ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X470 Taichi memory errors in XMP
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X470 Taichi memory errors in XMP

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 661
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2018 at 1:55pm
wow this is good news we are both on 3333 now i'm really hoping the new bios would let me break the wall that been blocking me at 3433
Back to Top
XmanSE View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Location: Madrid
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote XmanSE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2018 at 6:14pm
Other new test today.

I finally updated the bios , test the ram at default xmp profile (3600), and again errors in memtest and bsod, nothing happend with the bios updated, all the same as the previous version.

But I put the ram in 3400 17-17-17-37, and everything run flawless, 0 errors in memtest, no bsod, and aida 64 stability test for 15 minutes no hardware errors.

For now i keep this settings, until new bios arrive.

Thanks for the help.
X470 Taichi | Ryzen 7 2700X | 8x2 GSkill Trident Z RGB | Phantom Gaming X Radeon VII | Samsung 970 Evo+ | EVGA 750 GQ
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 661
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2018 at 6:46pm
you should be aiming for lower timings than higher clocks 

which is why you see i'm on 3333 14 

so far sweet spot seems to be 3200 14 for others
Back to Top
wino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2018 at 6:48pm
XmanSE, did you set ALL timings manually in BIOS? Leaving them on AUTO may be the cause of errors. Use Ryzen DRAM Calculator.

Edited by wino - 06 Jul 2018 at 6:49pm
| AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac 6.60 BIOS | Ryzen 5 1600 | G.Skill Flare X 2x8GB @ 3400 14-14-14-28 | Zotac GTX 1050 Ti | Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB M.2 | SilentiumPC Supremo M2 Gold 550W V2 |
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 1:44am
Just to update my situation from previos, on X370 Taichi- raising DDRV (1.41V) & SoCV (1.625) like suggested and LLC 4 -  didn't help, another BSOD -  Memory management.

Just got to 3 days of uptime, it was all going smoothly and then in the middle of usage - boom.
I AM FURIOUS!!!

I am also afraid that new UEFI update (with 1.0.0.4) won't bring any improvement (hope in next 2 weeks, C'MON ASRock) reading others' experience with Agesa 1.0.0.4 UEFI on X470.

This is never ending nightmare!
Cx5 - UEFI screenshots, pretty please.
ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
wino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 5:14am
| AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac 6.60 BIOS | Ryzen 5 1600 | G.Skill Flare X 2x8GB @ 3400 14-14-14-28 | Zotac GTX 1050 Ti | Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB M.2 | SilentiumPC Supremo M2 Gold 550W V2 |
Back to Top
Cuba1hr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cuba1hr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 5:48am
Sorry, I meant 1.1625VBig smile So mad I fried my board, not yet.
I just got beta 4.72 BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.4 from jzelectronic.de, but I will wait 2-3 days until I try it (set tRFC, 2 & 4 to Auto now, also set ProcODT back to 60 Ohms from Auto in last try)...until next BSOD.
They (ASRock) will probably put unchanged version of beta on ASRock Support BIOS page.

Yeah, DRAM calculator didn't do much for me since last 2-3 versions of BIOS & 2700X.
I didn't have errors in Memtest before these BSODs, AIDA64 memory stress test for hours is also fine, OCCT too.

That's why I am crazy, it's all OK in tests, but after 3-4 days BSOD with Memory Management. I'm boring with this even to myself...

ASRock Taichi X370 UEFI v4.81; AMD Ryzen R7 2700X; Noctua NH-U12S x2 fans; Corsair Vengenace LPX 3000 2x16GB (CMK16GX4M1B3000C15); EVGA GeForce GTX1070 FTW; Corsair RM750i PSU
Back to Top
XmanSE View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Location: Madrid
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote XmanSE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 7:40am
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

you should be aiming for lower timings than higher clocks 

which is why you see i'm on 3333 14 

so far sweet spot seems to be 3200 14 for others

Yes i know, but my ram is not as good, because in 3400 cl 16 system wonç¹”t boot. The defaul values in xmp for my ram are 3600Cl 19-19-19-39, 1.35v

So i think for my ram, this is the best that i have for now. 


Originally posted by wino wino wrote:

XmanSE, did you set ALL timings manually in BIOS? Leaving them on AUTO may be the cause of errors. Use Ryzen DRAM Calculator.

I enabled the profile, then set the first timings manually 17-17-17-37, i did not change the others, only those.

Thanks for the help
X470 Taichi | Ryzen 7 2700X | 8x2 GSkill Trident Z RGB | Phantom Gaming X Radeon VII | Samsung 970 Evo+ | EVGA 750 GQ
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 661
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 10:25am
hehe i know that feeling i cant boot on the settings that dram cal gives me 
Back to Top
wino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2018 at 5:17pm
Originally posted by XmanSE XmanSE wrote:

I enabled the profile, then set the first timings manually 17-17-17-37, i did not change the others, only those.

Thanks for the help
You definitely don't have B-dies, so if your RAM is 3600 C19, then 3400 17-17-17-37 is really good.

As it was already mentioned here and in other threads - if RAM has 3600 or 4000 in XMP, does not mean that Ryzen will accept it ;) Besides your MB supports max. DDR4 3466, so 3600 is just unsupported ;)


Edited by wino - 07 Jul 2018 at 5:30pm
| AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac 6.60 BIOS | Ryzen 5 1600 | G.Skill Flare X 2x8GB @ 3400 14-14-14-28 | Zotac GTX 1050 Ti | Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB M.2 | SilentiumPC Supremo M2 Gold 550W V2 |
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.