ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Running HyperX Predator at 3200MHz on B450 Pro4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Running HyperX Predator at 3200MHz on B450 Pro4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
jenson87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jenson87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Running HyperX Predator at 3200MHz on B450 Pro4
    Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 6:07pm
Hey xhue, thanks for the input!

Yeah, it might be a good idea to thoroughly test the modules. So far I just made sure they were able to boot into windows because in dual use above 2400MHz it always failed right away.

The reason I'm being a little sceptical about the CPU is that it was the only component I bought in used condition. I visually checked the CPU and didn't notice anything out of the ordinary thoughs.

I'm still no sure how to check if the board (specifically the RAM slots) is the problem though. For using just one module im supposed to use the A2 slot and for dual use A2/B2. Should I be able to boot with one kit on B2 with an 3200MHz XMP profile? What about the A1/B1 slots?



Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 7:31am
Oh, my. Me and my reading... Tongue

Well, sticks being able to run 3200 solo is a good indication that RAM is probably OK.

PC not being able to POST with high mem clocks means that memory can't be 'trained'. Why? IDK yet.

For starters, memtest the sh*t out of each RAM stick alone, when running at 3200. Throw in a bunch of other benchmarks too. If both sticks pass with flying colors then the issue is elsewhere.

Bent CPU pins would manifest in many other ways.

Better see if you can borrow another CPU from a friend or something.

P.S. always clear CMOS before each reconfig. Touch only XMP & fans in BIOS. Leave the rest alone for now.
Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 7:27am
We can't tell you either.  You have to test them.  Or just RMA them. 
Back to Top
jenson87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jenson87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 4:17am
Well, my problem is that I don't know which of the components (RAM, CPU or board) is the culprit here which is why I would greatly appreciate any hints on how to tell where to start the process.

I already submitted a ticket to ASRock and will the check the CPU for broken/bent pins tomorrow.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 3:49am
Originally posted by jenson87 jenson87 wrote:

I have a Ryzen 7 2700 on a B450 Board... so that makes it all "Gen.2", right?


Yep, that's Gen.2 (or second iteration, or whatever they call it Tongue) Ryzen right there. It has way more advanced IMC, so running more memories and speeds it expected, compared to Gen.1

Some manufacturers are using different memory dies (chips) for the same part number, so some of them might end up crazy in the QVL.

It all boils down to what you want. If you want a stable and straightforward approach - go for the QVL. If you so desire tweaking and knowledge - get some other kit and play with it.
Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 3:37am
I don't understand why you'd have to buy another kit at all.  Send it off for RMA if it's faulty.  Same with any other components.  

If the CPU is the problem, you'd need to inspect it.  Or again, play the RMA game.  
Back to Top
jenson87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jenson87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 3:20am
I tried exactly this with the HyperX kit and the result was pretty much the same as when using the XMP profiles: Individually (as in solo usage in A2) both modules ran at 3000/3200MHz but as soon as I put the second module in it fails to boot and resets the kit to 2400MHz.

I read somewhere that a faulty CPU (e.g. broken pins) could be the issue here as well. I bought my 2700 used and so far it seems to run perfectly normal out of the box. 

I also just realized that there are only 8GB usable in the Windows 10 task manager. It shows 16GB in the top right but right now for example 3,6/7,9GB (46%) are in use.

My question is: Where do these problems generally point to? Problems with the board, the CPU or the kit? I just don't want to buy another kit to have the same problems again.

Thanks a lot!
Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2018 at 2:47am
Most of the kits on QVL's are for just saying "yeah, I can run it using XMP profiles".  Your kit will run fine, but requires a bit of input with manual timings/adjustments.  Use Ryzen DRAM Calculator and Taiphoon Burner to get a baseline before tweaking.  
Back to Top
jenson87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jenson87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2018 at 11:19pm
What I forgot in my previous post:
I have a Ryzen 7 2700 on a B450 Board... so that makes it all "Gen.2", right?
Back to Top
jenson87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jenson87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2018 at 10:55pm
Yeah, that seems to be the only reasonable way forward. But checking QVL lists isn't as straightforward as I imagined either. For example I came across this CL14 3200MHz kit from Team Group for a good price:
https://www.teamgroupinc.com/en/product/dark-pro-ddr4

According to its QVL (which seems to be for the whole series of kits) it should run at 3000MHz on B450 Pro4: 

But at the same time it's not listed at ASRock's B450 Pro4 QVL:

So has anyone experience on what I could expect from this kit on this specific board? Running stable 3000MHz would be alright with me but I want to make sure that I'm not running into incompatibility issues again.


Edited by jenson87 - 23 Sep 2018 at 10:57pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.