ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - BIOS boot / wrong monitor
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

BIOS boot / wrong monitor

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Tentaurus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tentaurus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: BIOS boot / wrong monitor
    Posted: 23 Nov 2019 at 6:55pm
one VGA and one DVI monitor.
BIOS boots always with the VGA monitor.
How can I change this?
THX!
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2019 at 7:10pm
Without infos to your system no one can help you.
So there is only one answer: Disconnect the VGA monitor.
Ok, a second: Set the bios to UEFI mode, meaning disable CSM.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Tentaurus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tentaurus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2019 at 7:19pm
it's a B450M Pro4-F

I disconnected the VGA. Of course BIOS is booted in the remaining DVI monitor...
Connected the VGA again, BIOS is booting in the VGA!

Is it even possible to change this?
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2019 at 7:30pm
Which GPU are you using?
Or do you have an APU using the onboard connectors?
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Tentaurus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tentaurus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2019 at 7:49pm
APU.
Ryzen 5 3400g
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2019 at 8:10pm
Look in the bios if you can find an entry for selecting the default display output.

Or as i already posted: Set the bios to UEFI mode, meaning disable CSM.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Online
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 11:35am
legacy mode prioritize vga>dvi>hdmi>dp

uefi mode is the opposite
Back to Top
Tentaurus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tentaurus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Nov 2019 at 8:28pm
I do a boot in UEFI Mode!
But there's no option to change the primary video device?!



Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Online
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Nov 2019 at 11:09pm
are you sure you have csm disabled
Back to Top
Tentaurus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tentaurus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2019 at 6:43pm
OK, in the meantime I got it how to enable / disable CSM!
But CSM is disabled. I use UEFI!
But Bios is booting always with VGA!
There's no setting to change the primary display port!?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.