ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X399 Taichi - Ubuntu - No Boot - $BTC!?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X399 Taichi - Ubuntu - No Boot - $BTC!?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
MrAustin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrAustin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X399 Taichi - Ubuntu - No Boot - $BTC!?
    Posted: 22 Jul 2018 at 8:38pm
I'm in a bit of a panic with a deadline of tomorrow morning. I've followed the AMD RAIDXpert2 guide , using the AMD Chipset Drivers on the AMD site, as it seems everything on ASRock page is Windows specific...in order to install Ubuntu 16.4.1 desktop but am stuck. I'm nearly complete (on step#21) with the following section but without a successful restart:

7.5.3.2 Installing the AMD-RAID BIOS Drivers during a Supported Ubuntu Desktop Installation
..... 
21. Wait for the Setup is Complete message, then press CTRL + D. Click Restart Now, to finish the installation

When the system restarts, I hit F11 to select "Ubuntu (AMD-RAID)" but I'm then brought to a GRUB CLI. This is where my lack of Linux experience halts my progress.

grub> ls (hd2, gpt2)/efi

- Microsoft
-Boot/
-Recovery/
- Boot
-bootx64.efi
- ubuntu
-fw/
-fwupx64.efi
-grubx64.efi
-grub.cfg
-shimx64.efi
-MokManager.efi


AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900x
Two arrays, each on RAID0 [(1x500GB SSD (win10) 5x2TB SSHD (selected for Ubuntu install)]
SATA Controllers: Enabled
SATA Mode: RAID Mode
CSM: Enabled (This allowed me to install Win10 on RAID0)
Launch Storage OpROM Policy: UEFI only

If anyone's experienced this or knows of a solution, please - I'm desperate! $20 in BTC if anyone can help me get this in a bootable state. 
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2010
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2018 at 8:53pm
linux experiance is the problem here mate

unless someone comes back with an answer
may i suggest looking on level1 techs website
wendall over there uses asrock products and linux
i would presume a much faster answer on thier forums

also please check youtube videos for wendalls channel
level1techs

he may well have a walk thru video for installing linux on threadripper

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2010
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2018 at 1:25am
heres a link to one of his vids might help with the raid issues

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMzXMvOaTZk
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MrAustin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrAustin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2018 at 5:07am
Thank you for the feedback! I looked through their videos (hadn't found that one) but was unable to determine the issue or find a subject that addressed the Ubuntu (even 'Linux') install on barebones - only vm. 

I feel as if though everything is in place but the documentation says "you'll be prompted to remove media after restart (after installation)". However, it simply boots to a Grub CLI. Sitting here scratching my head. I removed my other array and started from square 1 in case it was particular to Array 1 but no success their either - same result...

It's as if I could set the boot partition in GRUB CLI but no such luck in finding the correct files/partition. When restarted on single/primary array, it results in 'no bootable device'...

ughhh... I thought my Taichi problems were behind me after successfully installing win10 on an array but now this...
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2010
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2018 at 5:28am
maybe ask on the level1tech forums ?

im really no good at any linux hence my advice to try there mate
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.