ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - The hardest stutter to troubleshoot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The hardest stutter to troubleshoot

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
Message
mpw90 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mpw90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The hardest stutter to troubleshoot
    Posted: 28 Aug 2018 at 7:05pm
I'm essentially encountering stuttering in games and some applications, despite my temperatures being fine and low usage of the components. 

Prior to all of this, I have had difficulties with the system since I purchased the parts, and built it. I have had 3 motherboard replacements due to hard freezing, which appears to have been a PCIe lane problem from PCIe Gen 3 on the board. This is now resolved.

I have also had a problem with my GPU throttling due to heat problems, this was replaced and considered a faulty part. 

Description of Problem
On every setup I have tried, games will encounter some form of short micro stutter. This lasts a short amount of time, and occurs at seemingly unknown* intervals. It can happen in a series of stutters, or not happen for over one hour. Once it begins, it is very noticable and prominent. The stutter will last approximately between 250ms to 1 second. I observe that the frametime will often spike, but not always.

This was tested on both Linux and Windows 10, on separate drives, with fresh installs, over multiple disks. This has been tested under 'diagnostic' conditions, whereby I have installed and updated my drivers, and disabled anything that is not required, nor unrelated to the task at hand. 

There are no overclocks, though I have tested with stock speeds at higher voltage. And tested with overclocks. If anything, an overclock will help. Though, I am keeping it removed. This began before any overclocking took place.

I have attempted the following

* Replaced components
* Reinstalling the OS (and trying Linux, on different HDD's/SSD's, and removing them when other drive is in use)
* Flashing BIOS
* AMD chipset drivers
* Updating Nvidia drivers (and removing old ones with DDU)
* Reseating components
* Removing peripherals and components until the bare essentials
* Resetting CMOS
* Reducing GPU power target
* Checking VRM temps
* Disabling drivers, and keeping the bare esential drivers required to run
* Checking LatencyMon -- sometimes ntoskrnl will spike, sometimes it wont. Sometimes I will have a high ISR latency, sometimes I wont.
* Monitoring voltage
* 3 different monitors, cables and display interfaces (DVI, HDMI and displayport)
* Disabled and uninstalled monitoring software
* Reduced graphics settings in both Nvidia Control Panel and games themselves (remember, it happens in some applications, too) -- VSync off and on
* Using Prime95 for stability at stock settings -- passes all torture tests
* Tried different power plans, with different CPU % settings
* Purchased a PSU tester, and it passes all the tests. 

I also disable unnecessary services and processes on both operating systems. 
 
I've replaced the board, the GPU, and almost every other component. I've removed the network card and disabled the wifi and bluetooth drivers. My temperatures are good. To the point where Prime95 will max out around 78C on the test that produces the most heat. The GPU rarely goes above 70C unless in stress testing, and averages at around 61C during load. CPU averages around 58C during load.

There appears to be no throttling, or no obvious sign in monitoring software when this takes place. 

The voltages appear to be fine, and hit the target voltages. 

I do not know what to monitor anymore. I am kind of at a loss for where to look. 

Clearing 'Standby Memory' on Windows appears to help for a short period of time, so I would have assumed disk/ram. Though, yesterday when I 'undervolted' (reduced power target) my GPU, it also helped for a long period of time. This does not always work, though. Sometimes I can remove the stanby memory and it will still happen, just less so. I cannot find the cause.

Component List

CPU: AMD - Ryzen 5 1600 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor

Motherboard: ASRock - AB350M Pro4 Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard 

Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 8GB DDR4-2400 Memory (2 x 8GB) (16GB)

Storage: Crucial - MX300 275GB 2.5" Solid State Drive 

Storage: Seagate - BarraCuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Video Card: EVGA - GeForce GTX 1060 6GB 6GB SC GAMING Video Card 

Case: Thermaltake - Core V21 MicroATX Mini Tower Case 

Power Supply: Corsair - TXM Gold 550W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply

Wireless Network Adapter: Gigabyte - GC-WB867D-I PCI-Express x1 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi Adapter 

Monitors: Acer - XF240H 24.0" 1920x1080 144Hz Monitor  x 2



Edited by mpw90 - 29 Aug 2018 at 1:56am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2018 at 7:22pm

as mad as it sounds
i would try a sensible overclock

say 3.8ghz all core at 1.35v fixed (leaving global states enabled will allow it the down volt on idle)
AND
set manual ram timings using the ryzen ram calculator for you ram even at 2400 (the calculators settings will be different to the ones the board and ram are setting) also bump the ram to 1.375 for testing and then after testing and hopefully issue dropped tweak the cpu and ram voltages lower as you go


have you also tested using just one monitor ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
mpw90 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mpw90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2018 at 9:26pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:


as mad as it sounds
i would try a sensible overclock

say 3.8ghz all core at 1.35v fixed (leaving global states enabled will allow it the down volt on idle)
AND
set manual ram timings using the ryzen ram calculator for you ram even at 2400 (the calculators settings will be different to the ones the board and ram are setting) also bump the ram to 1.375 for testing and then after testing and hopefully issue dropped tweak the cpu and ram voltages lower as you go


have you also tested using just one monitor ?

So, I think we're thinking along the same lines. I did actually do this already. I was previously at a set 3.8ghz, 1.35, and I tried 1.375, too. OC here did not help.

I have tried 1.35v and 1.4v for the RAM. I haven't used the calculator yet, but I was running 2800mhz for a week to test, and it didn't help.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 2:00am
the calculator really is not just good but great at getting ram right

it may just be that
who knows ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
mpw90 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mpw90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 2:36am
The problem is I don't know why die my RAM uses, and the information isn't readily available.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 4:10am
well its NOT samsung b die (as its cl16)
run thiaphoon it tells you what dies and you need this info anyway for the calc.
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 4:12am
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
mpw90 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mpw90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 6:28am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

heres the calc. and a video instruction how to use it and to run thiaphoon first


Interesting! I believed I had a matched pair but apparently not. Two different die manufacturers. I suspect something odd has gone on at Amazon. Should I return this memory?

Either way, I'd like to note that this problem existed before I had two sticks. I initially had a spare stick from a friend, that was a 3000Mhz Vengeance LPX -- I liked it (as much as you can like RAM) so I bought a 'matched pair', but obviously the prices shot up.

Should I proceed?
Back to Top
mpw90 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mpw90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 7:09am
Amazon have been great. They've just agreed to a return, so I will try some new memory. I will of course try this first.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 2018 at 12:36am
well ever since dinosaurs roamed the earth ,and i started out with pc's

mis-matched ram has always caused some form of issue...............

id suggest going forward

get a matched pair of ram ,run the ram calculator and report back
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.