ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New to X470 Taichi (non ultimate) - RAMissues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New to X470 Taichi (non ultimate) - RAMissues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2019 at 3:09pm
cant believe someone tried to put all the possible worst combination for a ryzen system
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2019 at 5:21pm
Yeah right? :P
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2019 at 5:57pm
Originally posted by Sacco_Belmonte Sacco_Belmonte wrote:

I know what happened now.

I skipped BIOS 2.00 when going from v1 to 3.43 without going through v2.00 which concerns my CPU

Do you know what is the best way to roll back? Is it AFUDOS? Can I use any AFUDOS.exe I find in the internet?

Thank you.


AFUDOS and others can be found at AMI's website, as well as on may other forums.

There are also many threads describing what appears to be the proper way to brick your board, err... I mean flash BIOS.
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2019 at 6:21pm
I wrote tech support, hopefully they will tell me what to do.
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2019 at 8:57pm
I DID IT!!!!!! (also, screw you gizmic)

- AsRock provided me with a downgrader to 3.2 (I'm asking them if I can post it here)

- That one works fine, it goes from reading the BIOS ROM to deleting the blocks and writing the blocks again. After POST the system was at 3.2



- Ran the AsROM to go to 2.00

- Flasher reads the BIOS



- It says "the ROM information does not match the system BIOS"



- I hit N for "No" (read again, N for No)



- The command closes.



- I restarted my PC and after POST it automatically started updating some ROM (at that point I didn't know which one and that was highly unexpected

)
- After rebooting the system reports v2.00 (success)



---------------------------------------

Now, about my single channel situation:



- I removed the CPU and INDEED there was a little cotton hair around one pin. I cleaned that.



- Sprayed non conductive, alcohol based contact cleaner in the CPU socket.



- Inserted the CPU without lowering the lever, gently wiggled it a bit. Lowered the lever a couple times.



- Removed the CPU to allow the contact cleaner to dry.



- Installed the CPU, TIM and all.



- Now after POST the system reports DUAL CHANNEL.....and what is even better I could load the XMP profile at 3000Mhz and it worked just fine. YEAH!!!!!
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2019 at 9:04pm
So, 4 sticks of Corsair, 1st gen Ryzen AND 3000MT/s?

Press X for doubt.
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2019 at 9:19pm
That RAM kit was working fine on my Prime X370 Pro.

Now workign fine on my X470 Taichi.

I know RAM is hard on Ryzen but I have already 2 years of tinkering experience so I know what is true and what is not.

Take that!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2019 at 10:05pm
Here are two screenshots.

The kit worked at 3000Mhz but for now since I need to work on something I decided to put it at 2933 (which was how it worked in the Prime X370 Pro)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SP5rlvpVQxbaEGm7Oz4koySjcEAzJuJ0/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/13zAVSejf-RNNmdimbDJoJPARpGnkZaOW/view?usp=sharing
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2019 at 10:10pm
AIDA64 screenshot. Is giving me the exact same values I had with my old board.

I will try some 3200Mhz later on. (I doubt it will work though)

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KXAoNy7gCGDvnkV4KJsSYIXvV9fw-0rY      
Back to Top
Sacco_Belmonte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sacco_Belmonte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2019 at 12:50am
Here is the link to downgrade to 3.2 if you need.

https://onedrive.live.com/?authkey=%21AIR5DN5lOc5Q3qo&cid=323A3D2B45B02F9E&id=323A3D2B45B02F9E%211096&parId=323A3D2B45B02F9E%21947&action=locate
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.