ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Memory doesn't work in both slots
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Memory doesn't work in both slots

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Celeen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Celeen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Memory doesn't work in both slots
    Posted: 14 Sep 2018 at 12:22pm
I have some memory slots problems with 470 Taichi.
I install 32GB memory but it only display 16GB and single channel.
How to get to dual channel mode? Is my board faulty?
Thank you!

Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 1786
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2018 at 4:03pm
Dear Celeen,

Greetings, this is ASRock TSD.


According to this case, we provide some suggestions for verifying:

1. Please install both memory modules to another system to check if the memory can be detected properly.

2. To make sure DRAM slots are functional. Please install one memory to each DRAM slot by turns to verify.

3. If possible, please change another CPU to verify since the memory controller is built in CPU.

4. If possible, please change another memory.
 
If the problem still persists, please update BIOS to the latest version.


Thanks!

All the best,
ASRock TSD

Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1728
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2018 at 7:14pm
most cases is
the ram stick isnt fully seated in the slot (these new designed ones really need a lot more pressure than the old ones)

try to refit the ram in slot a2 and b2 and press in firmly

the mush less common reason is the cpu not quite seated properly (try this last) remove check for bent pin and refit

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.