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2018 at 10:55am
just boot without plugging the gpu and see if it gives you the same error code

i'm not sure if its the same as my previous board (990FX killer) 

but since i have water cooling and stuff my vga usually is not seated properly or requires a weird angle 

and most of the time works perfectly without the screws >.< but since youre using a lighter card have you tried plugging it in the other pci-e slot 
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2018 at 5:39pm
Hello,
5 beeps means, that your CPU has a problem:
Can also be found in the Asrock FAQs:

- Insert both 8 pin and 4 pin power supply in the motherboard

- If that does not help, check your CPU/cooler mounting, remove and install again

- If no success, either the board and/or CPU is defective

Good luck,
Ray


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.