ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - A300 boot - Install problem.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A300 boot - Install problem.

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
DrNo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DrNo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A300 boot - Install problem.
    Posted: 31 Oct 2020 at 6:55pm

Hello,

Just got a brand new A300 configuration is:

MB: AS300W with the 3.6 BIOS (Also tried the 3.6K)
APU: AMD Ryzen 5 3400
RAM: 2x16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2666
Samsung NVME drive.

I am booting on a USB key with Linux Mint or Ubuntu, both are last version 20, i have in both case the choice of live version or install, but it doesn t go farther. After chosing what I want to do, I get a black screen, a black screen with a blinking "_" or a "32 bit relocation outside of kernel". Never been farther than this. Two days I am trying everything without success. Is there anything I am missing ??
I start the A300, go to F11, choose my USB drive to boot on and then that's it...

Thx for any input you may have.
Back to Top
DrNo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DrNo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2020 at 3:24pm
Well, running a memtest is giving thousands of errors during test #9 so I am returning all this, I guess nothing else to do, I have no idea of what else I can try.
Back to Top
DrNo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DrNo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2020 at 1:37am
I change memory, ASROCK300, still the same impossible to pass memtest. Is there any incompatibility with my system?? Because I see lot of people using it! What am I missing here???


DrNo
Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 7272
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 10:17am
Dear DrNo,

Thank you for choosing ASRock.
Because the memory controller is inside the CPU, if there are still errors when replacing the motherboard and memory, we suggest try another CPU.

Thank you!
Yours truly,
ASRock TSD
Back to Top
DrNo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DrNo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2020 at 4:44am
Hello,

thanks for the tip... This is what I did. All parts have been changed and it is still impossible to boot. I have tried Ubuntu 18.4, 19.4, 20.4, Mint 19.4, 20.4, unbuntu mate 20.4 and Xubuntu 20.4 still the same issue...

What to do?? Is the A300 in this configuration not compatible with Linux?

Any help will be apreciated, else I will just send back all this and choose an other barebone suporting what I have.

D.
Back to Top
DrNo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DrNo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2020 at 4:24pm
Hello,

Just to finish this with no help at all from ASROCK... The rpoblem is solved by using Crucial 2*16 DDR4 3200 (which are not in the OK list of ASROCK).
The Vengeance RAM: 2x16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2666 is not working even if in the OK list of ASROCK.

No idea how you are doing your list, but forget it!

D.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.