ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X470 Taichi memory errors in XMP
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X470 Taichi memory errors in XMP

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message
XmanSE View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Location: Madrid
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote XmanSE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X470 Taichi memory errors in XMP
    Posted: 02 Jul 2018 at 8:17am
Hi, recently i build this pc.

Ryzen 7 2700X with Stock Cooler (wraith prims)
X470 Taichi (bios 1.10)
8x2 Gskill Sniper X f4-3600c19d
Samsung Evo 960
ASrock Gaming X Radeon RX580

Everything was fine, but suddenly the system start to give me a bsod with different errors, so i started to check everything, temps was ok, drivers ok, until i tested the memory and found an error. 

With XMP profile activated HCI Memtest give me a lot of errors, and system crash the same Bsod, if i put the default profile in auto the mems run at 2134 and 0 errors, and system run perfect.

So, are my ram bad, technically they should work at 3600.

Thanks for the help
Back to Top
MNMadman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 May 2018
Location: Minnesota
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNMadman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 1:09am
It is widely known that Ryzen cannot always get RAM working at overclocked speeds.  XMP speed/timings are overclocking.  Some people can't get their RAM any faster than 2666 or 2800.

In my experience, 2933 or 3200 is a realistic RAM speed goal with Ryzen.  Some are able to get faster than that, but the odds are against you.

You can try higher RAM voltage (up to 1.5v) and higher SOC voltage (up to 1.2v) to see if those will help.

There is also the Ryzen DRAM Calculator and Ryzen Timing Checker, which might help give you timings more likely to work (Google them).
Heatripper Threadkiller
// 1950X @ 4.141GHz 16C/16T // Taichi // 32GB 3232 RAM //
// Titan Xp @ 2075MHz/12,000MHz // 2TB+512GB NVMe SSDs // Custom Liquid Cooling Loop //
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1753
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 1:11am
yes technically they should ....................

but they wont ,in fact im sure very few people have got 3600 with am4
even the new x470 and sniper amd branded ram

the real deal ?

am4 is still a learning process for gskill and amd and asrock

now what do you do about it ?
manually set the timings of course

you realise on am4 3200cl14 will outperform 3600cl19 in most if not every instance of use ?

advice here is to use a program called the ryzen dram calculator to suggest the settings to then enter into your bios

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 3:55am
Here I am again with my problem. You have better memory...and the board I guess  with better support, if not at the moment - soon (TM).

I have X370 Taichi and even Memtest passed in recent tests - without errors on 2933 (default 4 passes) but get  Memory Management BSODs in windows after day, two or three - unbelievable.
I don't get it, how it passes MemTest and after it crashes.

No matter what, it only works fine at 2133 for now:(
I think I was right when I wrote no new bios during the world cup:) Over 2 months old beta.

OT - Feel sorry for Japan right now...another unbelievable thing.
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
XmanSE View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Location: Madrid
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote XmanSE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 8:42am
Ok i did some test, i put the memory with the profile enable, but i reduce the speed in octweaker-dram speed to 3200Mhz, and i did`t any other change, just save settings and exit.

I ran HCI memtest and give me 0 errors 300%, so in theory everithyng is fine in this speed, but obviosuly the timings are very high for this speed.

I織ll check ryzen dram calculator to try improve timings in this speed, and updated the situation.

thanks for the help.

PD: Sorry for my english i`m from madrid Spain.


Edited by XmanSE - 03 Jul 2018 at 8:44am
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Online
Points: 615
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 10:28am
better to start in 3200 and work on the timings manually
my current settings are 14-14-14-34 1.35v @ 3200

I've never depend on xmp settings because no matter how good the profile is auto settings is always a relaxed settings same goes for CPU settings
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 542
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 1:30pm
Originally posted by Cuba1hr Cuba1hr wrote:

Here I am again with my problem. You have better memory...and the board I guess  with better support, if not at the moment - soon (TM).

I have X370 Taichi and even Memtest passed in recent tests - without errors on 2933 (default 4 passes) but get  Memory Management BSODs in windows after day, two or three - unbelievable.
I don't get it, how it passes MemTest and after it crashes.

No matter what, it only works fine at 2133 for now:(
I think I was right when I wrote no new bios during the world cup:) Over 2 months old beta.

OT - Feel sorry for Japan right now...another unbelievable thing.


memtest is good to see if there are hardware errors (broken bank)
otherwise its useless for stability tests
aida64 has stability test for ram, and its waaay faster to get some results then from memtest (for example several hours of memtest produce 1 random error, wile stress test crashes after max 2 minutes :P)
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 4:34pm
The problem is that Aida64 - only memory stress checked - runs without error for hours. It crashes with tighter timings after a few minutes but with 16-18-18-36-52 I think and 1,38V it runs with no problem.

I am in dilemma, to sell my 32GB (for VMs and games, futureproof, but it isn't presentproof:)) and buy only 16GB Flare X and add some money
OR wait for new BIOS...that got stuck somewhere.
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Online
Points: 615
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 5:06pm
hehehe i know that feeling but yeah dual rank puts more work on the IMC thus may require more volts 


i say keep the 32 kit and keep trying until you find the best settings volt/timing/freq
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2018 at 5:47pm
OK, thanks, will try that once more as the last resort. I know that DDR4 should handle at least up to 1.45V, but I wasn't comfortable pushing it further (than 1.4V) and how it will affect RAM's longevity.

In addition - all programs using sensor readings for DDR voltage are always 0.02V higher than what is set in BIOS, i.e. set to 1.38 in BIOS/UEFI, shown 1.40V in AIDA64, HWInfo, CPUID, etc.
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.