ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X399 Phantom Gaming and Raid
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X399 Phantom Gaming and Raid

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
deheugden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deheugden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X399 Phantom Gaming and Raid
    Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 2:27am
I got this M-board, the X399 gaming 6 and i would love to put 2 m.2. sata's into raid. But i cant find any info about how to do this. Isnt it possible to create a hardware raid with this mainboard

thank you.?
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 3:39am
Could you please read the manual and the AMD RAID Installation Guide?
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
deheugden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deheugden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 2:21pm
many thanks for the reply. There is no information in the mainboard manual about the Raid nor a reference to a different guide.
I did find an AMD RAID Installation Guide, but that guide isnt correct. At page 11, point F, it is telling: Go to Boot? CSM and set ?œLaunch Storage OpROM policy??to <UEFI only>
But it is not possible to change something with the cms.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 3:29pm
Yes, of course, this is not clear explained.
- Setup a RAID array with SATA3-HDDs
- Setup a RAID array with M2 NVME PCIe drives
But no info for M2 SATA drives

Obviously the special AMD-NVME-RAID mode cannot be used with M2-SATA SSDs, because it requires PCIe.

I think, the only way is to handle the M2-SATA SSDs like "normal" SAT-HDDs, meaning setting the SATA conroller to RAID mode and so on.

But anyway, you have a platform for high speed PCIe NVME SSDs, but you are using slow M2-SATA SSDs. What an unwise decision.
I would go for a new PCIe NVME SSD in M2_1 which is much faster as a SATA-Raid. And running the existing(?) M2-SATA SSDs in M2_2 and M2_3.

And personally, i would not use any Mainboard RAID functionality without a very good backup strategy.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
deheugden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deheugden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 9:34pm
Many thanks for the reply.i have 2 x Samsung 970 EVO PLUS M.2 500GB for the raid. Are they really too slow because their specs are
3500 MB/s
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 10:32pm
What? You posted that you want to put 2 m.2. SATA drives into raid!!!

Samsung 970 EVO PLUS M.2 500GB are NVME PCIe 4x drives for which AMD NVME-Raid is designed!
And the setup for a RAID array with M2 NVME PCIe drives is described.
You have to disable CSM, because you need the UEFI mode for that.
https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/amd-enabled-nvme-raid-upgrade-for-amd-x399-chipset.html


Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
deheugden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deheugden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 10:55pm
Correct, the Samsung's are m.2
I woild like to put them into raid because 512gb is not enough for my build.

But, the Amd raid installation guid tells me to Go to Boot? CSM and set ?œLaunch Storage OpROM policy??to <UEFI only>.

But ther e is no lau ch storage oprom at cms
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 11:08pm
Which CPU and what bios version (3.50 at least is required i think) are you using?
And is that a new build?
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
deheugden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deheugden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 11:25pm
The new build is my newly created pc. Am using biosversion 1.30, cpu is ryzen tr 1920x
Back to Top
deheugden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deheugden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2019 at 11:38pm
1.30 is the newest bios according to Asrock support and mainboard, memory ,cpu are new
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.